We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

4.0 of 5 BP 6, Nunue, 98730, French Polynesia
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    239
    119
    93
    61
See reviews for
58
625
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (846)
  • Mar-May only
    (182)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (236)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (251)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (177)
All months
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

This is a beautiful resort. You arrive at Aeroport Bora Bora and are taken by boat to the resort. While docking you are greeted by a Polynesian man blowing a conch shell, a hostess gives you a beautiful lei, and then brought to the reception area and given a cold tropical juice and are told all about the amenities at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just returned from this hotel and thought the overall experience was very nice. As some say, the hotel could use some basic maintenance but it is an older hotel. It also should be remembered that it is a "boutique" hotel so it is smaller and doesn't have all the perks of a larger one. However, for the price, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana, All the team of the Sofitel Marara Beach Resort would like to thank you for your visit in Bora Bora ! We are very pleased that your enjoyed your Sofitel experience in French Polunesia. It is true that the view from the overwater bungalow 50 is just "Magnifique", and so as different other points of view : from the... More 

Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I went to Bora Bora in the last week of October 2014 for our 1 year anniversary/Honeymoon. A little background from us is that we are not the couple to stay at hotels that cost as much as the Sofitel, because usually most of our vacations are spent exploring the area of wherever we are at so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Affoltern am Albis, Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
69 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very difficult review because it regards Sofitel. Up to now we have never been disappointed with the Accor Group or especially Sofitel. That was the thought when I booked Bora Bora as a present for my spouse. The moment I saw that there is a Sofitel, I didn't think twice and booked. The location of the Marara... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana from Bora Bora. We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us. The points you have highlighted are very important, and we will seriously take in consideration your feedback. The last renovations of the Sofitel Marara Beach were done in 2008, we expect some new ones in this upcoming year. We sincerely apologize for the service... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pros: Close to a shop, nice beach with corals Cons: Noisy and broken aircon, toooo expensive, quality of service is very low, hard to get a kayak or snorkel, long queue on check-out, long wait for a bellboy, long wait on check-in, expensive and bad cocktails, average buffet(be earlier at the buffer to get more food variety) To sum up:... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana. Your opinion is very important and your feedback will elp us to improve our services. We do sincerely apologize about the points you have highlighted. November and december were very hard months for us, as the whole Island was touched by the epidemic disease called " Chikungunya ", which affected most of our staff and 80% of the population... More 

Bora Bora, French Polynesia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

This trip was gifted to us by our amazing children. We were greeted with the beautiful sounds of the pacific with the call of the conch, presented with the gorgeous scented cold facecloth, leis, adorned with smiles, refreshing chilled drinks and was shown to our beautifully decorated rooms. Breakfast chef, well done. Little hut staff-caring and thoughtful. Pool gorgeous even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana ! Thank you for sharing your " Magnifique " comment with us ! We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Sofitel Marara Beach Resort in Bora Bora. How lucky you are ! Your children must be very amazing because they gifted you such an amazing stay. Our Ambassadors will be very happy and proud with the... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

My family stayed in 2 beachfront bungalows with million dollar views which cost us a fortune and ended up being a real disappointment. Large dog feces on the front lawn that took 2 days and 5 complaints to get rid of so my son could finally run barefoot from the hut to the sand. Overpriced food and drinks considering the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Bonjour from Bora Bora ! Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your opinion with us, so we are able to improve our service and the points you have highlighted. We do sincerely apologize for all these inconvenience you encountered during your stay. The last renovations we had in the Sofitel Marara were in 2008, our hotel is set... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Outdated , 2 umbrellas for the whole place ? Who has that?? Have to go into your room if you want out of sun. Food ok Nothing to rave about. $$$$$ to much for what was expected stay away. Shame on you for giving yourself 4 stars should be -4stars

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, which is very important for us. We sincerely do apologize for that you did'nt get the experience expected in our Resort. As we are located just down the mountain, in one of the most beautiful bay of Bora Bora, the sun is hidden with this mountain at 4 pm, but the resort still have a... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

This resort does not meet the Sofitel standard. I was shocked to see the condition of the bungalows. We got showed 2 different rooms, both smelt musty and showed obvious signs of wear. Overall, the resort is quite old and requires a make-over. The water near some of the bungalows is dirty, no good for swimming, snorkelling. Food was average.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana from Bora Bora ! Thank you for sharing your opinion which is very important for us. We are so sorry that you couldn't get the experience expected. We are actually in a rainy season ( november till april ) and the humidity rate can reach 100% in the air. As we are located on the main island, the water... More 

Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

My wife and I stayed here in late Aug 2014 for our honeymoon for 3 nights in an Overwater Bungalow. The reason we chose this place over other hotels was the price / quality balance. We got to enjoy the perks of bora bora and an OWB without spending a fortune (all hotels share the same ocean right?). Its a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
H0564GM, Responsable relations publiques at Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort, responded to this review

Iaorana from Bora Bora ! Thank you for your comment, we are very delighted that you had a great time with us, and our Ambassadors are very proud and happy that you liked their services. Thank you for your stay in Sofitel Marara Beach Resort and Congratulations again for your honeymoon !!! Come back soon! Maururu More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Overwater Bungalow(9)
  • Private Island(7)
  • Very nice(3)

Additional Information about Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort

Address: BP 6, Nunue, 98730, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach And Private Island Hotel Bora Bora
Sofitel Bora Motu Private Island
Accor Bora Motu Private Island
Bora Bora Sofitel
Sofitel Motu Bora Bora
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora

1,062 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (970)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (131)
Viewed
Room/suite (131)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (122)
Viewed
View from room (137)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
0:21
Videos (8)
Viewed
Other (366)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (92)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (41)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay