We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lamunu

90 De Korte Street, Braamfontein 2001, South Africa (Formerly Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Lamunu
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    6
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
6
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

PROs: - in the heart of Braamfrontein (JHB CBD) - clean - great sleep quality - good bathroom layout CONs: - NOT in a safe area - no phone in room - no room service - incredibly small halls (between rooms) - no ironing board available

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave H, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review

Dear Brad_Capetown Firstly my apologies for not responding earlier. Since we converted to Lamunu I don't receive notifications for reviews and I'll follow this up with TA. I'm delighted you enjoyed the sleep experience at Lamunu and felt comfortable. Regarding the cons: We are implementing a new telephone provider very soon and thereafter we'll have internal dial phones back in... More 

Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

I love staying to Lumunu hotel everytime i come to SA. the staff is every friendly and i always have a great time staying here. I always feel like i am coming home. The rooms are cozy and the location is trendy close to cool shopping area and bars. what i liked least is the open concept with the bathrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave H, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review

Dear thejohn255 Thank you for taking time to send your TA review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and that Zanele and Tshekiso were so helpful. I will pass on your kind words to them. We are currently getting quotations to improve our internet reach and hopefully that will be resolved before summer. We hope... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Here is my story i booked in this hotel paid more than R700 for the room.Room whas ok reception whas ok.There is a safe in the room that works with baterys so this means if they are flat it wont open.I took the guts to put my laptop inside with my passport and money so i go and have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dave H, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review

Boerseun111 Although your stay date was almost 5 months ago I remember it clearly. I was called by the hotel at 11 PM on a Sunday evening to open your safe. Your behavior had given cause for my Reception to call for Security and security had called for back up. I live nearby and thought it best to come in... More 

Travelers are raving about these Braamfontein hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

VERY VERY BASIC / CONFERENCE VENUE - in the trendy suburb of Braamfontein on Melle and De Korte Street. the conference room was efficient for our needs, but the set up was slow, and the team were not ready for us. The hotel rooms were sufficient for the night - and if you're really desperate for a room - then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave H, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review

Dear BenG3 Thank you for your recent posting to TA The conference facility is not managed by the hotel. It is managed by SouthPoint hospitality. Breakfast is served at Velo restaurant. We believe our room offers all the amenities one would expect including contemporary , modern design , flat screen satellite TV , in room safes , tea coffee making... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

I stayed over at this Hotel (Lamunu) on the 6th - 7th of March 15.The service there was beyond disappointing. Firstly the lady at reception didn't look like she enjoyed her job.Checking in was such a mission.We had to stand for about 15mins before being attended to.When our chance came to check in she handed us the room access card... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave H, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review

Dear Thembi Z I'm so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the Hotel Lamunu . I will have a word with the Reception attendant on duty with regard to her unwelcoming attitude. This is definitely not the level of friendliness that we aspire to. We were formally part of the easyHotel.com franchise brand. The main feature... More 

County Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015 via mobile

This hotel ought to be avoided. Initially there were no keys to the rooms, the aircon didn't work and we had to move rooms. The coffee machine didn't work and no breakfast was provided despite us paying for it beforehand. The Wifi is desperate and there are only hand towels in the shower room. The ladies on reception were brilliant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave H, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review

Dear Munster4ever I'm so sorry to hear that you had so many problems during your stay here in December. I have taken note of the issues you experienced and have instituted remedial action where possible. A focus area this year is more effective internet provision as presently the reach is problematic. Sadly our independent 'in-house' restaurant closed late last year... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in room 211. Rooms are basic, but modern, compact, with open washrooms. Was advised this was a quiet room not facing street, however there was noise from people on street. Good location for access to Origins Museum, Newtown, Gautrain. Room was non-smoking, but smoke smell evident in hallway occasionally. Wifi available at cost in lobby. Additional 50/day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave H, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. I am sorry you were disturbed by street noise. Our location is in a predominantly student area , as we are close to the Wits University , and comes 'alive' during the evenings particularly weekends. Aside from that we're delighted that you could experience our Simple... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

The rooms in this hotel are small and simple, fine if you are on a budget and want to be centrally located in Johannesburg. There isn't a sitting area in your room, and the washroom is fully open to the bedroom which was fine for a solo traveler. The hotel is located in up and coming Braamfontein, which has lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roermond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay in the Easyhotel. It is located in a vibrant part of Johannesburg, lots of little places for a coffee, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very nearby is a great pizza place (86 public), so no need to go far when it is dark in the evening. The rooms were clean, very modern design. The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Lovely no thrills, no frills hotel in the heart of Joburg CBD. Proximity to many fast food chains like McDonalds, KFC, Wimpy, Nandos etc, as well as shopping malls. Easy Hotel is also just a cheap taxi drive away from many of the attractions in Joburg. The Park Train station (Gautrain) is also a walking distance away. The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carmen G, General Manager at Lamunu, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your recent stay with us here at easyHotel JHB CBD. We strive to afford our guests with a stylish, comfortable product that is great value for money. I was disappointed to read that you experienced some problems in your room with the heating, especially during... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braamfontein
0.1 mi away
The Bannister Hotel
The Bannister Hotel
#3 of 3 in Braamfontein
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Parktonian
Protea Hotel Parktonian
#1 of 3 in Braamfontein
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Devonshire
Hotel Devonshire
#2 of 3 in Braamfontein
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
1.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#32 of 70 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay