We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 East London hotels

Southern Sun Hemingways

Cnr Western Avenue and Two Rivers Drive | Vincent, East London 5200, South Africa (Formerly Hemingways Hotel - East London)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Hemingways to your Saves list
Southern Sun Hemingways
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in East London
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Andre S Port Alfred
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
10
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Alfred
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Brilliant reception, comfortable rooms and very friendly Staff and Management. Breakfast reasonably priced and comprehensive. Staff go out of their way to make you feel comporate. Highly recommended. Andre Steyn STENDEN UNIVERSITY SA.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Steyn, Thank you for sharing the feedback on your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. It is always wonderful to hear from guest in our industry that we have met your expectation. Your review has been shared with the staff, and this will most certainly keep them encourage to strive towards excellence. Kind regards Madeleine Roux | General... More

Whittlesea, South Africa
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
14 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hemingways Hotel has been our "home away from home" for years. We've been there through thick and thin, in sickness and in health, for better or worse, and nearly till death did we part. We've been through multiple changes of staff and the past renovation that had the place in a tip. We keep going back and recently staged our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear TripAdvisor Listing Owner, Thank you for taking the time to write a management response on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we cannot publish your response because it does not meet the following guideline(s): *Respectful of Personal Privacy No speculation as to the identity of the reviewer. Personal information of any person, including names, addresses, phone numbers or other information that... More

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the process of reservation to checking out the staff were very helpful. Reservation made sure I get the room to my desire. Nice to see a nifty bar fridge in the room, especially with kids it help

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liz R, Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review

Dear Mohammed Thank you for posting your positive review on TripAdvisor. Sibongile our reservations agent is truly a gem and she always strives to offer the best service she can to the guest she hardly gets to meet. Your kind words humble us and we thank you for choosing to spend your time with your family with us. We look... More

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My first stay at Hemingways. Hotel refurbished in the last two years. Bedrooms very small but well appointed. Quality finishes, linen and bedding. Bathroom small, water pressure weak but well appointed and more than adequate. Breakfast good and given proximity to Mall, a variety of dining and entertainment options. Staff friendly but front desk could improve.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Hemingways Hotel. We appreciate the feedback and have already started a drive with the front desk staff. Behavioural changes unfortunately do take time, and we will continue to work on it. Thank you for patronage and we hope that we will remain to be your hotel of... More

East London
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
88 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The staff is extremely friendly and professional. The hotel meets all business expectations and needs and is located right next a mall so very convenient. Rooms are a bit on the small side for my liking but do work.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. It is fantastic for us to see that our local residents are making use of our establishment. We would like this opportunity to thank you for your patronage and to remind you to stay tuned to the local media for special hotel offers such as romantic packages, show and... More

Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed overnight as was visiting family. Great little room and staff was average. The toilet was noisy, but not excessively. Easy access to the mall was great. However, the one major concern was the fact that the passage outside our room led to the casino and mall and thus was noisy at all times of the day/night

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review

Dear world traveller, We do apologise for the noise factor you experienced during your stay. It is a pity that we were not aware of it during your stay as we would have offered to move you to the new section of the hotel which is on the opposite side of the casino and shopping mall. We trust that you... More

East London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is neat and trendy; the rooms were comfortable and amenities satisfactory. However , the staff left much to be desired. No smiles, no morning greetings, difficulty understanding English and general zombie like behavior was most distasteful. The manageress was a beautiful, friendly hostess however so it's a shame her cheery disposition didn't rub off on the staff.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review

Dear local traveller, We appreciate your constructive feedback you have offered to us and other travellers. As the new General Manager of Hemingways, I have identified certain areas of improvement, and would be really pleased to inform you that I have finally rubbed off on some of the staff. Being in hospitality one must have a passion for what we... More

East London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I like the old rooms, they're comfortable and the ambience is excellent. I don't like the new rooms, they are dreadful in terms the beds, bathroom rooms - low pressure in showers, dreadfully noisy when it's windy, broken couches. Otherwise the hotel is generally great!

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review

Dear X, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are very concerned to hear about the experience you had in the new rooms, and even more disturbed that we were not aware of this and not afforded the opportunity to correct this for you. A future travel tip – where ever you travel, please... More

Lusikisiki, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

When checking in your goods to be taken to your room Room was clean and up to standard TV is of high level and bar fridge Amenities like, toiletry, towels, toilet paper, water I like the Cocktail Party on Wednesdays and enjoyed it so much

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review

Dear traveller, Thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that the hotel has met your expectations and that you enjoyed our weekly meet and greet. During your next visit please be aware that we are now hosting this event in our reception lobby. This is a more central location... More

Germiston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I would recommend this to anyone any day, warm, friendly staff and excellent facilities, really enjoyed my stay, will definitely go back, it was truely a pleasant stay, they went all out making it comfortable even for the kids.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHemingways, General Manager at Southern Sun Hemingways, responded to this review

Dear Gauteng resident, Thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback on Tripadvisor. It is always such a reward to read that our staff was a part of a memorable and comfortable stay. We share all our feedback and this most certainly assists us in keeping them motivated and encouraged. We look forward to welcome you back... More

Been to Southern Sun Hemingways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Hemingways

Address: Cnr Western Avenue and Two Rivers Drive | Vincent, East London 5200, South Africa (Formerly Hemingways Hotel - East London)
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East London is one of South Africa’s best kept secrets with a multitude of attractions but still maintaining that small town feel. The Hemingways Hotel is situated adjacent to the Hemingways Casino and Hemingways mall. It affords easy access to all the major highways, national roads and the airport. Inspired by Ernest Hemingway, this sub-tropical styled hotel offers a unique island lifestyle break, right in the heart of South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Southern Sun Hemingways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Hemingways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.