We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thornycroft Lodge

P O BOX 12495 | Horseshoe Valley, East London 5252, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Thornycroft Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

We booked a room via Roomsforafrica , paid a 50 % Deposit for ten nights. On arrival we were given the keys to our rooms and we told the person checking in that we would stay the ten nights and pay on departure. This was agreed to. This morning the rudest woman Elsa called me on my cell and proceeded... More 

Helpful?
Thank AmandaSouthAfrica
Elsa R, Manager at Thornycroft Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest We would like to rectify some issues here. Firstly, you told the person checking you in that you were not sure how long you would be staying, probably not the full booking. As this is our busiest time, we cannot afford people booking 10 nights and staying only 3 or so, causing us to loose serious money. Secondly,... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

First of all, we had the longest bumpy ride leading to the lodge. Guests need a heads up on that! Secondly customer service was non existant. We had to go look for the reptionist every time we had a request. There was no microwave to warm our food. Supper was a disaster, the meat was dry and veggies were too... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnezBee

Travelers are raving about these East London hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

With our stay In December we were so disgusted. Not at all like they show on the internet. We ate in the restaurant which was really not bad, food was good, but the rooms was not at all what we thought it would be. You can't find the place it was a mission to get there. I will not stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank maril0uisen
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I booked through SafariNow and booked 5 rooms. All 17 of us had a fantastic time. Elsa and her crew were very accomodating with all of our requests no matter how odd :) it was clean and tidy and yes they do not have airconditioning but it is a typical 'bush' experience. it was the perfect place to relax for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Totally agree with reviews from Harolderlston and VaughnG68. We booked via SafariNow and agree - the website is incredibly misleading. It's a nice remote location with lovely weaver birds and an okay pool but that's where the positives end... You can either stay in the dorm or a "luxury" suite - but it is far from luxury - we stayed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HelenPayne
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have traveled South Africa none stop for the last 3 year and this place was the worst I have stayed. the internet site gives false impression online on how great the place is. My staff member who booked the room was not told that there was a 3km sand road that to be driven on to get to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Harolderlston
Queenstown South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our church group stayed at Thornycroft Lodge and Camp for the week end. We booked all the rooms and the whole camp, and all 108 of us had a wonderful time! The surroundings are absolutely beautiful, the camp is perfect for big groups, the lodge is very comfortable, and most of all, everybody that works there is extremely friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rita V
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a total disgrace for a service in South Africa, as a South African myself, I am totally disgusted at the service received from this place. First they put this amazing false impression online on how great the place is etc, obviously, this would appeal to me and anybody interested in a holiday somewhere. As I'm from Port Elizabeth, I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank VaughnG68
Antwerp
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

On our trip through South Africa we stayed at this Lodge. It was so relaxing, we didn't want to leave. Beautiful surroundings, great food, great people, wonderful massages, sauna, jacuzzi. Highly recommended! E. De Laet, Belgium

Helpful?
Thank edlAntwerp
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at Thornycroft Lodge last week-end and really enjoyed our stay. We were treated with friendlyness from everyone. The food was excellent, the spa treatments really relaxing. We will definitely go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Poekiepot E
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East London hotels
3.7 mi away
Road Lodge East London
Road Lodge East London
#7 of 13 in East London
3.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#2 of 13 in East London
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#3 of 13 in East London
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Southern Sun Hemingways
Southern Sun Hemingways
#1 of 13 in East London
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
5.8 mi away
Premier Hotel King David
Premier Hotel King David
#9 of 13 in East London
3.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sunnyridge Lodge
Sunnyridge Lodge
#61 of 127 in East London
3.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay