We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

4.0 of 5 BP 6, Nunue, 98730, French Polynesia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    238
    117
    91
    61
See reviews for
57
621
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (840)
  • Mar-May only
    (181)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (236)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (251)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (172)
All months
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This trip was gifted to us by our amazing children. We were greeted with the beautiful sounds of the pacific with the call of the conch, presented with the gorgeous scented cold facecloth, leis, adorned with smiles, refreshing chilled drinks and was shown to our beautifully decorated rooms. Breakfast chef, well done. Little hut staff-caring and thoughtful. Pool gorgeous even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana ! Thank you for sharing your " Magnifique " comment with us ! We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Sofitel Marara Beach Resort in Bora Bora. How lucky you are ! Your children must be very amazing because they gifted you such an amazing stay. Our Ambassadors will be very happy and proud with the... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My family stayed in 2 beachfront bungalows with million dollar views which cost us a fortune and ended up being a real disappointment. Large dog feces on the front lawn that took 2 days and 5 complaints to get rid of so my son could finally run barefoot from the hut to the sand. Overpriced food and drinks considering the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Outdated , 2 umbrellas for the whole place ? Who has that?? Have to go into your room if you want out of sun. Food ok Nothing to rave about. $$$$$ to much for what was expected stay away. Shame on you for giving yourself 4 stars should be -4stars

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, which is very important for us. We sincerely do apologize for that you did'nt get the experience expected in our Resort. As we are located just down the mountain, in one of the most beautiful bay of Bora Bora, the sun is hidden with this mountain at 4 pm, but the resort still have a... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This resort does not meet the Sofitel standard. I was shocked to see the condition of the bungalows. We got showed 2 different rooms, both smelt musty and showed obvious signs of wear. Overall, the resort is quite old and requires a make-over. The water near some of the bungalows is dirty, no good for swimming, snorkelling. Food was average.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana from Bora Bora ! Thank you for sharing your opinion which is very important for us. We are so sorry that you couldn't get the experience expected. We are actually in a rainy season ( november till april ) and the humidity rate can reach 100% in the air. As we are located on the main island, the water... More 

Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here in late Aug 2014 for our honeymoon for 3 nights in an Overwater Bungalow. The reason we chose this place over other hotels was the price / quality balance. We got to enjoy the perks of bora bora and an OWB without spending a fortune (all hotels share the same ocean right?). Its a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana from Bora Bora ! Thank you for your comment, we are very delighted that you had a great time with us, and our Ambassadors are very proud and happy that you liked their services. Thank you for your stay in Sofitel Marara Beach Resort and Congratulations again for your honeymoon !!! Come back soon! Maururu More 

Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a week there, the food was really not impressive but really expensive. Rooms were Ok but nothing fancy for the price. Many Internet problems and a small pool. The dinner for New Year was definitely not prices well and way too expensive for the food we had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana, thank you for your stay in Sofitel Marara Beach Resort, and for sharing your opinion, which is very important for us. The dinner of New Year's Eve had a certain price, but not for the buffet itself, it was including the two Polynesian Shows, The Live Bands, the Dj and the Fireworks. All our best wishes for 2015 !... More 

Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
112 hotel reviews
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff is very friendly. Pay the money and take the private boat from the airport to the hotel. It is worth it. The check in with leis, a drink, and cold towels plus the tour of the property was great. The staff is very nice. The overwater bungalows are lovely (location, location, location) as you can snorkel off your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience ! We are so delighted that you had a " Magnifique " moment in our Private Island ! Come back soon ! More 

Henderson, Nevada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wow and I don't mean that in a good way. My husband and I spent Christmas at this hotel and it was terrible. Now before I continue let me say the staff were very pleasant and the manager responsive when I mentioned how awful the restaurant service was. The hotel is in serious need of repair as an example, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana! Thank you for your opinion, which is very important for us. The Sofitel Marara Beach Resort is a Historic place, choosen by Mr Dino de Laurentiis, famous Italian Movie producer. The last renovations were in 2008, and we keep maintaining the hotel in a good condition. Our Ambassadors will be very proud with your feedback, as you were appreciate... More 

Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

My husband and I spent four days of our honeymoon here and I have to say it was pretty disappointing. First, upon check-in we were shown to the most exposed, unprivate over water bungalow, after having our travel agent specifically email for something private. I honestly can't confirm that she did this, so it may have been on her, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour, thank you for your opinion which is very important for us, and could help us also to improve our service quickly. We are so sorry that you didn't enjoyed your experience with us, and specially for the breakfast and the room. The last renovations of the Sofitel Marara were done in 2008, and the situation will be better as... More 

Gippsland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Sofitel marara resort for 2 weeks in November 2014. After many delayed flights and actually arriving a day late we were welcomed with friendly smiles, a much needed cold beverage and musicians. We stayed in a beach front bungalow which for us was a great size and perfect location. After waking to the most amazing sunrise I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for this magnifique comment about the Sofitel Marara Beach Resort. All our team is very proud to hear that you had a wonderful saty in our paradise ! The romantic dinner experience is a ultimate way to celebrate a special event. Congratulations for your 10th wedding anniversary, and all our best wishes for this upcoming festive season ! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Overwater Bungalow(9)
  • Private Island(7)
  • Very nice(3)

Additional Information about Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Address: BP 6, Nunue, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach And Private Island Hotel Bora Bora
Sofitel Bora Motu Private Island
Accor Bora Motu Private Island
Bora Bora Sofitel
Sofitel Motu Bora Bora
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora

1,046 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (954)
Viewed
Room/suite (125)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (129)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (122)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
View from room (137)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
0:21
Videos (8)
Viewed
Other (359)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (41)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay