We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   1 Rata Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
LKNZ Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added LKNZ Lodge to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014
OneAdventurousGirl
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
5
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (50)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Modern property, tons of space, clean, nice and central, warm, and the staff were very helpful. Plenty of outdoor activities right on your doorstep e.g. Mountain biking, tongariro crossing and ski/snowboarding. Only negative would be the pillows were really hard.. possibly replace with softer ones..Highly recommend staying at LKNZ if you are planning a trip to Ohakune.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Recommend Highly!! Excellent Service received from all staff members!! We stayed 3 days. We had a special deal with mountain biking & room with bathroom & cooked breakfast for 2 days & dinner voucher of $40 & cocktails on arrival!! Loved everything!! We went for the snow & snowboarding on Mt Ruapehu!! We definitely will go back next snow season!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

The money you spend per night is for a dorm room not worth it. You will get terrible sleep because the matrasses are old and very uncomfortable. The room is very tiny to stay with four people in it. It is noisy on the evenings and some of the toilets and showers are outside. Very frizzing on this time of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LKNZLodge, Manager at LKNZ Lodge, responded to this review

This person had booked our lowest priced BUDGET Dorm $28. We do not lie about these rooms good for someone on a budget who just wants a bed for the night. We do have 4 lodges on site if they had payed $7 dollars more they could of stayed in our Flashpackers a nice new building central heating bathrooms right... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Being a budget backpacker, we always opt for guesthouse or dorm. But we were glad to hv bought the online coupon and stayed here for 2 nights (nzd220 for 2pax, inclusive of breakfast, transport, dining voucher and private room). We booked for 1st n 2nd nov 2013, and on our arrival night, it was close to 930pm. We had called... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I was there for Mardi gras. Hostel located in the entrance of the city. Nice place, I think facilities clean usually but not really on the morning after the party, but we can't really blamed them ! Nice living room with a big tv, rooms small but comfortable. Staff nice and helpful. The bar/cafe is good, pretty cheap but don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Very nice, clean and comfortable place to stay. It's near to the National Park. The staff are also very friendly. I recommend the breakfast there: delicious and save you some time. Certainly will come back! Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I'm sure this place is buzzing in the winter with skiers (there is a bar onsite) but when we visited in autumn it was a really relaxed place that ticked all the boxes for our family. The 5 bedder was great, the bathroom massive, and with the downstairs kitchen/lounge area and another lounge on the first floor, we had everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Shore City, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I noticed the sign outside described the lodge as a "flashpackers." I would consider this a very accurate description. The accommodation was basic, but everything was modern, clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bar/cafe/lounge in the main lodge was a very warm environment with a fussball and pool table. I would recommend this place for people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay the lodge is very modern, and the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic, however the showers are amazing and just what is required after hiking Tongariro. I would be happy to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were very impressed with Amanda and Martin. They are full of energy and genuinely enjoy people. They were friendly and informative and their place runs smoothly with a nice relaxed vibe. The bikes were great and their food was delicious and very well priced. We were pleasantly surprised, as people in our fifties, to feel welcome and that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to LKNZ Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LKNZ Lodge

Address: 1 Rata Street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LKNZ Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your LKNZ Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
0:48
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay