We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avenue Motor Lodge

31 Craigie Avenue, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avenue Motor Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
22
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Stayed one night to break up the trip to ChCh. Arrived about 8pm to find a nice warm room. Heater had been put on well before we got there. Friendly, great big room and large comfy bed. Great stay and would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oamaru, New Zealand
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Although this motel is on the main road, there was no road noise. Friendly hosts, lovely large room with massive comfy bed. Very spacious, and clean. Really enjoyed our stay. Location is good, easy to find.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night in room 1 whilst touring the South Island. The room is very spacious and the king bed extremely comfortable. There is a very large spa bath and the entire place is very new and clean. Nice large flat screen TV with plenty of programs to select and free Wifi which works quickly and efficiently. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

The rooms here are marvelous and spacious. Very warm. Love staying here and the furniture is comfortable to sit in. Nice and quiet even though it's on a main road. Showers are fantastic with great pressure. Outdoor seating area is private which I liked

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cromwell, New Zealand
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

All well laid out. Good wifi. Plenty of chairs. cooking facilities for basics. Roomy bathroom with a spa which we enjoyed. Only problem was the noisy fridge but it is not the only motel with this problem. Will use this place again when we come back to town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hokitika
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

This is a review I should have done some time ago. My wife and I are regular visitors to Timaru and over the years have stayed at various motels there. We have also traveled extensively both in NZ and overseas.We come to Timaru for family reasons. We don't think we have stayed at any motels that provide the level of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
vivcour, Owner at Avenue Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Michael Thank you for your wonderful review,We are very happy that you enjoy staying with us . Regards Vivien More 

Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

The standard seemed to have dropped a bit from previous review. A few minor issues that we hadn't had there before. Maybe a cleaning audit could help? Also we were in a downstairs unit and the people staying upstairs made a lot of noise right up to midnight and then starting up again at 6am. When we mentioned it to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

What a wonderful find this motel was! So warm and comfortable, with fantastic beds and great kitchen facilities. The bathroom was lovely and the spa bath great to relax in, and the rooms were huge. I'm just disappointed that we were only staying one night on our way back to Dunedin to break the journey - I have to say,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Excellent facilities, very friendly and helping staff. They even had playing cards for us :) Nice little town with beautiful restaurants. This was our first night in NZ and we could not have asked for a better place to stay. Will definitely recommend travelers to South Island who start at Christchurch and want to drive south, to take stay over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
vivcour, Owner at Avenue Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi,Thank you for your great review.I am pleased we made the start of your trip so great and you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.We try to accommodate most requests if we can Vivien More 

Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014 via mobile

We were surprised at how spacious the rooms were. Rather than feeling like "cramped little motel rooms" it was just pleasant to be there. We were there for a family wedding and the rooms were a great size for catching up with everybody. Very nicely appointed, comfy beds, good kitchens, bathrooms, ... Owners were very nice and helpful. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
vivcour, Owner at Avenue Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi,Thank you for your review,which was very much appreciated.We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here Vivien More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities