We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain View Hotel

54 Cau May St., Sapa, Vietnam
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sapa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Mountain View Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel is really cosy thanx to the mats & pillows to sit on and the fireplace. Which is the best cause it's quite cold in Sapa. The beds are super. I had some great night sleep here! And I loved the rain shower. The staff is great. Hanh does a really good job. She arranged a great breakfast for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MarijMeyer
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A good option in SaPa. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was en suite (I think all are). Both room and bathroom were clean, water was hot and there was a small heater in the room. The bar area is very sociable and has a fire and good happy hour deals. Breakfast was fine but nothing special, just... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank OliviaJ94
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is NOT sufficient for the winter in Sapa. It snows here, and there are huge gaps in the windows everywhere. There is a fireplace in the main common area that barely does anything, and my toes are frozen solid. Other than that it's a decent hostel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Artnot
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent 5nights in there.There was very nice hostel!Breakfast was very nice meals.(omelet,toast,free coffee&tea)The room also very clean&comfortable bed.The staffs were very kind!Thank you for everything!

Helpful?
Thank まいこ 松
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile

Had a wicked time here despite freezing cold weather over first couple of days. The staff are great - especially the manager Alex, who takes the motorbike tour (10/10) and is just a generally friendly and helpful guy. Beds were warm, omelettes and red wine were delicious and view was spectacular once the fog cleared.

Helpful?
1 Thank hgill93
alexVBHmanager, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate the feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us thanks to our breakfast omelettes, friendly staff and a good nights sleep. I'm sure you'll be pleased to know that we are developing an even better motorbike trip, thats takes in even... More 

stx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

The staff at Mountain View Hostel SaPa are what make this otherwise average facility stand out. Two native English speakers and a full complement of staff with varying degrees of bilingual skills, work hard and diligently to make every guest feel like a celebrity. One young man, Son Richards, stands out impressively. He is a bundle of energy and his... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sharo
alexVBHmanager, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate the feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed not only the atmosphere we try to create but also the warmth of fireplace. I am very pleased to hear that the staff were all so helpful and friendly... More 

England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile

The hostel itself is fairly new and the facilities show this. The room was great and the best shower I've had in a hostel! However, the staff really let the place down, especially compared to the other hostels in the chain. Several times I waited in the reception at the travel desk and reception and there were now staff to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshinee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015 via mobile

The hostel is quite cheap and you do have the breakfast included. The atmosphere is nice with a lot of backpackers. The staff can book your tour for a quite reasonable price and they are friendly. I would recommended this hostel for a day or two.

Helpful?
1 Thank Amélie B
Johann U, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Hey Amelie, I am glad you had a great stay with us, and enjoyed Sapa at our hostel and our tours. We hope you come to visit us again in the future and that the rest of the travels were safe and awesome. Cheers, Manager More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

Thanks for sending me to this place. It's true for Backpackers occupied. The room was ok, outside look new but inside is not. By chance to meet other guys had fun over here. Breakfast was medium, staff was ok but need to improve more experience on site of place. Anyway We just had 1 night here, nothing more special to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank travelinstyle j
Johann U, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Hey, I am glad to see you had a good stay with us, and would like to thank you for the feedback and the review. Hope the rest of your travels were awesome and we would love to see you in the future. Safe travels, Manager More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015 via mobile

This was one of the more doubtful places I have visited in Vietnam. Like the other hostels in the chain, the staff was great and very helpful. This place however had poor facility's... The aircondition in our room was broken, and the door to the balcony couldn't be unlocked, so our room was very damp through out all of our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicolai S
Johann U, General Manager at Mountain View Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nicolai, I am glad that you were able to enjoy the beauty of Sapa with us, and that the staff were helpful and accommodating. I would like to thank you about the feedback of some of the facilities in the hostel and pointing them out to us. We do not actually have any AC units in the building, as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#3 of 49 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Eden Hotel
Sapa Eden Hotel
#2 of 49 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Sapa Queen Hotel
Sapa Queen Hotel
#30 of 49 in Sapa
3.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Panorama Hotel
Sapa Panorama Hotel
#12 of 49 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Luxury Hotel
Sapa Luxury Hotel
#15 of 49 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities