We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Ohakune hotels

The Peaks Motor Inn

3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr Mangawhero Tce & Shannon St, Ohakune, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Peaks Motor Inn to your Saves list
The Peaks Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
91%
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Ohakune
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Rez28 Perth, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (73)
  • Photos (33)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    26
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
37
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our stay at Peaks was enjoyable , comfy and relaxing ,It was great that Peaks could accommodate the six of us, with great value , in the school holidays , we would highly recommend Peaks to all family's ,the self contained rooms were spacious and extremely clean which made our stay pleasant due to our daughters eczema not breaking out.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks very much for your review. We're really glad you enjoyed your time here and got some good days in the snow. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very friendly and informative lady greeted us. The peaks motel is a beautiful motel with a lovely outdoor spa and indoor spa options. Wonderful warm place. The kitchen facilities were very clean and so was the spacious bathroom. We loved the heated blankets! Would definitely recommend :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for the review, we appreciate you taking the time and would love to see you again sometime in the ski season. After the school holidays! More

Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Peaks is perfect if you are into hiking biking from your doorstep, and not to far to meander into town for a well deserved dinner after a days hiking . Ohakune has some breath taking walks not just up the mountain but just a few hundred meters up the road. Get up early and you have this nature paradise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, The Mountain Road walks,on this southern side of Mt Ruapehu have received much less promotion over the years and as a result are not well known. However travellers who enjoy getting off the beaten track are well rewarded for finding their way here. More

Melbourne Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Clean place but has its problems, heater is very noisy and cant sleep with it on. has electric blankets which get too hot to have them on overnight.this is at the entrance to the Tangariro National park and get very cold at night. the kettle didn't work properly due to a faulty switch, couldn't get the stove to work to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Sam, We are very disapointed that you did not enjoy your stay here at The Peaks. You seemed to experience a run of issues that have obviously upset your stay, however all of these could have been easily and quickly rectified had you brought them to our attention. The heaters all have 2 heat settings and are fan blowing,... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here for one night only to visit the Tongariro National Park. It is definitely a great place to stay and very close to the park. The owners were really friendly and helpful with dinner and breakfast suggestions. The room was clean and quite big for the price that we payed. We even had a nice terrace and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much, hope to see you back for a longer stay so you can see and do more. From here you can do the Tongariro Crossing, the beautiful walks on Mountain Rd ( Mt Ruapehu), do short or multiday trips on the Whanganui River or enjoy the mountain bike trails. Or just sit around and eat! More

Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
103 hotel reviews
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Was recommended this motel by a local and can see why. Very warm welcome at reception, clean and nice sized rooms that are very quiet. A little too far from town to walk in for a meal but as a result is quiet and not near the truck filled main road. Great for business.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review. A lot of our guests appreciate the good night's sleep they get here and the peace and quiet - whether they're on business or pleasure. Hope to see you again sometime. More

East Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This trip was a weekend away with my family, 2 rooms were booked, The rooms were beautiful, clean and had every little thing you could ask for . After a long drive we booked in got a bite to eat and then had a good nights sleep before our trip to the Tongariro crossing our baths and showers were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much and hope your knee recovered ok. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We live in Auckland and were taking Oregon visitors around the No. Island, including a trip to the Bridge to Nowhere. This place had good ratings and after our two-night stay we can see why - it was very well-maintained, the rooms (we had two) were spotless and well-appointed (really great beds), the owners were interesting, congenial and helpful, there's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for this very nice review and we very much hope you do come back. Note: the pool in question is a spa pool so doesn't create much noise. In fact this is a great motel to run as guests are usually tired out from trekking,cycling,kayaking/canoeing,skiing,snowboarding,horse riding,sitting in the sauna....everyone's asleep before we are! More

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here on the 4 April, 2014, Staff very friendly and very helpful, even helped us to find somewhere to eat out, which was lovely. Room very clean. If ever I visit again, I would stay here. We were travelling from Wellington to Auckland, so we made a stopover. So glad we did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Yes, coming through Ohakune via Taumarunui and Te Kuiti takes an hour off the usual Akld- Wgtn trip via Taupo, and as there are heaps of places to eat at and stay in, Ohakune makes a good overnight stop. Look forward to seeing you again sometime! More

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I have stayed here many times over the past summer and would thouroughly recomend it to any other travellers. It has great amenities includeding a gym, suana, and spa and the owners are very accomodating, helpful and easy going. I think the setting would be even better during the winter time, as it's sits quietly at the bottom of Mt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for thinking of doing a review for us - very thoughtful! - and we were only too pleased to provide a base for you after the hundreds of miles you covered this summer. Enjoy your holiday. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Peaks Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Peaks Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peaks Motor Inn

Address: Cnr Mangawhero Tce & Shannon St, Ohakune, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peaks Motor Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Peaks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Peaks is the perfect base for visiting Mt Ruapehu summer or winter, with a great location on the main road to Turoa ski area, halfway between town and the Junction. The property features 23 Studio & 1-Bedroom Units, 2 Outdoor Spa Pools Sauna, Gym, Guest Laundry and a Drying room. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
23

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer