We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain View Hotel

54A Cau May St., Sapa, Vietnam
Hotel amenities
Mountain View Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Sapa
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Dave T
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    8
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (29)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room (private double) we had was a good size and clean although there was an issue with the sink that caused all the water to flood out on to the floor. Good job it was a wet room! The downstairs is great to hang out, very social. The walking tours seemed very expensive, we decided not to bother and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This place has a lot of potential but some unfortunate room characteristics diminish it: Pros: -Great free breakfast and food to buy at their restaurant during the day -Really nice chill out area/ bar to meet people and hang out/ play games -Beautiful views when it's sunny -Staff try to give good service and encourage people to have fun -If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A good place to hang out at the lobby and meet some people if you are traveling alone-nice lobby,restaurant and bar. Although, i was very disappointed- first night was great, good view and nice room. Then went spending a night in a "homestay" but called to reserve the next night in mountain view. When i came back- got an awful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annemieke8, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gil P., We are sorry to hear you did not experience our hostel in a positive way. Unfortunately we only have a few rooms with spectacular views on the mountains, so we can not guarantee everyone will get a room with a view. We apologize if you feel like the staff did not help you in the best ability... More 

San Diego, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The lobby that you see in the pictures is nice, as is the bar and breakfast area. As far as I could tell these are the nicest areas in the entire building. Mountain View really is a hostel that wants to be a hotel, so set your expectations accordingly. I was originally given a basement-level room that was very dark,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annemieke8, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GreenRoom, We are sorry to hear you did not have a positive experience in our hostel. As we only opened up a couple of months ago (it used to be a Vietnamese Hotel), we can understand it looks like we are trying to be a hotel. However, on the contrary we are a fun, comfortable and relaxing hostel and... More 

Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Due to Vietnam holydays many hotels in Sapa were full and we have booked in "Mountain View". The name of the hotel is true, the view from the room was amazing but there were so many little things that were missing for this budget : wifi out of order, no towel, no hot water, light in the bathroom in stroboscope... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annemieke8, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brice, We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay at the Mountain View Hostel. Unfortunately, we do not offer towels in the rooms as we are a hostel. Towels are available at the reception. We will do our best to improve the quality of the WiFi and the hot water in the rooms. We find it unfortunate you... More 

Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very clean hostel. Probably because it's new. The room are nice and the bathrooms are luxurious. The view of the mountains in Sapa are breath-taking. The food is good too (nice breakfast). There's a chill vibe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annemieke8, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie, Thank you for staying with us and giving us positive feedback! Enjoy the rest of your holiday/travels in Vietnam. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a double room on one of the top floors and it was very nice- clean, quiet and with an amazing mountain view from our window. The location is superb, close to everything but still in a quiet corner, plus a great hotel restaurant and a cool atmosphere. Best thing- heated spacious rooms. Only bad thing- breakfast is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Annemieke8, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Moro, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. With our buffet breakfast including omelets, toast, pancakes, hash potato, fruit and coffee and tea we hope to please everyone. We will see if we can even give more variety in our breakfast so everyone will be able to enjoy it! Thank you for your comments, in... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

New manager! He bought the hotel and try to make a hostel. They don't have any dorms. The price for bed is 160.000 dong. I stayed in a room and shared it with a guy. Every room has their own bathroom and a heater. You have an amazing view over the valley and mountains. Every morning you get a massive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annemieke8, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ann-Kathrin, Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Enjoy the rest of your holiday/travels in Vietnam! More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

This hostel could be so much better than it currently is. It is fairly new, very clean and in a really handy location for exploring the town, but there are a few big things that are letting them down. I stayed for 3 days but it wasn't until the last morning that I managed to get any hot water at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annemieke8, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Craig, We are indeed a hostel that has just opened up and there are a few things we need to smooth out. We are sorry to hear that the hot water was not working properly during your stay and will do our best to fix this issue so everyone can enjoy a nice shower after a long day of... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

Disorganised, and needs some serious work. No hot water for a chunk of whilst we were there, staff seemed to have no idea as to why or when it may return - though one suggested it was plumbing work. If this was the case, we should have been informed in advance as we would have chosen to stay elsewhere. Hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annemieke8, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pentala, I am sorry to hear that you experience in our hostel did not live up to your expectations. We are indeed a hostel that just started up and we need to smooth out some things as any other new hostel. I would like to thank you for your comments, so we can improve the experience our customers have... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay