We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel

Hotel website
6333 East Cave Creek Road, Cave Creek, AZ 85331
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    6
    6
    11
    21
See reviews for
14
26
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Anthem, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was extremely polite, we chit chatted for a while very nice people! They are very acknowledgeable about Arizona gave us some great recommendations for outing with the kids. We stayed in rooms 17 and 18 they connect which was really awesome for us!! The rooms were clean, spacious and quiet. They have a bbq area we grilled while the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheri P, Manager at Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are grateful you chose to stay with us also! We are happy your family enjoyed their time here, thanks for allowing us the opportunity to be part of your vacation! Hope to see you again. Best Wishes,Tumbleweed Hotel More 

Pooler, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Opt to stay further away and enjoy some real amenities Pool was small and dirty no lights office had very strange hours not open before 9? Ice was a bag of ice in an outside refrigerator? For $99 expected a little bit more

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheri P, Manager at Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Rhonda, we greatly appreciate that you took the time to review Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel. We apologize if our pool wasn't up to your standards, however I would like to assure you we do employ a professional pool care company, who is at our property quite frequently. Also our pool closes when it gets dark.... More 

Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

If you read all the negative reviews they are all very true. We left two week early and was hoping for some refund, that didn't happen. The shower was terrible, you either got hot scalding water or luke warm water. They stated full kitchen and you didn't have enough dishes to even make a meal. Dog hair in all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tumble2015, Manager at Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We typically can work something out with our guests to rectify unpleasant circumstances. However to our knowledge no complaint was made to management. Please understand we cannot fix a problem we are... More 

Morongo Valley, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Can't say how the hotel is, but you gotta shop here. Amazing yard art. Mexican art and southwest. Owner was helpful and pleasant. We tried to stay here by getting on-line but no deal. Very centrally located. Will try again next time. Cute town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
new york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

If you have to stay overnight, then Tumbleweed is fine. Pricey for what they're offering you- but the room was clean and it was walking distance to restaurants/ saloon. Wifi was not working in this room, had to go outside of the room to get a connection.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halfmoon Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Good location but that is about all I can say for this accommodation! Noise and way to expensive for what you get! Picture a Motel six at twice the rate. As Canadians we are being hosed by the high Exchange rate!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Mayer, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

This Hotel/Motel is right downtown in Cave Creek. Walking distance to many of the shops and restaurants in the area. The location is great - the amenities are basic but comfortable. It is family owned, not a part of a chain. There is a gift shop at the front of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

This motel truly is something out of a nightmare. You CANNOT cancel -you will be charged NO matter what! Please don't even bother to call, manager, Jeri Rust is worst example of customer service and common decency that I've ever encountered, other than her assistant who answers her phone

Was this review helpful? Yes 22
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

This is a great place to stay. Located in the center of everything in Cave Creek. This Hotel, has a great southwestern charm. The staff is friendly, helpful & knowledgable. The rooms are spacious & clean. The beds are comfortable & each room has it's own unique SW decor. The gift gallery is also worth taking a look at. Filled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Writing a review for Tumbleweed Hotel is difficult. How do I find the words to express how much I loved this hotel? I am close to completing 90 Trip Advisor reviews. This one is such a pleasure to write! I travel a lot and usually pass up on the older hotels. My experience at the Tumbleweed changed my view on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities