We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amakaya Backpackers

15 Park Lane, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Amakaya Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The service was very good as from the reception to the rooms.It shows that the services are done by proffessionals with good attitudes towards their clients.The place is smart and quiet and you get the service as soon as possible hope to meet you again in future

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nhlanhlam2016
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very friendly staff that cater for all guests of different ages and needs. Well located in plett central within walking distance of the shops. Dorm rooms are clean and adequate . Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank robeden864
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my stay at Amakaya. The establishment is very well situated, within walking distance to the main street. They offer off-street parking, and I never worried about safety as they have CCTV cameras all over the premises. The staff were very kind, and always willing to help in any way possible. The dorm I stayed in was quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eduard V
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Me and my family enjoyed our stay at Amakhaya Backpackers was great,and to braai at the bar with people from different nationalities was relaxing,yet it was as we were at home. The staff is well trained!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lindzeal
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

My room was small but other than that I made memories for a lifetime , thanks amakaya Drinks were cheap and staff were super friendly , for a communal bathroom it was clean at all times and the kitchen was nice

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank deluant
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

we were only for one night at Plettenberg Bay. the service was friendly. the room was nice and clean. you can make the breakfast by your self, was very good. restaurants, beach etc are near so you can walk to them.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank s_d_guertler
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

We arrived at the backpackers (which is not in a very exciting part of Plettenberg Bay) to find many sketchy characters hanging around. The common area and kitchen were not very nice, with stained covers on the couches and an overall dingy look. The website advertised free breakfast, but there is a sign in the kitchen listing what breakfast includes... More 

Helpful?
Thank all772014
DaveSwart1, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers, responded to this review

Firstly you need to get your facts right. You phoned to book shortly before your arrival and we're advised that we only had a mixed dorm available. On arrival you did not like the dorm nor the people in it, including 2 German ladies. It was the receptionist who made the booking and not the manager. You were offered an... More 

Clanwilliam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

Very friendly and helpful staff.That was really value for money and I will be staying there again when im in the area. The place is situated perfectly close to all amenities. Tha atmosphere was very nice and I loved staying there. The rooms was clean and sufficient blankets for the cold nights.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 786paolot
DaveSwart1, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello I am glad to hear that we met your expectations. Look forward to seeing you when you are next in Plettenberg Bay. Regards Dave Swart More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

A basic backpackers with very helpful staff at a good price. The staff gave great activity advice and provided a nice looking bar with beers and soft drinks. The property was gated and locked and safety was not a big issue as each room was lockable with a R100 deposit key and a mounted safe was provided. The basic and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leni404
DaveSwart1, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Leni Thank you for your comments. We only provide towels in our private rooms. Towels are however provided to guests in the dorms should someone request a towel. This is at no charge. Noise in the bar should not have continued after 11pm, however staff are allowed to use their discretion if there are a number of guests still... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

I stayed over at Amakaya during varsity roadtrip on the 22nd. The bedding was disgusting, the worst of any backpackers I've seen, faded,old and someone else's hair still attached to the pillowcase! Needless to say I took off all the bedding and slept in my own sleeping bag. The shower was clogged, the mats on the bathroom floor were also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zandri B
DaveSwart1, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Zandri You have not let us know which room you stayed in that was apparently so bad. From what I can ascertain you were with a group of 23 students that stayed with us that night. Looking at the rooms your group stayed in makes me wonder about your comments because none of the mats fits your description and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
4:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#6 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
#7 of 59 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#24 of 59 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Backpacker Apartments
Backpacker Apartments
#41 of 59 in Plettenberg Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
2.2 mi away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#11 of 59 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
10.8 mi away
Rocky Road Backpackers
Rocky Road Backpackers
#3 of 7 in The Crags
5.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay