We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Timaru hotels

Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers

2.5 of 5 Motel   |   42 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers to your Saves list
Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
40%
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014
glennomeister Wellington, New Zealand
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
135 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were looking for the best combination of cheapest place while still being a proper motel room, and this seems to be it. We stayed in room 2. It's a budget sort of place, no doubt, so don't expect things to be flash. If we paid more I'd call it 3 out of 5, but it doesn't pretend to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. I think you sum up our motel very well, we're not fancy but we're affordable, comfortable and friendly. I apologize for your mum finding dirt behind the bed, it was good that you wrote which room you stayed in because that allowed me to talk to the housekeeper... More

Mt. Cook Village, New Zealand
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
50 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The room was cold but at least it was clean the rooms are in need of some renovations but for the price you pay and to keep costs down this is what you get so don't come here expecting anything flash and you wont be disappointed. Its conveniently located to both supermarkets and Caroline bay as well as other shops... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Patrick. I think you have a very good understanding of what we provide: comfortable, clean, basic accommodation, good service in a good location at a very affordable price. Some guests seem to expect all the frills for bottom dollar. I'm sorry though that you felt your room was cold, next time please mention it to... More

Prague
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed one night in basic double unit costing $75. Owner said it was a very popular unit but we would not recommend it due to poor maintenance. The toilet and shower area were not clean and the skirting boards were rotting. There was no basin or mirror in shower/toilet area and nowhere to hang clothes in shower area. The dripping... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. You make a good point about renovating as we are indeed renovating our motel. You have chosen to stay in our cheapest and as of today, not yet renovated unit. For $24 more you could have stayed in a renovated large studio with super king bed. More

Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had room number 9, which is a family room about halfway down the building on the ground floor. We didn't hear much noise, except in the toilet area because it had windows that wouldn't close. It had a separate bedroom with 2 beds in addition to the two beds in the tv/sitting room. The room also had a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to say that the entire unit9 where you stayed has been repainted since your stay. We hope to see you back soon More

mold
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
41 hotel reviews
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

large comfortable room, spacious lounge and generous sized television small balcony overlooking the road which had to be said was noisy not the owners fault but as we are used to double or tiple glazing in the uk the single glazing let in the noise good bathroom has bedrooms? cant help feeling if they might not have shared us with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We booked only the day before so were pleased to get accommodation comparatively near the centre of town. Our private room was quite large with two windows and a well equipped kitchen corner. It had adequate en suite bathroom facilities and a huge comfortable bed. The room was up a flight of outside steps but we parked our car very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your time at the Anchor Motel. To answer your question 3 of our rooms are upstairs and 8 are on the ground floor. More

Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Will keep this brief. Was badly disappointed by this place. Was very noisy and motel looked like it was stuck in a time warp.It also seemed to have wall to wall hookers by the comings & goings in the unit next door. Would probably suit some travellers but not me. For 20 dollars more I've stayed in much better places.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. You say "I was expecting a 2 bedroom apartment but what I got was a motel room". I had another look at our advertising to see if it was misleading. The heading is "Anchor Motel" and the description "2 bedroom appartment" which is exactly what you got, a 2-bedroom apartment with bathroom,... More

Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

A great value and very clean. The hosts are very friendly and cheerful, and helpful when informing you what are the great place to see and eat at. The beds are comfortable and warm. It is in a great location when you dont have a vehicle. plus it is not far from caroline bay which is very memorable place to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Sonya, Thanks for the great review, we're glad you're enjoying yourself here. More

Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The room was very shabby! The room didn't even have a door to the bathroom, neither had the bathroom any sink to wash your hands. Obviously you don't expect a nice view for such price, however you certainly don't expect to look straight into trash bins either. There are other options in Timaru, we unfortunately chose the wrong option this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Vaganor, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at the Anchor Motel. You make a valid point, that having a curtain to separate the bathroom from the studio is not good enough, even if you stayed in our cheapest unit and we have now fitted a door. The rubbish bins are about 8 metres (24 feet) away from your... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We got there quite late (2am) but the hosts still entertained us without any issues. Slept very well in their comfortable and soft beds. Not the usual back packers. Definitely nice and clean. :) we couldn't have picked a better place. Paid a good price and will be back for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Wendy More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers

Address: 42 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Timaru with
any amenities