We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers

42 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    3
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
6
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in more than a motel room for one night only while driving around the country. Staff were friendly, ( and sweet dog Buddy helps at reception). The room was as advertised. Yes it is budget and you get what you pay for, but I thought it was good value: very spacious, clean and tidy. I liked having a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

A group of 8 of us rented the house for 9 nights and it was the worst accommodation I have ever booked. We travel all over NZ in June every year for the NZIB Federation Nationals and I have booked some amazing houses........but NOT this time. One bathroom shower has no curtain around it, it's in the bath, the 3rd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Timaru hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

The hostel was ok. It reminded me more of a cheap motel than a hostel. I got a private room, for which I am very grateful. When I pulled in, several shifty looking patrons were wandering around the parking lot. The kitchen in my dorm area was small as was the bathroom. It was shared among men and women. As... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The room was very small and was more of a sleep out and had wallpaper missing from above the sink with just exposed gibboard! There were cracks in the walls and it felt dirty. Basically I just didnt feel safe staying here and so made other arrangements and left.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

This motel is dated in need of a refurbishment. The pillows smell and the linen is old. The staff were very pleasant, but the property needs work. The property is on a very busy road near asset of traffic noise, get as far away from the road as you can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
236 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

they had moved me to room 10, which was an upgrade. studio room with kitchenette and ensuite, very nice size, on busy SH 1--main road through town. place was clean and the staff was very nice. definitely worth it

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
186 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were looking for the best combination of cheapest place while still being a proper motel room, and this seems to be it. We stayed in room 2. It's a budget sort of place, no doubt, so don't expect things to be flash. If we paid more I'd call it 3 out of 5, but it doesn't pretend to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. I think you sum up our motel very well, we're not fancy but we're affordable, comfortable and friendly. I apologize for your mum finding dirt behind the bed, it was good that you wrote which room you stayed in because that allowed me to talk to the housekeeper... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
270 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The room was cold but at least it was clean the rooms are in need of some renovations but for the price you pay and to keep costs down this is what you get so don't come here expecting anything flash and you wont be disappointed. Its conveniently located to both supermarkets and Caroline bay as well as other shops... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Patrick. I think you have a very good understanding of what we provide: comfortable, clean, basic accommodation, good service in a good location at a very affordable price. Some guests seem to expect all the frills for bottom dollar. I'm sorry though that you felt your room was cold, next time please mention it to... More 

Prague
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed one night in basic double unit costing $75. Owner said it was a very popular unit but we would not recommend it due to poor maintenance. The toilet and shower area were not clean and the skirting boards were rotting. There was no basin or mirror in shower/toilet area and nowhere to hang clothes in shower area. The dripping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. You make a good point about renovating as we are indeed renovating our motel. You have chosen to stay in our cheapest and as of today, not yet renovated unit. For $24 more you could have stayed in a renovated large studio with super king bed. More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had room number 9, which is a family room about halfway down the building on the ground floor. We didn't hear much noise, except in the toilet area because it had windows that wouldn't close. It had a separate bedroom with 2 beds in addition to the two beds in the tv/sitting room. The room also had a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yoan T, Owner at Anchor Motel & Timaru Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to say that the entire unit9 where you stayed has been repainted since your stay. We hope to see you back soon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#6 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Timaru TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
1.8 mi away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay