We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna

P.O. Box 565, 22056 S. F Street, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Hotel amenities
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Talkeetna
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015
Clearview3000 Camino, California
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    24
    18
    5
See reviews for
20
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (89)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Camino, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015 via mobile

There's not a lot of choice in Talkeetna. This place was very basic, but clean. The walls are very thin so you can hear most of what goes on around you. The staff are all very nice and the breakfast in the restuarant was delicious. I wouldn't stay here for a long visit, but it was okay for one night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crown Point
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

I stayed at the Denali fireside cabins for the last two nights and then had to move because they were booked. Swiss Alaska had rooms and it was the same price. Unfortunately you get half of what you get elsewhere. 5 television channels on dish network, 2 full size beds, one hanger and a leaking toilet tank. The room smells... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We stayed here two nights due to our train trip on the Hurricane Ridge Train. It was adequate and better than some in Talkeetna. The employees were very friendly. We had breakfast here but it was not free. The beds were against the wall which made it hard to get in and out. Seemed like other hotels in the area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We stayed here one night and it was probably our worst experience in Alaska. The property is quite dated and patched together with scotch tape. We had mosquitos, spiders etc crawling all over and bathroom door had spider webs on it. We were afraid to step foot on the floor The room was extremely small with two very uncomfortable beds.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RomyCB, Manager at Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I wish that we had known you were unhappy at the time and we would have tried to make your visit better. The Swiss Alaska Inn is having renovations done this winter and we will consider your review carefully. Thank you for taking the time to fill... More 

Garden Grove
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

This is an inexpensive hotel for the area, good location. You can walk to the main part of town in just s few minutes. We stayed in the 2 story building. The rooms are average with a good sized bathroom. We did not eat in the restaurant. I recommend the Roadhouse for cheap food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We were assigned a room in the main lodge and unfortunately it was the last one in the back hallway so you could hear the door every time someone came and went. When we entered our room, it smell quite musty. There were 2 double beds, but each were pushed up against the wall with a small nightstand in between,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

What a waste! This place has great potential but is ruined by a very expensive breakfast (delicious though) and very uncomfortable beds. Staff was friendly and the location was very reserved. I wouldn't go back I am sure there are better places around this area where to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The Swiss Alaska Inn was inexpensive for the area and average in accommodations. It was away from the noise of the small downtown area and very quiet. Everything in Alaska is expensive so if you are looking for a place to lay you head that is clean I would recommend. But plush it is not.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grove City, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We arrived and went to check in, we were early so we didn't mind our room not being ready so we went for lunch as we were told to come back in 30 min. We were told we would be staying in the main building....but I had thought we reserved a cabin, but we were only staying one night so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fredericksburg, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The cabins were old but clean but eat downtown the restaurant is very expensive. I really don't have anything else say but travel advisories wants me have 200 Characters I will say ........... Alaska is so beautiful!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question