We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bitou River Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
off R340, 4.2km from the N2, east of Plettenberg Bay, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Special Price
30% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bitou River Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bitou River Lodge
Bitou River Lodge
Bitou River Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    109
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
76
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (122)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Hermanus
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Sue always looks after us as regular visitors but 1st timers get the same attention. Comfortable rooms, great breakfast. WiFi (slow but it works if patient). If you like birds the garden and river offer 60 species. Ask for the Grass Owl spot!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review

Love your review, many thanks! :) Sue More 

Dullstroom, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Homely lodge , friendly reception , should have stayed longer to bird the whole wetland area. Service and breakfast excellent. Feel the rates for South Africans somewhat overpriced. Recommend brighter reflective signage at entrance road for night entry.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, George - when you come next time, book yourself in, stay for (at least) three nights & only pay for two! That's our 3:4:2 Special, available for most of the year.Thank you for the signage suggestion, will look into it. Sue More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

We spent two nights here in March. It's a beautiful premises in Plettenberg but we were really put off by the lack of cleanliness. The crockery left in our room was dirty and the bathroom facilities were in need of some updating. Our towels and soaps were not replaced. Also, it is not ideal if you have dietary restrictions and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't bring this to my attention while you were here. We go to great lengths to adapt to guests' dietary requirements - but we do need to know about them in order to do so... Sue More 

Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

We had a wonderful 2 nights at Bitou River Lodge and wished we had longer. The Lodge is beautifully situated on the river, very very quiet and lots of birdlife. We didn't walk around the property but know that there were walks we could have taken if the weather had been better. Sue could not have been more welcoming and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review - so much appreciated! Hope you'll be back.... Sue More 

Horn-Bad Meinberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We had the perfect stay. Sue made us feel very welcomed and at home. The room was very nice and clean with a lovely view to the garden. Breakfast was excellent. Sue serves freshly baked muffins/scones every morning. We would definitely come back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review - I hope you'll be back before too long! Sue More 

Calitzdorp
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

This is the second time we visited the lodge. As before the reception, service, accomodation is stil perfect. We enjoyed again the friendly company of Sue, the owner of the Lodge. Storting with a breakfast, as perfect as most as 5 star hotels, and always present to offer adresses for lunch and/or diner restaurants, she assist in giving suggestions for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review - hope we'll see you for a thrid time! Sue More 

The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We had a very enjoyable stay at this lodge. Sue is very welcoming and the house and gardens are beautiful. Breakfast is extensive. Kayaks are available. Tip: dinner at Emily Moon on the other side of the river!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, much appreciated! Sue More 

Emsworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Nicely situated Guesthouse very close to Plett shopping and restaurant high street. It proved to be the best setting in Plett that we have come across, overlooking the River Bitou. The rooms are large and comfortable with a separate lounge if required. The room's rear terrace is the ideal place to relax after a day's traveling, watching the birds and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review - so much appreciated! Sue More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We loved it here - probably the best setting of anywhere we stayed in South Africa. It is set on the banks of the Bitou river and you sit on your private terrace looking over to the river with the water lilies, birds, reeds and trees. Beautiful and so relaxing. Our room was lovely with comfy bed and very well... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the awesome review - I do hope we'll see you again! Sue More 

Cape Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Third visit and it gets better every time! Bitou is a place where a broken light fitting - perhaps perpetrated by previous guests but unreported? - is dealt with in the same efficient personal pampering way that is the essence of The Lodge. Bitou River Lodge is probably more of a Retreat than an ordinary B&B: perfect peace! A perfect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bitouSue, Owner at Bitou River Lodge, responded to this review

Love your review, many thanks Sandra! Sue More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay