We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Narrows Inn & Marina

2.5 of 5 4871 North Tongass Avenue, Ketchikan, AK 99901
Hotel website
Special Offer
Call for Best Rates
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Narrows Inn & Marina
Management photos View all
Narrows Inn & Marina
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    30
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
13
30
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there with my family, and there was a work crew staying the summer there, we couldn't sleep until 3:30 am.. We were so tired and the bed was horrible! The bed frame was broken, the phone didn't have a phone cord going to it, I had to use my cell phone to call the front desk. The light also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pamela T, Owner at Narrows Inn & Marina, responded to this review

I am so sorry you had such a bad time. By way of explanation, we have paving crews staying with us periodically. Paving in Ketchikan is subject to weather. When you have 13 feet of rain in a good year and 18 feet in a bad year, the pavers work as late as they can to take advantage of the... More 

Anchorage, AK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We had one night to stay in Ketchikan after an Inside Passage Cruise and this Inn provided everything we needed. The room was quiet and clean. The bed was comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. The on-site restaurant was convenient and continental breakfast very convenient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kasaan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Several years ago, I spent one night there, it was summer, and the sea planes started taking off very early in the a.m., VERY loudly! I was not pleased with how small the room was, either. I do hope all rooms aren't that small! Since I don't drive, I'm restricted to riding the bus, or getting free rides on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pamela T, Owner at Narrows Inn & Marina, responded to this review

Float planes are a major form of transportation in Southeast Alaska, as we have so many islands. They do start early taking the fishermen out to the lodges. They generally start about 5 am. Some certainly have louder engines then others. Count your blessings. Back in the days when there were logging camps, the planes started at 3am. I am... More 

Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The reception staff were rude and often found asleep at the desk. The owner abused us as soon as we arrived and entered the bar area. The food is disgraceful and the photos on the internet are nothing like the hotel in reality. Couldn't wait to leave!!!!! Would never recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pamela T, Owner at Narrows Inn & Marina, responded to this review

I do apologize. We had a number of personnel changes this spring. Many things slipped through the cracks. It was me sleeping. I get up at 4 am. I was probably filling in for one of my employees who couldn't make it to work. I have had brain surgery and heart restart. I do not have the energy I once... More 

Port Townsend, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The rooms are pretty average but clean and servicable. The food in the restaurant is very good and they are very accommodating. Breakfast is excellent. They have a shuttle that will take you anywhere you want to go. All in all a nice experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pamela T, Owner at Narrows Inn & Marina, responded to this review

We don't pretend to be anything particularly special and our prices reflect that. But we pride ourselves in exceptional cleanliness, accommodation with our van service, very good food, and a feel for Alaska you can't get in any other hotel in Ketchikan. Hope you will try us again if you come to Ketchikan. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I can't review this hotel like I would in the Lower 48. Alaska is different. While the outside of the hotel looks like it is someplace for fisherman only (not really pretty), it actually is a very good place to stay. We had flown all day to get to Ketchikan and were pretty tired. While the hotel is a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pamela T, Owner at Narrows Inn & Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and solid review. Alaska is a different place and one of our jobs is to make people understand why you would choose to live in a rain forest with 13 feet of rain in a good year and 18 feet of rain in a bad year. Winds in November can be 100 mph, (we... More 

Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The bed was a big saggy where (apparently) everyone who has ever rented the room has sat. Our room was a queen-twin 2-bed room and it was a tight fit, but adequate since we didn't spend much time indoors. Temperature was comfortable with a heater and thermostat, no AC, but the sliding door to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pamela T, Owner at Narrows Inn & Marina, responded to this review

I am sorry the bed was not to your liking. We have memory foam toppers on a majority of the beds. Most people love them, but perhaps you did not. My apologies. I am glad you liked the food, we work really hard to have extremely fresh seafood, homemade desserts, and fresh salads with enough variety for everyone's taste; and... More 

Lewistown, Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Nice comfortable bed, pleasant staff, seemed clean. I liked the fan in the room and the breakfast was enough. We didn't have any problems. I haven't stayed in another Ketchikan hotel so not sure of other options. They are all expensive!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pamela T, Owner at Narrows Inn & Marina, responded to this review

I am glad you had a good stay. Let me explain in short form why everything is expensive. We don't have cheap power, cheap construction, cheap labor, or cheap transportation (everything is brought in by barge or plane). The government has tried their darndest to close down anything that has to do with resource development (logging and mining), so that... More 

Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Tiny grungy rooms! Food and restaurant experience negative! This almost seems like a place that has outlived its life and is about to close! We tried it for its proximity to the water. Would sleep in the airport and eat from vending machines before this again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pamela T, Owner at Narrows Inn & Marina, responded to this review

I am shocked. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms. My housekeeping staff has been with me for 9 years. I do remember being extremely full around July 12, and something may have slipped. We had a couple of teens helping clean on busy days. So sorry. As for the van service, we did have new front desk... More 

San Leandro, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed there one night. Next time, we would pay a bit more and go for one of the other places in town. There was a VERY smelly chair (upholstered) in the room - I thought the terrible smell was coming in through the open window, then finally figured out it was embedded in the fabric of the chair I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pamela T, Owner at Narrows Inn & Marina, responded to this review

I am deeply sorry we disappointed you. At the height of the season we are too busy to do the deep cleaning, but we certainly should have done a better job on your room. My housekeepers are immaculate and have been with me for 9 and 12 years each. It is possible that one of the teens who come to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Narrows Inn & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narrows Inn & Marina

Address: 4871 North Tongass Avenue, Ketchikan, AK 99901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Narrows Inn & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Tingo so you can book your Narrows Inn & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narrows Hotel Ketchikan
Narrows Hotel Marina
Narrows Inn & Marina Ketchikan, Alaska

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Narrows Inn & Marina

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby