We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Timaru hotels

Grosvenor Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Cains Terrace, Timaru, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Grosvenor Hotel to your Saves list
Grosvenor Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
79%
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Timaru
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
chorus2014 Invercargill, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (88)
  • Photos (37)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (22)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    35
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
37
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night in standard room. Very comfy bed, great shower, friendly staff and the lift was pretty cool. The only thing that let the room down was the lighting, it was sufficient but quite dull. Would defiantly stay again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings CHORUS Thank you, thank you, thank you for your kind words. It meant the world to us. We take on board what you said about dull lighting in your room. We have revamped all the lighting on the top floor. It's so bright now that you may even need to wear shades in those rooms! LOL Anyhow, we are... More

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed for one night. The staff were great, but it is not a 4 star property. It is a very clean and simple 2 star property on the verge of some great looking renovations. Rooms were spacious and simple.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Rosie You are absolutely right. We are not a four stars property but only a three stars. Our goal is to ensure that we have the basics right and providing our guests with a home-away-from-home feeling through excellent customer service. Being in Timaru, we are limited in resources to bring The Grosvenor to the next level but one shall... More

Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Came down from Auckland and stayed for 5 nights on family business. Better value for money than the local motels and even than the Timaru camping ground cabins which is why I decided to stay there. The hotel's location is central and convenient as near the town's central business district and shopping centre as well as within walking distance of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Sir/Madam Thank you for bringing to our attention things that we need to rectify. We appreciate the time you spent in writing the review and it meant the world to us. We give you an undertaking that we will strive to be better. Do come again:) Faithfully, Ping LIM (The Proprietor) More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed one night in a standard double room. A nice, modern hotel with great staff. Our room was large, very clean and the bed was comfy. We ordered room service which was fast and was really good. The wifi is free but we had a poor signal in our room. Excellent location; in the town centre and 5 min... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Katie Thank you for bringing to our attention the weak WiFi signal in the room that you have stayed. We have recently just upgraded our WiFi facility. We shall endeavour to have it rectified without further ado to enable future guests to enjoy the same privileges as you did. Do come again. Thank you for your kind words and... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Arlo the shih tsu and I stayed here in January on a road trip. Very comfortable,clean single room for a miniscule price. I couldn't believe they let me book in with my dog-checked again when I arrived-and he loved the hotel too. Excellent shower, good supply of tea/hot chocolate sachets and even a couple of biscuits. Wifi was excellent -10... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings JJ & Arlo Arlo is SOOO adorable! Almost all of our staff have pets and we understand that pets are very much members of our family. Therefore, it has always been The Grosvenor's policy to enable the owners to have their pets accompanying their masters. That being said, that's dependent upon the animals being well-trained and that they are... More

Christchurch
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Closest Hotel to the CBD, no noise like you get from the motels on the main stretch coming into town. Stayed in Room 216 on Sunday 18th May, have stayed half a dozen times and the staff are all lovely friendly people. I work night shifts so the staff have been awesome having a room for me at 11am, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Sir We thank you wholeheartedly for your nice review. Our staff at the Front Office and Pub/Restaurant are touched and they would like to thank you in person next time when you are in Timaru again. Yes, when you ask for things, we will only be too pleased to make them possible for you. Kindly, Ping LIM (The Proprietor) More

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here one night on short notice. Reception staff very helpful & accommodating. Hotel looks freshly renovated & rooms very tidy. Even carpet like wall coverings in the room, colour scheme a little odd though. Great shower pressure. Parking in lot directly across the road.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Sir/Madam Thank you for your raising all the good points about The Grosvenor. The odd colour on the wall especially for the first floor lobby is actually based on artwork created by Piet Mondrian. The "carpet"-like wall can be felt especially during winter months where it's providing the feeling of cosiness to our guests and that it cut down... More

Noosa, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

When we presented to book in we were advised our booking from our overseas travel agent had been notified to the hotel as cancelled - however the staff accommodated us with a room which they said was an upgrade from the original. Yes, it's basic (no fridge) but they were generous with supply of tea, coffee and sugar sachets daily... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Sir/Madam Thank you for taking your time to write a very concise and objective review about The Grosvenor. You have captured the essence of what The Grosvenor is all about. To sum it up, The Grosvenor is a large quaint hotel - an oxymoron but it's all so true. Everyone's need is different and our staff endeavours to cater... More

Parkes, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at the Grosvenor hotel for one night on our recent trip to New Zealand and we are so glad we did. This is very affordable accommodation. Rooms are basic but clean and well appointed. Recent renovations are funky and arty. Very close to main street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Madam A heart-felt thanks and gratitude for appreciating our hotel. We are even more thrilled that you enjoy the contemporary art that is dotted around the hotel. Safe travel:) Sincerely, Ping LIM (The Proprietor) More

Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

lovely old hotel, staff were excellent when we had to change nights due to a cyclone, all staff were welcoming and helpful and we loved the Speights room, fantastic restaurant, great meals at reasonable prices

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Madam A heart-felt thanks and gratitude for your kind words. I am sure that my team will appreciate it very much. It's the people that define a place and I wholeheartedly agree with this statement. The Grosvenor wouldn't be the same without our staff. Most of them have been with us since the very beginning when our family purchased... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Grosvenor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 26 Cains Terrace, Timaru, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
49

See which rooms travelers prefer