We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Station Lodge

4.0 of 5 60 Thames Street | The Junction, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Station Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Station Lodge
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    23
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
19
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (99)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars NEW

Spent 3 nights here. Rooms were clean and well presented. Walked the Tongariro Crossing and did some mountain biking, including the Old Coach Road. Owners were helpful and friendly. Cycle hire was very reasonable. They also have ski hire in the winter. I can't recommend this place enough. Peter

Was this review helpful? Yes
new zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ten sedate riders with an average age of 68+ arrived at Station Lodge and were warmly greeted. We had also hired the Mountain bike Station people to ferry us and our bikes to the start of various trips. Both jane and Darren were so helpful. Darren fixed a few small problems with our bikes and check our tyres. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a wonderful time last year, I decided to return simply because the Station Lodge had been such a great all-round experience! I arrived to a warm welcome from Jane and Darren and was shown an elegantly refurbished kitchen/lounges area to make my stay even more relaxing. After over 2 years on the road, I decided to stay a full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Erlangen, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice lodge. Super friendly staff. Best equiped hostel kitchen I had so far. Very comfortable and quiet during summer. Only two slight disadvandages were the location 2 km from the Ohakune centre and the rooms might have gotten crowded with 2x2 bunkbeds if the hostel would have been fully booked;-) Other than that a perfect spot to start exploring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kitkate21
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really well run hostel with a relaxing feel. I went here to do the Tongiriro Crossing and got the shuttle to and from the crossing from the hostel which they organised for me. The kitchen at this place was really lovely and a sociable one with plenty of space for people to cool and to sit. Was great to come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stationlodge, Owner at Station Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Kitkate21, We appreciate your kind words about the friendly customer service you received and the relaxed chilled feeling you felt whilst staying with us. We try to crate a warm and cosy feeling in the lodge that enhance the beautiful environment that we live in. The FREE town bikes are a great way to leisurely explorer beautiful Ohakune on... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wow! My 8yr old & I loved it here. The kitchen, dining room & lounge were more like a beautifully decorated cafe than a YHA. Soft music & polished natural wood everywhere. Deeply relaxing & friendly, I just didn't want to leave. And in the morning when I sat on the outdoor furniture on the verandah looking at one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stationlodge, Owner at Station Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Amanda, Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on our Lodge, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We continually look to improve our facilities, so we appreciate your comments regarding the reading light. There is plenty to do in and around Ohakune all year round, so we look forward to... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights at the Station Lodge in Ohakune and stayed in one of the two bedroom chalets. It was very clean and comfortable and perfect for us. The first day we were there we hired mountain bikes from Daryn (the owner) and he took us up to the start of the Old Coach Road track and we biked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The train goes by 12 times a night and is very loud We had requested a certain type of room and did not get it nor were we notified.The heat exchange did not work.The front door did not lock.The vacuum was broken

Was this review helpful? Yes
stationlodge, Owner at Station Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you didn't sleep well and that the trains disturbed you through the night. We have lived on site for over 6 years and never has there been 12 trains in a day; you would be lucky to get 8 in 24hrs, let alone all in one night. The room type that you where upgraded... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We Aussie girls stayed at Station Lodge for two nights in January...We had such a warm welcome from Angela who was running the office...Angela was so friendly and helpful with information about the local area...Where to eat, what to explore etc....Our shuttle bus to and from Tongariro Crossing track was organised for us by Angela.... Station Lodge is a lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stationlodge, Owner at Station Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with Station Lodge and for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your right Angela is very attentive to guest needs and always ensures they are enjoying their stay . There is plenty to do in and around... More 

Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Magnificient house and nicely decorated. Very clean. However, our double room was small beacuase of the bunk beds (and without table for our stuffs) and the kitchen is really too little (only one sink for 38 people!). The prices for the wifi are exaggerated. Don’t take the shuttle for the Tongariro Crossing here because it’s 45$ each and if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stationlodge, Owner at Station Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we really appreciate it :) The kitchen has just recently been renovated before Christmas and yes you are right we do need to add another sink, which is in the pipeline. I must point out though that it is our low season when you stayed, so I can't imagine it... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Station Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Lodge

Address: 60 Thames Street | The Junction, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Station Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Station Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay