We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers

42 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stopped in number 3, which on first appearance was a bit tired and shabby. But it has everything that you need, cooker, microwave, fridge and decent tv. Staff were great and procured a hair dryer on request. Not sure if the wifi is free or not, but it is a cheap hotel and beds were clean. Would I stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank colin1957
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

I stayed for 3 nights. Room was tidy and looked out over a balcony. Bathroom was clean and tidy but shower and toilet are in the same room separated by a sliding door. Staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming. Great location near restaurants, convenience store, supermarket and take away shops.

Helpful?
1 Thank Willow E
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

We stayed in more than a motel room for one night only while driving around the country. Staff were friendly, ( and sweet dog Buddy helps at reception). The room was as advertised. Yes it is budget and you get what you pay for, but I thought it was good value: very spacious, clean and tidy. I liked having a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DrDebTheTravelDoctor
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

A group of 8 of us rented the house for 9 nights and it was the worst accommodation I have ever booked. We travel all over NZ in June every year for the NZIB Federation Nationals and I have booked some amazing houses........but NOT this time. One bathroom shower has no curtain around it, it's in the bath, the 3rd... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sneech55

Travelers are raving about these Timaru hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

The hostel was ok. It reminded me more of a cheap motel than a hostel. I got a private room, for which I am very grateful. When I pulled in, several shifty looking patrons were wandering around the parking lot. The kitchen in my dorm area was small as was the bathroom. It was shared among men and women. As... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clarissa L
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015 via mobile

The room was very small and was more of a sleep out and had wallpaper missing from above the sink with just exposed gibboard! There were cracks in the walls and it felt dirty. Basically I just didnt feel safe staying here and so made other arrangements and left.

Helpful?
Thank Tina B
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

This motel is dated in need of a refurbishment. The pillows smell and the linen is old. The staff were very pleasant, but the property needs work. The property is on a very busy road near asset of traffic noise, get as far away from the road as you can.

Helpful?
Thank L2Js
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
251 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

they had moved me to room 10, which was an upgrade. studio room with kitchenette and ensuite, very nice size, on busy SH 1--main road through town. place was clean and the staff was very nice. definitely worth it

Helpful?
Thank ALtraveler64
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
192 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were looking for the best combination of cheapest place while still being a proper motel room, and this seems to be it. We stayed in room 2. It's a budget sort of place, no doubt, so don't expect things to be flash. If we paid more I'd call it 3 out of 5, but it doesn't pretend to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank glennomeister
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. I think you sum up our motel very well, we're not fancy but we're affordable, comfortable and friendly. I apologize for your mum finding dirt behind the bed, it was good that you wrote which room you stayed in because that allowed me to talk to the housekeeper... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
282 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The room was cold but at least it was clean the rooms are in need of some renovations but for the price you pay and to keep costs down this is what you get so don't come here expecting anything flash and you wont be disappointed. Its conveniently located to both supermarkets and Caroline bay as well as other shops... More 

Helpful?
Thank PatMacnz64
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Patrick. I think you have a very good understanding of what we provide: comfortable, clean, basic accommodation, good service in a good location at a very affordable price. Some guests seem to expect all the frills for bottom dollar. I'm sorry though that you felt your room was cold, next time please mention it to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#12 of 18 in Timaru
3.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
0.5 mi away
Timaru TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.8 mi away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay