We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD

3.0 of 5
90 De Korte Street, Braamfontein 2001, South Africa (Formerly Lamunu)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD
Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD
Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
6
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

VERY VERY BASIC / CONFERENCE VENUE - in the trendy suburb of Braamfontein on Melle and De Korte Street. the conference room was efficient for our needs, but the set up was slow, and the team were not ready for us. The hotel rooms were sufficient for the night - and if you're really desperate for a room - then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave H, General Manager at Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD, responded to this review

Dear BenG3 Thank you for your recent posting to TA The conference facility is not managed by the hotel. It is managed by SouthPoint hospitality. Breakfast is served at Velo restaurant. We believe our room offers all the amenities one would expect including contemporary , modern design , flat screen satellite TV , in room safes , tea coffee making... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

I stayed over at this Hotel (Lamunu) on the 6th - 7th of March 15.The service there was beyond disappointing. Firstly the lady at reception didn't look like she enjoyed her job.Checking in was such a mission.We had to stand for about 15mins before being attended to.When our chance came to check in she handed us the room access card... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave H, General Manager at Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD, responded to this review

Dear Thembi Z I'm so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the Hotel Lamunu . I will have a word with the Reception attendant on duty with regard to her unwelcoming attitude. This is definitely not the level of friendliness that we aspire to. We were formally part of the easyHotel.com franchise brand. The main feature... More 

County Tipperary, Ireland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
93 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015 via mobile

This hotel ought to be avoided. Initially there were no keys to the rooms, the aircon didn't work and we had to move rooms. The coffee machine didn't work and no breakfast was provided despite us paying for it beforehand. The Wifi is desperate and there are only hand towels in the shower room. The ladies on reception were brilliant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave H, General Manager at Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD, responded to this review

Dear Munster4ever I'm so sorry to hear that you had so many problems during your stay here in December. I have taken note of the issues you experienced and have instituted remedial action where possible. A focus area this year is more effective internet provision as presently the reach is problematic. Sadly our independent 'in-house' restaurant closed late last year... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in room 211. Rooms are basic, but modern, compact, with open washrooms. Was advised this was a quiet room not facing street, however there was noise from people on street. Good location for access to Origins Museum, Newtown, Gautrain. Room was non-smoking, but smoke smell evident in hallway occasionally. Wifi available at cost in lobby. Additional 50/day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dave H, General Manager at Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. I am sorry you were disturbed by street noise. Our location is in a predominantly student area , as we are close to the Wits University , and comes 'alive' during the evenings particularly weekends. Aside from that we're delighted that you could experience our Simple... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

The rooms in this hotel are small and simple, fine if you are on a budget and want to be centrally located in Johannesburg. There isn't a sitting area in your room, and the washroom is fully open to the bedroom which was fine for a solo traveler. The hotel is located in up and coming Braamfontein, which has lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roermond, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay in the Easyhotel. It is located in a vibrant part of Johannesburg, lots of little places for a coffee, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very nearby is a great pizza place (86 public), so no need to go far when it is dark in the evening. The rooms were clean, very modern design. The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Lovely no thrills, no frills hotel in the heart of Joburg CBD. Proximity to many fast food chains like McDonalds, KFC, Wimpy, Nandos etc, as well as shopping malls. Easy Hotel is also just a cheap taxi drive away from many of the attractions in Joburg. The Park Train station (Gautrain) is also a walking distance away. The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carmen G, General Manager at Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your recent stay with us here at easyHotel JHB CBD. We strive to afford our guests with a stylish, comfortable product that is great value for money. I was disappointed to read that you experienced some problems in your room with the heating, especially during... More 

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Ever since I found this place a year ago I make it my business to stay here. It's a quick jump to Soweto and anywhere for that matter thanks to the Gautrain and the numerous taxi ranks near by. In the middle of Braamfontein it affords access to some of the new hip restaurants, bars and clubs that are a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carmen G, General Manager at Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your recent stay with us here at easyHotel JHB CBD. I was delighted to read that you consider our Hotel to be your, 'home away from home'. Here at easyHotel, we strive to provide our valued guests with just that kind of experience. I was however... More 

Kampala, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

One of the budget friendly hotels in Johannesburg that offer the basics in a nice way. There is little customer service and don't pamper you like five star hotels but the room I stayed in was big, warm for the winter, had to pay extra for cleaning. Particularly liked the level of privacy given and the close proximity to CBD... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carmen G, General Manager at Easyhotel Johannesburg CBD, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property after your stay at easyHotel JHB CBD. We were delighted to note that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I was however disappointed that you found our service to be substandard. I assure you that this is not typical and I will discuss your comments with my team as... More 

Derwood, Maryland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Easy hotel has a great location in the middle of rapidly renewing Braamfontein. You can walk to lots of attractions and places: Constitution Hill, JoBurg theater, Wits University, the main train station and much more, and it's a lot safer than it used to be. The hotel is simple, elegant and no-fuss. No frills: no in-room dining or laundry so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question