We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grosvenor Hotel

3.0 of 5 26 Cains Terrace, Timaru, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grosvenor Hotel
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    39
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
10
39
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (95)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed one night. I was shown into a room with a broken door lock, but when I asked to be moved that was done immediately with no fuss. My room was quite large, with two comfortable chairs, and a very large wardrobe with plenty of hangers. The ensuite was adequate in size. The room decor was a little tired,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Janet Thank you for your positivity. On behalf of all of us here at The Grosvenor, we thank you wholeheartedly. Please be noted that after the expiry of your 10 hours wi-fi, it's perfectly okay for you to get another password chit from us to extend your wi-fi for yet another 10 hours. We wish you well. Faithfully, Ping... More

Christchurch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having booked on computer I was shocked on seeing my room. The windows were whitened out as they looked onto a balcony available for smokers etc. My jug was rattling, but was replaced. This is an old hotel, but urgently requires capital expenditure. Very tired.

Was this review helpful? Yes
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for your review. This is not the first time I reiterate to our customers that if there is something that you want us to look into, we would attend to your needs immediately. I simply couldn't comprehend why things are only brought up AFTER you have left. When you look at our website, you would note... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Stayed for 1 night as we were attending a wedding and the reception was held at the Grosvenor Hotel. The stairway was being decorated with original paintings being painted on the wall. The hallway to our room was multi-coloured - should have taken a photo. Our room was themed, decorated as a Ford enthusiast would have it done, Ford mirrors,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Sir We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here. Our hotel is aptly entitled: The Grosvenor, HoMA (Hotel of Modern Art) and that's what we have been doing, updating our establishment with original artworks in hotel rooms and in public domain. Being an avid traveller myself, the last thing I want to be in is inside a generic... More

Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
69 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Room was authentic, had some poems on the wall.. got heater, TV, but the bathroom a bit lame.. slippery and quite high.. had laundry that close at 8 pm and opening in the morning.. near the town, so can walk to the town.. and the bar at downstairs was just perfect..

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Terima kasih banyak banyak - dari semua kami bekerja di The Grosvenor. More

Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I stayed two nights. I had asked for a room with good lighting and I had excellent lights on the desk and by the bed. Room was warm and cosy, heater a little bit noisier than some places I have stayed recently. Bathroom spacious, hot shower (with a head that was inclined to droop) and good towels. Bed was comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Fiona Thank you for your objective review. We are grateful for your kind words. As for the differential in bed height, I am sure that it has something to do with the legs. It is obvious that you are a very well-travelled individual and you know exactly what you look for in your accommodation. We shall rectify the bed... More

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night last Saturday. Interesting (slightly odd) mix of interior décor. However, our double room was freshly painted in neutral colours, bed was comfortable, good quality (appeared new) linen, with a flat screen tv on the wall. Ensuite was old but everything in good working order and spotlessly clean. I actually loved the room - a bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Madam You got it! The Grosvenor is quirky as quirky does:) We are a Qualmark 3-star hotel and that's what we are. Our aspiration is to focus on the core essentials and that your brief stay is an enjoyable and memorable one. Perhaps, we have done just that. On behalf of the team at The Grosvenor, we thank you... More

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed one night in standard room. Very comfy bed, great shower, friendly staff and the lift was pretty cool. The only thing that let the room down was the lighting, it was sufficient but quite dull. Would defiantly stay again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings CHORUS Thank you, thank you, thank you for your kind words. It meant the world to us. We take on board what you said about dull lighting in your room. We have revamped all the lighting on the top floor. It's so bright now that you may even need to wear shades in those rooms! LOL Anyhow, we are... More

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed for one night. The staff were great, but it is not a 4 star property. It is a very clean and simple 2 star property on the verge of some great looking renovations. Rooms were spacious and simple.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Rosie You are absolutely right. We are not a four stars property but only a three stars. Our goal is to ensure that we have the basics right and providing our guests with a home-away-from-home feeling through excellent customer service. Being in Timaru, we are limited in resources to bring The Grosvenor to the next level but one shall... More

Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Came down from Auckland and stayed for 5 nights on family business. Better value for money than the local motels and even than the Timaru camping ground cabins which is why I decided to stay there. The hotel's location is central and convenient as near the town's central business district and shopping centre as well as within walking distance of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Sir/Madam Thank you for bringing to our attention things that we need to rectify. We appreciate the time you spent in writing the review and it meant the world to us. We give you an undertaking that we will strive to be better. Do come again:) Faithfully, Ping LIM (The Proprietor) More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed one night in a standard double room. A nice, modern hotel with great staff. Our room was large, very clean and the bed was comfy. We ordered room service which was fast and was really good. The wifi is free but we had a poor signal in our room. Excellent location; in the town centre and 5 min... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings Katie Thank you for bringing to our attention the weak WiFi signal in the room that you have stayed. We have recently just upgraded our WiFi facility. We shall endeavour to have it rectified without further ado to enable future guests to enjoy the same privileges as you did. Do come again. Thank you for your kind words and... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 26 Cains Terrace, Timaru, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay