We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 113 East London B&Bs / inns

Mpekweni Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Mpekweni Beach Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   R72 Coastal Road between Port Alfred & East London, East London 6170, South Africa
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (43)
  • Photos (20)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • More
Mpekweni Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 113 East London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East London
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
7
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently spent 2 nights at Mpekweni Sun, after not having been there in about 20 years. I was so impressed with the upgrades, but most of all, was so impressed with the service that we received. The staff, from the reception, to the restaurant, could not do enough and were always obliging, helpful and friendly. Always makes ones' stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bumble001 Thanks so much for your pleasant review on Mpekweni Beach Resort ( NOT Mpekweni Sun). It is always nice to hear that our continued commitment to staff training is evident. We look forward to welcoming you back in the forseeable future. Kind regards Colin More

East London, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

From the time we arrived untill the time we checked out, the staff offered exceptional service. Reception, maintenance, housekeeping, F&B and security. They are all true service ambassadors. We enjoyed the food offering and live music. Thank you for creating some great memories for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Nicolene Its great to hear that you had a pleasant experience at Mpekweni overall. Nontheless the low cleanliness score is of concern and I will raise this issue with the housekeeping department. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Resort soon. Kind Regards Colin More

Auckland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Mpekweni Sun was a regular holiday destination for our family prior to emigrating to New Zealand 14 years ago. We returned for some nostalgia in April and weren't disappointed. The whole resort has been upgraded and is looking great. The food was always a feature and is still good, with the only negative being that we arrived on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear RJS2 Thank you for your comments. I must apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. I have taken your comments up with the chef. Also, this is the SECOND time that I have responded to your comment on Tripadvisor yet it indicates that there is no response from us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the... More

Mthatha, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We were on our way to Tsitsikamma (me and my family). We spend a night a Mpekweni's Fish River Villas. The reception was friendly , the staff greet us with smile. The apartment was fully equipped as advertised, neat and user friendly. The hotel staff, including the security staff, were friendly and helpful. We will definitely come back. Environment is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bongiswa Thank you for your comments. I must apologise for the belated response but this is the SECOND time that I have posted a response to your comments on Tripadvisor and it indicates that I have not responded. We look forward to seeing you in th near future. Regards Colin More

East London, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Dear Colin, My wife and two kids just spent two nights at your beach resort and it was awesome! From the massage and nail treatments to the beautiful beach, pool area, comfortable rooms, delicious meals, friendly, helpful staff and safe and secure environment. We had a very relaxing time and enjoyed every moment of it. It seemed as if we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Pitt family Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at Mpekweni on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time. I trust that the family managed to get some quality time together and get to reconnect. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future. Kind Regards... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

In terms of beautiful...This is a beautiful setting with miles of beach all to yourselves. Our rooms were awesome because they were right at the front by the sea. In terms if big, besides big beaches the food portions are huge (maybe too big and I'm a big eater). I felt the hotel was wasting providing such massive portions. However... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Crayg Thanks so much for your review. We are pleased that you managed to appreciate a little piece of our paradise. we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future. Kind Regards Colin More

East London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I don't have any relationship whatsover with the owners/employees of Mpekweni.I gained a valuable experience to host the conference or event cause the hotel is so spacious,friendly etc.In my own opinion it's a 5 star hotel because of its facilities

Was this review helpful? Yes
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ayabulela Thanks for your review it is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the foreseeable future. Kind regards Colin More

JHB
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Well where do you start.....we visited Mpekweni for 2 weeks in Dec and had an absolutely amazing time. Fantastic location, amazing facilities, incredible staff, delicious food, lovely accomodation, great fishing etc etc we will definately be back. Special mention to Lennox, Celeste and Jafar - totally amazing service - actually all the staff all round - nothing was ever to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear IlanaJhb Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. It is even more pleasing to note that we have added value to you and your family's stay. I will ensure to single out and praise the staff concerned in our next general staff meeting which will be held shortly. We look forward to welcoming you back to... More

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Imagine heavenly ocean swims with dolphins frolicking in the surf nearby, lazying about in the warm estuary/lagoon, relaxing by the pool or on the magnificently manicured lawns, dining on exciting food and sipping delicious cocktails...The Mpekweni rates 10/10 on all aspects, outstanding staff whose default position is first class service, comfortable and spotlessly clean rooms and facilities, activities for ages... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Suki G Apologies for the belated response but I have been out of the country. Thank you so much for your feedback. I am thrilled to hear that we have added value to you and your family's well deserved break. i will be sure to pass on your reviews to all staff concerned. we look forward to seeing you... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have just returned from our December break, venturing down to the Eastern Cape for the first time to try out the Mpekweni Beach Resort which came highly recommended to us. We have 18 month old twins and Mpekweni proved to be just the place for the family to relax and enjoy one of the best holidays we have ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Braun Family Thank you for taking the time out to give us your views. Glad that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise. I will forward your comments on to Paul and the team. We look forward to seeing you again in December. Kind Regards Colin More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mpekweni Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mpekweni Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mpekweni Beach Resort

Address: R72 Coastal Road between Port Alfred & East London, East London 6170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Hotel Class:3 star — Mpekweni Beach Resort 3*
Also Known As:
Mpekweni Beach Hotel East London

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in East London with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whatever your budget and preferences, Mpekweni has a room type to suit your needs. Choose from our range of inter-leading shower rooms and family deck rooms with pool views, to lagoon-facing rooms and beachfront twin rooms. Mpekweni Beach Resort is the ideal getaway destination to reconnect with family. All bedrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
179

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mpekweni Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer