We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers

42 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    3
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
5
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A group of 8 of us rented the house for 9 nights and it was the worst accommodation I have ever booked. We travel all over NZ in June every year for the NZIB Federation Nationals and I have booked some amazing houses........but NOT this time. One bathroom shower has no curtain around it, it's in the bath, the 3rd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

The hostel was ok. It reminded me more of a cheap motel than a hostel. I got a private room, for which I am very grateful. When I pulled in, several shifty looking patrons were wandering around the parking lot. The kitchen in my dorm area was small as was the bathroom. It was shared among men and women. As... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Timaru hotels

Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The room was very small and was more of a sleep out and had wallpaper missing from above the sink with just exposed gibboard! There were cracks in the walls and it felt dirty. Basically I just didnt feel safe staying here and so made other arrangements and left.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

This motel is dated in need of a refurbishment. The pillows smell and the linen is old. The staff were very pleasant, but the property needs work. The property is on a very busy road near asset of traffic noise, get as far away from the road as you can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
157 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

they had moved me to room 10, which was an upgrade. studio room with kitchenette and ensuite, very nice size, on busy SH 1--main road through town. place was clean and the staff was very nice. definitely worth it

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
180 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were looking for the best combination of cheapest place while still being a proper motel room, and this seems to be it. We stayed in room 2. It's a budget sort of place, no doubt, so don't expect things to be flash. If we paid more I'd call it 3 out of 5, but it doesn't pretend to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. I think you sum up our motel very well, we're not fancy but we're affordable, comfortable and friendly. I apologize for your mum finding dirt behind the bed, it was good that you wrote which room you stayed in because that allowed me to talk to the housekeeper... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
245 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The room was cold but at least it was clean the rooms are in need of some renovations but for the price you pay and to keep costs down this is what you get so don't come here expecting anything flash and you wont be disappointed. Its conveniently located to both supermarkets and Caroline bay as well as other shops... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Patrick. I think you have a very good understanding of what we provide: comfortable, clean, basic accommodation, good service in a good location at a very affordable price. Some guests seem to expect all the frills for bottom dollar. I'm sorry though that you felt your room was cold, next time please mention it to... More 

Prague
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed one night in basic double unit costing $75. Owner said it was a very popular unit but we would not recommend it due to poor maintenance. The toilet and shower area were not clean and the skirting boards were rotting. There was no basin or mirror in shower/toilet area and nowhere to hang clothes in shower area. The dripping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. You make a good point about renovating as we are indeed renovating our motel. You have chosen to stay in our cheapest and as of today, not yet renovated unit. For $24 more you could have stayed in a renovated large studio with super king bed. More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had room number 9, which is a family room about halfway down the building on the ground floor. We didn't hear much noise, except in the toilet area because it had windows that wouldn't close. It had a separate bedroom with 2 beds in addition to the two beds in the tv/sitting room. The room also had a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to say that the entire unit9 where you stayed has been repainted since your stay. We hope to see you back soon More 

mold
Level Contributor
325 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

large comfortable room, spacious lounge and generous sized television small balcony overlooking the road which had to be said was noisy not the owners fault but as we are used to double or tiple glazing in the uk the single glazing let in the noise good bathroom has bedrooms? cant help feeling if they might not have shared us with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay