We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay

6 Leslie Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    5
    5
    2
    9
See reviews for
6
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Cambridge
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We stayed two nights and used it as a great base to tour the area from. We had a separate chalet room etc from the main house. Breakfasts were awsome and plenty of it. The lodge itself has a great history with lots of rooms full of original family items. We had one evening meal there where every guest sat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Very neat, clean and had all what was necessary. Lovely and close to shops, beach and town. Only downside was that the DSTV and gate weren't working. Otherwise, definitely recommend Luna Lodge!!!!!!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gauteng
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The worst place in Plett - A backpackers is better ! For the amount paid (R1500.00), the 4 star status was a shocker! We waited to be checked in by incompetent youngsters. Our TV /DSTV didn't work and was removed the next day! The fan never worked until we asked. There was NO cold water! Try a scalding hot shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked this room only viewing the rating on booking.com - BIG mistake. A quick look on the ratings here on TripAdvisor would have helped us make the decision Not to book Luna Lodge. It is NOT value for money (we payed 1500 rand per night) during peak season... For a family room with shared lounge, kitchen and terrace. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived at Luna Lodge, only to wait 15 minutes for the owner to arrive. He was extremely rude! He informed us that a clearner would come to clean the place the next morning - never pitched. When I called him he put the phone down on me. For the amount we paid, was the worst place to stay. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable... More 

Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

You need to have something in mind when going to Luna Lodge: you will be on your own. We only saw the manager once, when we arrived. But the apartment is big and well equipped. The location is also very good for those who wants to explore the Garden Route, as it is very close to N2, and also close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable... More 

kzn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

It started of by hooting at the gate and no one answering , then finding out that unit did not lock .then no one came to clean unit for 2 days that i stayed . The was no one at the unit to complaint to .and when i phone the owner to complaint he only had excuse for every thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable... More 

Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

It really depends on what you are looking for. In Luna Lodge we had great privacy, a studio apartment kind of room with a kitchen and a spacious bath room. However during our stay we never saw the host. Even when we checked out we just left the keys in the room and drove off. But for the amount you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

On arrival the luna lodge was all locked up and no-one there . Tourist office rang the owner who I spoke to but he rudely put the phone down mid sentence.finally gained access to our rooms at 5 p.m. No sign of the owner or an apology. Broken floor tiles in both rooms. No key for one room. T.V. not... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Good day, We found the room quite nice and the self catering idea was what we wanted - but after all the smell of the room was terrible and the floor was dirty..... The gas hob was not clean at all.... Regards,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
5.6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
#3 of 7 in The Crags
5.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 7 in The Crags
5.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
7.1 mi away
Trogon House and Forest Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay