We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Grahamstown B&Bs / inns

High Corner Guest House

Save Saved
You added High Corner Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   High Corner | 122/124 High Street, Grahamstown 6139, South Africa
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (20)
  • Photos (7)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
High Corner Guest House
Ranked #4 of 30 Grahamstown B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grahamstown
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
6
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (20)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I just love this place. I stayed last year and booked again as I left for this year. High Corner lived up to all expectations. I had a room on the street and was a bit worried it would be noisy but with the heavy curtains the noise was perfectly acceptable. The staff and owner are exceptionally friendly and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have visited Grahamstown for meetings at Rhodes university before but this was the first time I was staying at High Corner Guest house. This is arguably the best stay I have ever had in Grahamstown. This guest house is filled with history and the location is just perfect. I could walk to my meetings as easily as I could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
highcorner, Owner at High Corner Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very proud of our staff and they were delighted to see this review as acknowledgement of what they do is always a fantastic boost. I also thank you for doing your own test and proving our confidence in them. We hope that we have the opportunity of hosting you again in the future!... More

STENE
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed at the High Corner Guest House for 4 nights on a business trip. This guest house dates from 1814 and makes it the oldest cottage in town. It comes with creaking floorboards and ancient furniture which is all part of the charm of this place. Breakfast is served in the huge former living room (no other meals served).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
highcorner, Owner at High Corner Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our establishment. It was a pleasure having you and your colleague to stay and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards Karen, High Corner Guest House More

Schaffhausen
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
83 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have stayed in the guest house for one night. The guest house is the oldest building in Grahamstown. The location is perfect. It is derectly on the main street, oposite of the entry ot the university. Restaurants and shops are very close. Our room was in a separate smal house at the swimming pool. The room was very beautiful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
highcorner, Owner at High Corner Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of High Corner Guest House and we loved the fact that you appreciated the history of the establishment which we have tried to retain whilst still having some modern comforts. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels through SA. Regards Karen, High Corner More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed in the Perch cottage at the back of the Guest House as I had especially asked for a quiet room. It was perfect. Well equipped for self catering. Downstairs lounge is a little bit dark, but so what - put on a light. Upstairs bedrooms were well equipped and bright and cheerful. Very comfortable accommodation. I am trying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
highcorner, Owner at High Corner Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Delia Thanks again for your lovely review of our little cottage. It was lovely to meet you and have you to stay. I have thanked you personally but would like to do so again on behalf of myself and staff. We are really looking forward to hosting you again soon. Regards Karen More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was working for 1 week at Rhodes University and was looking for a nice guest house nearby campus. I checked out 5 other places, and Karen's hospitality enticed me straight away. I decided to stay here and was very happy I did! From the delicious and generous breakfast spread to the extremely beautiful room to the incredible attention to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
highcorner, Owner at High Corner Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of High Corner Guest House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We likewise enjoyed hosting you! We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Karen More

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I needed to meet my supervisor of my dissertation in Grahamstown and was delighted that I could get into High Corner Guesthouse this time, as I was unable to the last time I was in Grahamstown. The room (called the Gentleman's Club) was spacious, with a charming bathroom and a balony which overlooked the courtyard and the pool. The lounge/breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
highcorner, Owner at High Corner Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of High Corner Guest House. It was a pleasure hosting you and seeing previous guests! We look forward to welcoming you back. More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was in Grahamstown (the city of my birth and childhood) for a weekend in March 2013 for a school reunion and chose to stay at High Corner Guest House because of it's history and character, it's perfectly central location and the fast, efficient and friendly responses I received from Karen when enquiring and booking. I stayed in The Tannery... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
highcorner, Owner at High Corner Guest House, responded to this review

Dear L Thank you for your lovely review of High Corner Guest House. It was indeed a pleasure to host you and some of the other parties of your reunion and I enjoyed our chats at breakfast! I hope to see you at the next reunion :). Sorry for the delay in responding - I have only just worked out... More

England
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
69 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

One of the oldest buildings in Grahamstown, High Corner is ideally located at one end of the historic High Street. We were in the Gentlemen's Club room, which has twin beds with en-suite bathroom (bath but no separate shower) and a balcony. It was comfortable and the beds were good. The period washstand in the bathroom with two tiny mirrors... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
highcorner, Owner at High Corner Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Tony Thank you for your review and for staying with us at High Corner Guest House. Thank you for bringing our attention to the mirrors in the bathroom and we will certainly look into how to improve this without affecting the historical aspect of the bathroom. Regards Karen More

reading
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

we had a month in south africa and this was the worst place we stayed at by some margin .we stayed in the Perch cottage at the back of the guest house which we found dark ,.depressing and poorly furnished and equiped .the ownwer was helpful but couldnt make up for the gloom of the cottage and we were indded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
highcorner, Owner at High Corner Guest House, responded to this review

We thank you for your review of the cottage at High Corner Guest House. It was indeed a gloomy, rainy and wet time accompanied by a power outage for the whole of Grahamstown and surrounding districts which I am sure affected your enjoyment. I am sorry also that you were not feeling well and that you had to cancel your... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage High Corner Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to High Corner Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Corner Guest House

Address: High Corner | 122/124 High Street, Grahamstown 6139, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Grahamstown
Hotel Class:4 star — High Corner Guest House 4*

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience historical Grahamstown by staying in this beautifully renovated home graced with Cape antiques, original art and Oregan pine. Within easy walking distance from restaurants, shops, university, museums and local attractions. Accommodation provided in 5 beautiful en-suite rooms with modern conveniences including air conditioning, electric blankets, TV on the DSTV hotel bouquet and free wi fi internet connection. Secure parking behind old stone walls and swimming pool. Two self-catering cottages also available with free wi fi internet and TV on DSTV hotel bouquet. Parking for cottages subject to availability and in High Street. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from High Corner Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer