We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1 Rata Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
LKNZ Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added LKNZ Lodge to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
A40 Napier, New Zealand
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
8
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Flash packers is the way to go. Grab One you are on to a winner here with these accommodation providers. Speed up and streamline the check in accuracy and clean up the recommended places to stay on Ohakune. Friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and travelled ownership. Value for money, beds perhaps a tad too hard for after Tongariro bones. Modern, clean, tidy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a two night break to walk the Tongariro crossing and stayed at LKNZ lodge. We were lucky enough to pick up a grab one voucher and I have to say it was excellent value for money. Clean, modern, comfortable and relaxed, and a well earned opportunity to relax our aching bones in the hot tub after our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our last trip to LKNZ at the turn of new year 2015 was a successful and economical as usual. During the stay I accidentally threw away some parts of my son's expensive Go-pro camera which were sitting in a bowl of rice after it got a soaking. We realised I had done this after we left and volunteered to come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the ensuite room. Great value for money. Breakfast was delicious too, staff were friendly great value for money and great location. We did the tongariro crossing and the staff org anise transfees and our takeaway breat fast also booked our dinner reservation the night before very friendly. Would definitely stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night in December. The staff was most welcoming and offered us great tips on hiking and local activities. The room with ensuite was a bit small, but enough for 4. The Mountain View from our balcony was stunning. The communal kitchen was good, with a large fridge and all the tools you need to make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Feilding, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great overnight transit stop on way home from summer break. Friendly staff and guests. Would be a perfect weekend lodging for winter skiing break as central heating and double glazing look like you will be warm and dry at end of each day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Modern property, tons of space, clean, nice and central, warm, and the staff were very helpful. Plenty of outdoor activities right on your doorstep e.g. Mountain biking, tongariro crossing and ski/snowboarding. Only negative would be the pillows were really hard.. possibly replace with softer ones..Highly recommend staying at LKNZ if you are planning a trip to Ohakune.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Recommend Highly!! Excellent Service received from all staff members!! We stayed 3 days. We had a special deal with mountain biking & room with bathroom & cooked breakfast for 2 days & dinner voucher of $40 & cocktails on arrival!! Loved everything!! We went for the snow & snowboarding on Mt Ruapehu!! We definitely will go back next snow season!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

The money you spend per night is for a dorm room not worth it. You will get terrible sleep because the matrasses are old and very uncomfortable. The room is very tiny to stay with four people in it. It is noisy on the evenings and some of the toilets and showers are outside. Very frizzing on this time of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LKNZLodge, Manager at LKNZ Lodge, responded to this review

This person had booked our lowest priced BUDGET Dorm $28. We do not lie about these rooms good for someone on a budget who just wants a bed for the night. We do have 4 lodges on site if they had payed $7 dollars more they could of stayed in our Flashpackers a nice new building central heating bathrooms right... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Being a budget backpacker, we always opt for guesthouse or dorm. But we were glad to hv bought the online coupon and stayed here for 2 nights (nzd220 for 2pax, inclusive of breakfast, transport, dining voucher and private room). We booked for 1st n 2nd nov 2013, and on our arrival night, it was close to 930pm. We had called... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to LKNZ Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LKNZ Lodge

Address: 1 Rata Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LKNZ Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your LKNZ Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay