We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hoylake Inn

6 Hoylake Road, Bunkers Hill, East London 5241, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoylake Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hoylake Inn
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (4)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

My wife and I, from Zimbabwe, had the pleasure of spending three nights at Hoylake Inn. Hosts Laura and Kim went out of their way to give us a very warm welcome and to make us feel at home. Our en-suite room was very comfortable and every day we were provided with provisions to make tea or coffee in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura W, Owner at Hoylake Inn, responded to this review

Hello to the Kent's How great to hear from you, and thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in EL and your time at Hoylake Inn. It was lovely to meet you and share some of your wedding excitement.. oh and to get that million dollars from you :) (We still... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this guest house in Sept 2014 for 5 nights we found the owners very friendly and accommodating. Our room was spacious with a private balcony overlooking the sea and the city, their service was excellent Laura also gave us great advise on places to visit and eat. The place is close to the beach,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura W, Owner at Hoylake Inn, responded to this review

Dear Yousuf and Hawa Many thanks for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and can tell other people about quaint little East London and the best place to stay, Hoylake Inn :) We pride ourselves on every aspect of our service, because we... More

Mount Ayliff, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

The place is filthy, their ironing room is even worse, we were given sour/rotten food. We complained on Monday again on Wednesday they gave us rotten food. One of their employees told us that they usually give black guest rotten food, but give whites fresh food.We even reported to the travel agency that booked for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura W, Manager at Hoylake Inn, responded to this review

My dear guest We were dismayed to read your vitriolic review, especially after we had gone to so much trouble to try to accommodate your many, meticulous, dietary requirements. Once we understood your needs, we did try our level best to offer you food more specific to your culture. However, we could not be held responsible if you were unable... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have spent 10 glorious days at this B&B. The location is superb, no more than 5 minutes from the beach, the golf course and all the shops. The owners are very accommodating and gave us great advice on restaurants to go to and places to see. The rooms are large and comfortable, the decor elegant and the views from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hoylake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoylake Inn

Address: 6 Hoylake Road, Bunkers Hill, East London 5241, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hoylake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay