We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Townhouse Motel

29 - 31 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Townhouse Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Keith F Hamilton, New Zealand
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spacious room, well equipped, good value but some main some road noise from trucks. Unfortunately we had an indifferent welcome from a young duty receptionist who met us with a pained expression while getting out of a car before proceeding to the reception desk with an offhand attitude. Later, we were taken aback when this person banged loudly on our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa H, Manager at Townhouse Motel, responded to this review

I am very sorry you had my teenager deal with you that day she got a real good telling off i tell you As this is our business and only income she thought she was helping me (as i am injured) but that does not explain her treatment of you for that i am sorry It does get a upsetting... More 

Exeter, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Plenty of space to move around in the rooms, with a king-sized bed, well-fitted kitchen, spacious bathroom, and a verandah. All was clean and staff were helpful and welcoming. Slope to the units is a little steep, so take care in slippery weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Double Oak, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

We stayed one night here on our way to the Catlins. The motel is fine and very clean. Kitchen and bath were OK. The only real downside to the Townhouse is its daunting, very steep drive. Would not like to try to get up or down in bad weather. Staff was accommodating and very pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Breckenridge, Colorado
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Very large and good quality. King sized bed was comfy with crisp, clean sheets. Nice kitchen facility. Very nice staff. Helpful. The one big drawback about this place is the parking situation. Down a steep hill and you really need to be parked backed in so that you can get out easily

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Stayed in a studio unit which had been updated. Couldn't fault facilities, service, friendly advice. Would be my first choice of accommodation when next in Timaru, management extremely helpful when we were trying to locate a lost wallet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

WE booked this motel for Christmas day because of a last minute decision to visit family. The key factors were price and availability . We did not have great expectations but were peasannt ly surprisedRegistration on arrival was quick, pleasant and friendly. The premises are a little dated but clean and spacious. Our unit had a spacious kitchen a large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014 via mobile

A good pit stop if driving between Christchurch and down south or just visiting Timaru. Had a good nights sleep and the facilities and reception were very good. It needs a small update but a comfortable place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devon
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014 via mobile

Nothing wrong with the place but it could really do with updating. It is off the pace with many other places. Having said that, all the facilities you need and on the main drag. So if you do stay it won't be awful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights for an event in the area in apartment 1, very close to the road and noisy! Found the setup quite bizarre, on the ground floor, a bed under the open staircase and a room with two single beds, upstairs a double room, bathroom, kitchen, dining and another single bed popped behind the couch. Very dated, couches... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa H, Owner at Townhouse Motel, responded to this review

Hi the beds that are made are the ones with no personal belongings on them as we do not want to be blamed for missing items from a guest. I am sorry you didnt like the room layout but it suits alot of others. Not sure when you were here as some people dont put a real name or date... More 

Cleckheaton
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
45 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Stayed late October 2014. Our first motel in NZ and we were pleasantly suprised. Room spotless fully equipped kitchen fresh supply of milk everything you might need was there. We received a warm welcome and parked right outside our room which was handy for shifting the cases. We were given great info on restaurants and the main reason for staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa H, Owner at Townhouse Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review I am glad your wife got to see the penguins i remember telling her about them I wasn't to sure if they were there so I am happy she found them We are glad you both enjoyed your stay here hope you had the best trip around the South Island Cheers Lisa More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question