We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Cave Creek hotels

Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel to your Saves list
6333 East Cave Creek Road, Cave Creek, AZ 85331
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (64)
  • Photos (43)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cave Creek
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cave Creek
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    6
    3
    9
    19
See reviews for
13
23
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hands down my worst ever customer service experience with lodging, and I am in my late 40's and well traveled. My partner and I traveled here for a wedding recently. After non-working curtains and no water pressure or hot water in shower (I mean, who really needs a working shower when getting ready for a wedding?), we also ran out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sedona, Arizona
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very quaint and authentic hotel, rustic to say the least. The staff was very and pleasant and helped enhance my stay. Super location, near everything that is happening in the town. Cave Creek is an awesome place with many treasures to be found. I will definitely make this an annual visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Indian Wells, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Horrible dirty little hole in the wall with bad plumbing and bad management. Took a cold shower with dribbling water, found someone ELSE'S dirty panties-- TWO PAIRS!-- on the floor of my closet. Television didn't work, sheets were threadbare. Not enough thin chintzy towels and the manager refused to give out any more. Dirt parking lot and dirt driveway means... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Rebecca R, Manager at Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel, responded to this review

It's really concerning to read about your experience, Sandra. The issues you've described aren't at all in line with our standards and we're very sorry if you ran into problems with cleanliness or other amenities during your stay. On that same note, management should always be around to provide extras like towels or blankets when you need them. As for... More

Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Credit card charged 6 days in advance of the stay, called to cancel was told sorry, 2 week minimum cancellation date. Even though the days are during a bike rally. If I find that the room was re-rented, well then that seems like robbery. perhaps they should think twice about this type of behavior, compliant also lodged with BBB. DON'T... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Live in Phoenix but recently decided to take a trip up to Cave Creek and check out the north valley. After a day filed with exploring we figured it would be best to stay the night. We found a great spot Called the Tumbleweed Hotel. It was exactly what we were looking for. A beautiful rustic property located in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Rebecca R, Manager at Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel, responded to this review

We're so glad to hear that your visit was just the refreshing, rustic getaway you were looking for. Thanks for taking the time to share your kudos with us here on TripAdvisor, Chad. Since Phoenix isn't too far from us, we hope that you'll think of us the next time you need to get out of the city for a... More

Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at this motel for 3 nights while doing some golfing in the area. The best thing about this motel was the location. We were able to walk to some great restaurants/saloons with excellent bbq food and beer and not have to worry about driving back to the motel. The motel rooms were old and in need of upgrade,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rebecca R, Manager at Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel, responded to this review

We're glad that your could make the trip out from Wisconsin and take advantage of our location, pool, and western charm. It's always great to hear feedback from our guests and we appreciate you taking the time to share that with us. We hope you'll think of us the next time you or some of your friends head our direction.... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stay away! I made reservations based upon the advertisement from their website expecting a unique property with charm. Was that a surprise. I checked in, giving my credit card, left the luggage in the room, used the bathroom and dried my hands on the one towel there, and then left to set up for an art show. After doing so,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rebecca R, Manager at Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel, responded to this review

It's very disheartening to read about your experience. Did you ask anyone at the front desk about getting some extra towels or switching rooms? We're always more than happy to accommodate you as best we can if you're unhappy with your room. As for our prices, since we're the only hotel in a popular tourist area we price our rooms... More

Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I don't know who's writing the reviews but they probably work for this place. The Tumbleweed Motel is a true rip-off in every sense of the word. We booked based on the description on the net and because it was basically that day, we were told that we could not “un-book” the reservation. When we got there the place was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Extended stay (2 months) could not have been better. Location and owners, Gary and Jeri,were great and most help with any questions or requests. Rate was very reasonable. Hope to do it again. We will also tell our friends about it!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rebecca R, Manager at Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel, responded to this review

We're so glad that we could make you feel right at home during your extended stay. Thanks for taking the time to share your recommendation. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you have out our way! Warm regards, Tumbleweed Hotel More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great getaway with the hubby to get away for a night.the room was cozy with a western feel and the location is perfect because shopping and night life are within walking distance.Jerri the owner was very accomidating and made us feel very welcome.definately going back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rebecca R, Manager at Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel, responded to this review

We're so glad that you and your hubby could get away and relax with us for a night. Thanks for taking the time to share your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you head out this way! Best, Tumbleweed Hotel More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel

Address: 6333 East Cave Creek Road, Cave Creek, AZ 85331
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Cave Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in downtown Cave Creek, The Tumbleweed Hotel is the only hotel that puts you within walking distance to all the local attractions. Surrounding the hotel are hiking trails that have been voted the best in the Valley, horseback riding, quad and bike rentals, amateur bull riding competitions, cowboy bars, biker bars, coffee shops, thrift shops, great restaurants, golf courses and many great Southwestern shops! We offer 16 rooms, all air conditioned and equipped with telephones, direct TV and wireless internet access. The spacious outdoor pool, patio/picnic area and barbeque are also available for guest use. The Tumbleweed Hotel was established in 1968 by local Cave Creekers who wanted to continue the tradition of Cave Creek's small town hospitality. The Tumbleweed Hotel is Cave Creek's only main street hotel and continues to be part of the fabric of the town by maintaining it's Western decor. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
24

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer