We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Timaru hotels

Townhouse Motel

29 - 31 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Townhouse Motel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Townhouse Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
HeidelbergSummer Breckenridge, Colorado
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Breckenridge, Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very large and good quality. King sized bed was comfy with crisp, clean sheets. Nice kitchen facility. Very nice staff. Helpful. The one big drawback about this place is the parking situation. Down a steep hill and you really need to be parked backed in so that you can get out easily

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in a studio unit which had been updated. Couldn't fault facilities, service, friendly advice. Would be my first choice of accommodation when next in Timaru, management extremely helpful when we were trying to locate a lost wallet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

WE booked this motel for Christmas day because of a last minute decision to visit family. The key factors were price and availability . We did not have great expectations but were peasannt ly surprisedRegistration on arrival was quick, pleasant and friendly. The premises are a little dated but clean and spacious. Our unit had a spacious kitchen a large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

A good pit stop if driving between Christchurch and down south or just visiting Timaru. Had a good nights sleep and the facilities and reception were very good. It needs a small update but a comfortable place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014 via mobile

Nothing wrong with the place but it could really do with updating. It is off the pace with many other places. Having said that, all the facilities you need and on the main drag. So if you do stay it won't be awful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights for an event in the area in apartment 1, very close to the road and noisy! Found the setup quite bizarre, on the ground floor, a bed under the open staircase and a room with two single beds, upstairs a double room, bathroom, kitchen, dining and another single bed popped behind the couch. Very dated, couches... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa H, Owner at Townhouse Motel, responded to this review

Hi the beds that are made are the ones with no personal belongings on them as we do not want to be blamed for missing items from a guest. I am sorry you didnt like the room layout but it suits alot of others. Not sure when you were here as some people dont put a real name or date... More 

Cleckheaton
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
45 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Stayed late October 2014. Our first motel in NZ and we were pleasantly suprised. Room spotless fully equipped kitchen fresh supply of milk everything you might need was there. We received a warm welcome and parked right outside our room which was handy for shifting the cases. We were given great info on restaurants and the main reason for staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa H, Owner at Townhouse Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review I am glad your wife got to see the penguins i remember telling her about them I wasn't to sure if they were there so I am happy she found them We are glad you both enjoyed your stay here hope you had the best trip around the South Island Cheers Lisa More 

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Stayed here on our way back to Christchurch, the owners were very friendly and our room was neat and tidy. Sofas were a bit old but our bed was nice and comfy. Great place to stay for families as we had a king size bed with a single bed next to it and two more singles in the bedroom (we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
52 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We stayed here for one night and received a friendly welcome from the owner the bed was comfortable and had an electric blanket and there was parking right outside our unit. The motel is not only close to town but also you can walk to the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kincumber, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here on our way back to Christchurch and were surprised by how neat, tidy and groovy our room was. The room was big and had a seperate kitchen. The motel is an older building but I found it added to the charm, a little like staying at nanna's. Our room was very quiet and I would highly recommend staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Townhouse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Motel

Address: 29 - 31 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Townhouse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay