We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tavern Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
904 North Main Street, Cottonwood, AZ 86326
Hotel amenities
The Tavern Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #1 of 7 Cottonwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012
ClevelandTravels Cleveland, Ohio
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
102
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (156)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Tavern Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wonderful small boutique hotel. Our room and stay exceeded our high expectations. Everything was very clean and seemed brand new. The room was comfortable, spacious, and beautifully decorated. We liked trying the Philosophy toiletries, and we appreciated the free welcome cocktail, as well as the breakfast coupons for the cute restaurants across the street. The hotel was in easy reach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your gracious comments about our fantastic hotel. We're quite proud of our high quality rooms and features! We strive each and every day to make sure our guests are satisfied. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Phoenix AZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Rooms were large and well decorated. Check in was at The Tavern restaurant next door. Package rate included welcome cocktail and a restaurant credit which were both used and appreciated. Room was clean and quiet. Bed linens were of good quality. Planning my next visit this weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words of appreciation. Our goal is to have each and every guest walk away feeling the way you do. We sincerely hope you do come back so we can continue to WOW you! Thanks so much. More 

Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We recently did a one night package stay here with two tickets on the Verde Valley Railroad. This hotel is located right downtown in old Cottonwood. You would expect a comfortable, well maintained, older accommodation. Well, this is like a brand new luxury hotel you might find in a major city or top tourist area! It certainly is comfortable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a stellar experience with us, and we are so delighted! Our location is so convenient to everything on Main Street and everything fun to do is in walking distance. Thanks very much! More 

Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I recently visited Cottonwood and stayed at this great boutique hotel. Its super clean, unexpectedly modern and very hip. If you're looking for a great place to get away, and be able to walk to some great wine tasting venues, restaurants, cafe's, bars and vintage shops, this is the perfect place to stay. Its conveniently located in the quaint/charming downtown... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your excellent feedback. We have shared your wonderful comments with our staff. We can't wait for you to come back to Cottonwood! More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Tavern Hotel is not what you would expect in small town Arizona, but is one of many reasons to visit Old Town Cottonwood. This place is modern, polished, comfortable and the staff is very friendly. Its central location in town makes this a great jumping off point for a tour of the wineries and shops on Main Street, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at The Tavern Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit - everything from your room, decor, and our service. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. Thank you again for taking... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I took a few friends up for a stay in Cottonwood and I can't even find enough good things to say. This Hotel is top-notch and is on par with the nicest places I've stayed around the world. The attention to detail, design elements, and crisp, clean atmosphere is simply stunning. I would recommend this hotel to anyone- and especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review

You did a fantastic job of reviewing our hotel - thanks for the great descriptors! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

It was my first time in Cottonwood and I had no idea what to expect and was very pleasantly surprised. This hotel is very upscale chic and modern. What I loved is that everything was walking distance for the wine tastings and the whole old town area. I would definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review

Wow! We are ecstatic that your first stay with us was so terrific! Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We greatly appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again. More 

Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

It's obvious the owners of The Tavern Hotel aimed to exceed standards. And they do on some counts. The staff is very courteous, rooms are nicely appointed, and the beds are superb. But the walls are thin, check-in is inconveniently located in the tavern across the parking lot, ice is only available at the tavern, the AC keeps one from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cottonwood, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We are locals and came here on a "stay cation" due to the hotel reputation. We were not disappointed! Everything here is upgraded. All the fixtures, bed and decor are high quality. The complimentary cocktail and breakfast vouchers included are a nice touch. Only detractor at all was the wifi didn't work but these are minor things. Would highly recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review

We love stay-cations! You did a fantastic job of reviewing our hotel - thanks for the great descriptors! We apologize the you didn't get to use the wifi. We will be sure to check on that to make sure it's working properly. We hope you visit again soon. More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

What a great find!! My husband found the Wine and Sip Package online and it was sure worth it. The package included a $50 gift card at one of the local restaurants, along with 2 drink vouchers and a voucher for breakfast the next morning. Our room was very beautiful and romantic!!! So pristine and lots of attention to detail... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HauntedGroup, Owner at The Tavern Hotel, responded to this review

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed the Wine and Sip package, it's one of our recently added ones! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and your entire stay. Come visit us again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question