We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carefree Resort & Conference Center

37220 Mule Train Road, Carefree, AZ 85377
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carefree Resort & Conference Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Carefree Resort & Conference Center
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    131
    76
    55
    42
See reviews for
117
140
32
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (454)
  • Mar-May only
    (165)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (115)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Tucson
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A huge disappointment. When I arrived, the clerk did not even bother to look up or acknowledge me in any way. After waiting about 10 minutes for her to finish with a guest, a couple of other people walked up. She asked the stupid question "Who's next?", giving ample opportunity for those who like to cut lines to push right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a 4 night stay at the Carefree Resort to attend a wedding. The wedding was at The Boulders, but I couldn't afford to stay there, and the bride's family mentioned the Carefree Resort. The resort is 50 years old, and it's showing its age. There are no refrigerators or safes in the rooms. The "gift shop" is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martha L, Front Office Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Hello Louvrelover, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay with us as this helps us identify where we need to improve. We have passed your comments on to our Director of Operations as this is not the standard to which we operate. We hope you give us another opportunity and visit us again. Thank... More 

Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I understand why people book this place for weddings and corporate events. The setting is an old west desert with beautiful cacti surrounding. These are some of the largest Saguaro Cacti I have seen in AZ. The event areas and meeting rooms are functional. Don't be fooled, it is a 30 minute drive on Scottsdale Rd to get to North... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martha L, Front Office Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Hello PickyArizona, Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate you bringing these things up to our attention as this feedback helps us identify where we need to improve. We have informed our Director of Operations as well as Upper Management of your comments as that is definitely not the standard to which we operate. We are happy... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this resort for 4 days and for the most part it was fine given the reasonable rate. The room we were in was well worn (chair on the balcony had a slat missing, no hook on the bathroom door) that sort of thing. I think there were updated rooms but we did not have one. The pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martha L, Front Office Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Hello ATriece, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your feedback as this helps us identify where we need to improve to provide the best guest experience possible. We have informed our Director of Operations of your comments for further review. We hope you give us another chance and visit us again soon. Thank you, Kristen More 

Sedona, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and i just got married and planned a two day stay at Carefree Resort compliments of one of my groomsman. We had left all of our wedding cash in the drawer... We had called the resort and the person tending our room had found the pile of cash and turned it into the manager. The General Manager overnight... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Martha L, Front Office Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Hello Kegn H, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It sounds like you were able to enjoy the amenities our resort has to offer such as our restaurant, pools, and our shuttle service! We will be sure to congratulate the shuttle driver that assisted you for offering superb service!... More 

Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came to see our son for Easter. We had a reservation. Even though it was just my husband and myself. The best rate quoted to us was a double queen room. The room was spacious and VERY dusty. Well.. I suppose it is the desert! There was scattered debris through out the room. We were aware that the resort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Martha L, Front Office Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Hello sunkistArizona, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you bringing these things up to our attention as this feedback helps us identify where we need to improve to provide the best guest experience and service possible. We have informed our Executive Housekeeper of your comments as that is definitely not the standard to which we operate. We are happy... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My sister and I came here for a vacation on her birthday in November. It was a choice in Expedia, a really good deal. She had never been to Arizona and was so pleased with our trip, she would definitely return and even bring her family to this area and stay in this hotel again. It has tennis courts, a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martha L, Front Office Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Hello Cathy Q, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear how much you and your sister enjoyed your recent stay with us. It sounds like you two were able to enjoy the amenities our property has to offer such as the restaurant, pools, and tennis courts. I am happy to hear you had a pleasant encounter with... More 

West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel in the pass and it has gone down hill. The room was dark, dirty and gloomy - not like the photos on their website and not worth the $250 per night charge. At 9:30pm when I was tiring to get the room card to work on my 1st floor room - a large dog approached... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Martha L, Front Office Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Hello VeonaLake, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you bringing this up to our attention as this feedback helps us identify where we need to improve to provide the best service possible. We have informed Upper Management of your comments for further review. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We hope you give us... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Terrible service, don't stay here! They don't have the rooms readying time and tell you you are added to a priority list. I watched 12 different people come by checking the status of rooms and Waited in the lobby over two hours. Ridiculous I expected more from a resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martha L, Front Office Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback as it helps us improve our level of service. As we try to accommodate every early arrival request our guaranteed check in is not until 4p.m. We apologize that you had to wait for your room we can always store your... More 

Torrance, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A nice property and very friendly staff. Great room. Off the beaten path if visiting Phoenix area. We were there for spring training and booked last minute. Restaurant has good food and selection you're kinda of a captive audience since not much around to choose from. Quaint little town but not much to do after sundown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martha L, Front Office Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review

Hello Bob R, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had a great experience with our staff. It is also good to hear you were able to enjoy our restaurant during your stay. We hope you visit us again soon. Thank you, Kristen More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

647 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (184)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (440)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Pool (28)
Viewed
Premiere Resort Room (69)
Viewed
Resort Room (74)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (14)
Viewed
Sonoran Suite (106)
Viewed
The Hotel (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question