We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Ohakune hotels

The Peaks Motor Inn

3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr Mangawhero Tce & Shannon St, Ohakune, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Peaks Motor Inn to your Saves list
The Peaks Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
91%
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ohakune
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Gottgens Rotterdam
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    27
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
39
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall we really enjoyed staying here and would recommend it Things we liked - Very friendly staff - Good location (approx. 1 km from main (small) town centre and enroute to the skiing area) - Spacious appartment (1-bedroom) - Nice bathroom, with jacuzzi bath - Comfortable beds - Quiet location (we didn't have any noise from neighbours or road) -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review,glad you enjoyed the skiing and exploring the walks off Mountain Road on Mt Ruapehu. More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed here after checking out trip advisor reviews. Room was certainly clean & tidy on arrival. Shower was great! Heater in the room could not keep up with heating the room so it wasn't really very warm. Be aware the walls are quite thin & you an pretty much hear your neighbours conversation, also you get road noise if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Hope you find somewhere more suited to your liking on your next visit to Ohakune although most of the others are closer to State Highway 49 than we are. Everywhere, us included, will be quieter (and warmer) when it's not the height of the ski season i.e August/Sept. In response to your points raised, our heaters have 2 settings... More

auckland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here for one night on our way to Wellington-wanted to stay on return 4 days later but place booked out.Clean and warm with very good kitchen and great heater and electric blankets. Big enough for two persons but probabl;y a Family might want a larger room.Although close enough to the road there was no road noise.Comfortable bed ensured a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Yes, New Zealanders are starting to discover Ohakune. We heard many NZers say "This is the first time I've stopped in Ohakune" this last summer. So thanks for giving them (and us) your review,glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back here. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I have just returned from a ski trip to Ohakune staying at The Peaks It was perfect for our needs. The apartment was immaculate, warm, and very comfortable. Had everything we needed including a large spa bath for the aching body after a day on the mountain! A spare bed was provided for my son who joined us during our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for reviewing us: many departing guests have made similar comments but not written them down lately so thanks for making the effort. More

Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My twin and I stayed at the Peaks last week and really enjoyed the experience. The owner was really helpful and made our stay. The grounds at the Peaks are beautifully manicured and the accommodation very clean and had everything we could want. My sister's son joined us and the one bedroom was perfect for the three of us. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for an awesome review and we look forward to seeing you back over the winter. More

Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This apartment had everything, including a Spa Bathtub, but the heating was pathetically inadequate. The apartment was cold when we arrived and never really got up to a normal room temperature. We had to turn the heating off overnight, because it was too noisy to allow sleep. So then in the morning the temp was freezing again -- literally! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Most of our guests seem perfectly happy with the heaters but who knows? maybe they bring warmer clothing better suited to to this alpine climate. However to address your comments: Yes, this is a remote alpine town which provides challenges both with its winter climate and its electrical supply -meaning that just putting in bigger heaters is not really... More

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our stay at Peaks was enjoyable , comfy and relaxing ,It was great that Peaks could accommodate the six of us, with great value , in the school holidays , we would highly recommend Peaks to all family's ,the self contained rooms were spacious and extremely clean which made our stay pleasant due to our daughters eczema not breaking out.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks very much for your review. We're really glad you enjoyed your time here and got some good days in the snow. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A very friendly and informative lady greeted us. The peaks motel is a beautiful motel with a lovely outdoor spa and indoor spa options. Wonderful warm place. The kitchen facilities were very clean and so was the spacious bathroom. We loved the heated blankets! Would definitely recommend :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for the review, we appreciate you taking the time and would love to see you again sometime in the ski season. After the school holidays! More

Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Peaks is perfect if you are into hiking biking from your doorstep, and not to far to meander into town for a well deserved dinner after a days hiking . Ohakune has some breath taking walks not just up the mountain but just a few hundred meters up the road. Get up early and you have this nature paradise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, The Mountain Road walks,on this southern side of Mt Ruapehu have received much less promotion over the years and as a result are not well known. However travellers who enjoy getting off the beaten track are well rewarded for finding their way here. More

Melbourne Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Clean place but has its problems, heater is very noisy and cant sleep with it on. has electric blankets which get too hot to have them on overnight.this is at the entrance to the Tangariro National park and get very cold at night. the kettle didn't work properly due to a faulty switch, couldn't get the stove to work to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Sam, We are very disapointed that you did not enjoy your stay here at The Peaks. You seemed to experience a run of issues that have obviously upset your stay, however all of these could have been easily and quickly rectified had you brought them to our attention. The heaters all have 2 heat settings and are fan blowing,... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Peaks Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Peaks Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peaks Motor Inn

Address: Cnr Mangawhero Tce & Shannon St, Ohakune, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peaks Motor Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your The Peaks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ohakune with
any amenities