We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Packwood Country Estate

Fisanthoek Road off N2 | Near Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Packwood Country Estate
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked one nights accommodation/lunch/wine tasting for my boyfriends birthday (to which the owner very kindly organised balloons!) and it was absolutely faultless. From the minute we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by Vicky owner/wine maker, her passion for what she does not only shines through her personality but also in her beautiful wines/bubbly! We booked in for a cheese... More 

Helpful?
Thank BTworldtravels
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Packwood really is a hidden gem situated 15min between Plett and Knysna. We stayed in the Bottle Brush Cottage which was perfect for 2 of us for 8 days. The view was absolutely breathtaking and on arrival I thought the pictures on the web site had done it no justice. Vicky was so friendly and welcoming that it almost felt... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MandyBrighton1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went with my wife and two children just before new year . Plet was very busy but our guest house booked this for us. We were greeted by 3 very friendly and well behaved dogs much to my daughters delight! 2 of them spent their time with us. not looking for food, just a fuss). The wine tasting was interesting... More 

Helpful?
Thank jwepayne
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a find! We had the most delicious prebooked cheese lunch and winetasting at Packwood. We shared a cheeseboard with a selection of tantalising cheeses served with homemade ciabatta and green salad, and sipped on the good home wines. We sat in an intimate, casual porch with stunning views across the farm and valley. Wonderful peace away from the maddening... More 

Helpful?
Thank MonikaClark
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We attended a tasting at this hidden gem and unfortunately didn't make use of the accommodation. We had been driving around for a while looking for a place where we could taste wine and we found Packwood by chance but I’m glad we did: the tasting was great, it was good to chat with the winemaker in such scenic settings... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Silberbauer
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Pre booked cheese lunch for a large party of family and friends, turned into an amazing experience at this `off the beaten track` wine and cheese farm. The owners and staff went out of their way in serving top rated and quality wines, great cheeses and salads, at a venue with amazing views of the forest farms and mountains around... More 

Helpful?
Thank archie317
Level Contributor
185 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

We spent a wonderful Christmas week here with family. The main house is beautiful and so spacious. Comfy beds and en suite bathrooms. The poll and deck have a gorgeous view across the valley. We enjoyed the mountain biking and hiking. We loved that it was close to Plett beaches and attractions but feels like it's in the middle of... More 

Helpful?
Thank LiveWorkTravel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

Fantastic experience with beautiful views and warm service. Felt like home away from home. Delicious cheese platter with warm crusty bread and preserves, will definitely visit again. They even wrapped up the left overs. Worth a visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank Saskia F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

We recently went to Packwood for a wine tasting and lunch. I am a proffesional in the wine industry and regularly attend tastings at different vineyards. Packwood was truly a breath of fresh air, it is a truly unique concept and definetly worth a visit. The wines are unique and really expresses the terroir of the area. Ashley hosted the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Anton V
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

We went to Packwood for wine tasting and lunch. The wines were ok but very expensive. The tasting was awful. Over priced and small. 50 rand for a choice of 3 out of 5.... It felt mean and frugal. I wouldn't recommend tasting. Lunch was again, way way way over priced. 175 rand per person for cheese and salad. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank QuinnofClubs
packwoodwine, Owner at Packwood Country Estate, responded to this review

Good morning, I am very concerned to hear of your disappointment, particularly as you did not feel you could raise your extremely negative attitude about our property with a member of staff at the time. Please be assured had you raised the matter we would have been able to rectify the situation. Please would you email me directly to discuss... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
2.1 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#6 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.9 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
6.8 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 7 in The Crags
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities