We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Plettenberg Bay accommodations

Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay

3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   6 Leslie Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay to your Saves list
Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
  • Overview
  • Reviews (25)
  • Photos (17)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    5
    2
    9
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Very neat, clean and had all what was necessary. Lovely and close to shops, beach and town. Only downside was that the DSTV and gate weren't working. Otherwise, definitely recommend Luna Lodge!!!!!!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gauteng
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The worst place in Plett - A backpackers is better ! For the amount paid (R1500.00), the 4 star status was a shocker! We waited to be checked in by incompetent youngsters. Our TV /DSTV didn't work and was removed the next day! The fan never worked until we asked. There was NO cold water! Try a scalding hot shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable... More

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked this room only viewing the rating on booking.com - BIG mistake. A quick look on the ratings here on TripAdvisor would have helped us make the decision Not to book Luna Lodge. It is NOT value for money (we payed 1500 rand per night) during peak season... For a family room with shared lounge, kitchen and terrace. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived at Luna Lodge, only to wait 15 minutes for the owner to arrive. He was extremely rude! He informed us that a clearner would come to clean the place the next morning - never pitched. When I called him he put the phone down on me. For the amount we paid, was the worst place to stay. The... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable... More

Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

You need to have something in mind when going to Luna Lodge: you will be on your own. We only saw the manager once, when we arrived. But the apartment is big and well equipped. The location is also very good for those who wants to explore the Garden Route, as it is very close to N2, and also close... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable... More

kzn
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

It started of by hooting at the gate and no one answering , then finding out that unit did not lock .then no one came to clean unit for 2 days that i stayed . The was no one at the unit to complaint to .and when i phone the owner to complaint he only had excuse for every thing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable... More

Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

It really depends on what you are looking for. In Luna Lodge we had great privacy, a studio apartment kind of room with a kitchen and a spacious bath room. However during our stay we never saw the host. Even when we checked out we just left the keys in the room and drove off. But for the amount you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

On arrival the luna lodge was all locked up and no-one there . Tourist office rang the owner who I spoke to but he rudely put the phone down mid sentence.finally gained access to our rooms at 5 p.m. No sign of the owner or an apology. Broken floor tiles in both rooms. No key for one room. T.V. not... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable... More

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Good day, We found the room quite nice and the self catering idea was what we wanted - but after all the smell of the room was terrible and the floor was dirty..... The gas hob was not clean at all.... Regards,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Loved the lodge and self catering was perfect for us. The room was clean and had everything that we needed. The lodge is central to everything which is a bonus and the manager was very accomodating...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay

Address: 6 Leslie Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Plettenberg Bay with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
3

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer