We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
34631 North Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85377
Special Offer
The Boulders@Play
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    208
    92
    59
    35
See reviews for
215
674
49
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1358)
  • Mar-May only
    (327)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (402)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (345)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (284)
All months
Monarch Beach, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Boulders last year and liked it so much that we decided to go back. We were reminded how difficult it is not to be able to access your car easily. You must valet park and the resort has a mandatory $30 per day charge for shuttle and WIFI service. We were also reminded how checking in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saratoga, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is one of our favorite places to stay in the Carefree/north Scottsdale area. Although it was apparently heavily booked between Christmas and New Years' it didn't really feel crowded. We were in a stand-alone casita overlooking the desert - quite private and fairly quiet... if you discount the coyote chorus in the evening/early morning! Everything was a short walk:... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Green Valley, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The setting is as good as it gets, the amenities are top notch, only regret is we didn't have more time to stay and play. Golf course looks like a fantastic layout - must come back to give it a try, nestled between Boulders, Water Features, and cactus - has some of the most beautiful back drop anywhere.

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
Furlong, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent 3 days at the Boulders learning golf from Donald Crawley. Donald was a wonderful instructor and we both left with a better golf swing. Donald provided us with notes, drills and a videos of our swings. We plan to make this an annual trip. The Boulders is a beautiful resort with 2 great golf courses.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Lisa K, Greetings from the beautiful Boulders Resort! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so glad to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your wonderful lesson with Donald Crawley at the Boulders Golf Academy. And, yes, we cannot agree with you more about Donald and he has been voted by his... More 

wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here with our 2 teenage sons over spring break. We reserved a 3 bedroom casita. It was well decorated, had a large patio with plenty of comfortable furniture, and outdoor heaters to stave off any chill. The kitchen was well appointed-- probably the best I've seen in a rental. There were plenty of pots, pans, utensils, etc for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The golf courses and the spa look great, but if you want to go for a run you'd better take a map and have an innate sense of direction. The signage on the resort grounds is convoluted and frustrating, you have to run off the path for carts to pass, and when you leave the resort grounds you're running on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Bonncox, Greetings from the beautiful Sonoran Desert! Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We do have beautiful walking and jogging trails throughout the resort, some of which are also golf cart paths that meander through our beautiful golf course. It is through guests such as yourself that we are able to identify areas... More 

new york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Absolutely amazing grounds, consisting mostly of groups of "casitas" spread over a vast acreage of beautiful, boulder-strewn desert. At night rock formations are lit to spectacular effect. Rooms are excellent (for more of the desert experience go for a casita near the edge of the property). Food good, but not amazing, restaurant service only fair, especially at lodge. If they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Sfnewyork, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are lucky to be located on the beautiful foothills Sonoran Desert (which happens to be one of the most lush Deserts in the world). We hope you enjoyed exploring our amazing grounds via our many walking, hiking,... More 

Davis, CA
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
63 hotel reviews
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been going to the Boulders for about 30 years and traditionally this has been a great place to stay. My husband checked in abot 2:00 pm and he called to say this was not the house what we rented. The reservation said a desert view. This house had a view of two homes. They told my husband they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Greetings Chiili, Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and being a loyal guest of the Boulders for 30 years. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay. We do our very best to accommodate all of our guests request for early check-in and specific rooms and villas, but due to occupancy... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

View of the room was not as suggested in the booking. The view was obstructed by bushes and there was a musty odor in the room. The staff was rude and argumentative. You will find better hotels that are less expensive with a better quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Greetings busytraveler2838447, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay and if our views were not to your liking. Please be assured that we have audited our information on our websites, and have updated the descriptions that the patios do have desert-scape views. We did... More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon arrival we were assigned a room which we were advised was not ready. When we asked for a confirmation that this room did in fact have our requested boulders view we received no answer other than hearing the front desk clerk whisper sotto voce the room number via phone to housekeeping. We were told we would be notified when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at The Boulders, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review

Guy F, We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserve during your recent stay. We strive for unparalleled service delivery at our hotel, and we are always looking for ways to ensure that each guest experiences the very best we have to offer. Your feedback will help us to continue to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,070 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (643)
Viewed
View from room (61)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (177)
Viewed
Room/suite (90)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Other (247)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (117)
Viewed
Casita (66)
Viewed
Pool (40)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (44)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question