We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Edgewater Inn Restaurant & Marina

4871 North Tongass, Ketchikan, AK 99901 (Formerly Narrows Inn & Marina)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Edgewater Inn Restaurant & Marina
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ketchikan, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

We stayed 3 nights in August and were delighted with the room. They are small but tastefully decorated, bright, clean and comfortable. It is worth spending just a little more to have a water view. They do not have coffee in the room but you can get a cup in the office along with a tasty pastry. We did not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy E
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

This place is now under new management and is now called Edge Water Inn. the rooms are small, but I think for the price compared to other hotels in the area, makes it a reasonable stay. The onsite restaurant is closed in the middle of the day and was closed at breakfast, so I can't say much for that.

Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa A
Sitka, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

We needed a comfortable, quiet room that was close to town and the Narrows/Edgewater came through for us. The room was recently renovated and had a view of the Tongass Narrows...This lodge is owned by a long-time Ketchikan family that understands customer service. We will be back and will recommend to others.

Helpful?
Thank Rollo P
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Stayed there with my family, and there was a work crew staying the summer there, we couldn't sleep until 3:30 am.. We were so tired and the bed was horrible! The bed frame was broken, the phone didn't have a phone cord going to it, I had to use my cell phone to call the front desk. The light also... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Travelerfro
Pamela T, Owner at Edgewater Inn Restaurant & Marina, responded to this review

I am so sorry you had such a bad time. By way of explanation, we have paving crews staying with us periodically. Paving in Ketchikan is subject to weather. When you have 13 feet of rain in a good year and 18 feet in a bad year, the pavers work as late as they can to take advantage of the... More 

Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We had one night to stay in Ketchikan after an Inside Passage Cruise and this Inn provided everything we needed. The room was quiet and clean. The bed was comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. The on-site restaurant was convenient and continental breakfast very convenient.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
Kasaan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Several years ago, I spent one night there, it was summer, and the sea planes started taking off very early in the a.m., VERY loudly! I was not pleased with how small the room was, either. I do hope all rooms aren't that small! Since I don't drive, I'm restricted to riding the bus, or getting free rides on the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Super8KetchikanGuest
Pamela T, Owner at Edgewater Inn Restaurant & Marina, responded to this review

Float planes are a major form of transportation in Southeast Alaska, as we have so many islands. They do start early taking the fishermen out to the lodges. They generally start about 5 am. Some certainly have louder engines then others. Count your blessings. Back in the days when there were logging camps, the planes started at 3am. I am... More 

Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The reception staff were rude and often found asleep at the desk. The owner abused us as soon as we arrived and entered the bar area. The food is disgraceful and the photos on the internet are nothing like the hotel in reality. Couldn't wait to leave!!!!! Would never recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
Pamela T, Owner at Edgewater Inn Restaurant & Marina, responded to this review

I do apologize. We had a number of personnel changes this spring. Many things slipped through the cracks. It was me sleeping. I get up at 4 am. I was probably filling in for one of my employees who couldn't make it to work. I have had brain surgery and heart restart. I do not have the energy I once... More 

Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The rooms are pretty average but clean and servicable. The food in the restaurant is very good and they are very accommodating. Breakfast is excellent. They have a shuttle that will take you anywhere you want to go. All in all a nice experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank PTguy1953
Pamela T, Owner at Edgewater Inn Restaurant & Marina, responded to this review

We don't pretend to be anything particularly special and our prices reflect that. But we pride ourselves in exceptional cleanliness, accommodation with our van service, very good food, and a feel for Alaska you can't get in any other hotel in Ketchikan. Hope you will try us again if you come to Ketchikan. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I can't review this hotel like I would in the Lower 48. Alaska is different. While the outside of the hotel looks like it is someplace for fisherman only (not really pretty), it actually is a very good place to stay. We had flown all day to get to Ketchikan and were pretty tired. While the hotel is a little... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank simo640
Pamela T, Owner at Edgewater Inn Restaurant & Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and solid review. Alaska is a different place and one of our jobs is to make people understand why you would choose to live in a rain forest with 13 feet of rain in a good year and 18 feet of rain in a bad year. Winds in November can be 100 mph, (we... More 

Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The bed was a big saggy where (apparently) everyone who has ever rented the room has sat. Our room was a queen-twin 2-bed room and it was a tight fit, but adequate since we didn't spend much time indoors. Temperature was comfortable with a heater and thermostat, no AC, but the sliding door to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DontSayMyName
Pamela T, Owner at Edgewater Inn Restaurant & Marina, responded to this review

I am sorry the bed was not to your liking. We have memory foam toppers on a majority of the beds. Most people love them, but perhaps you did not. My apologies. I am glad you liked the food, we work really hard to have extremely fresh seafood, homemade desserts, and fresh salads with enough variety for everyone's taste; and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
3.7 mi away
Inn at Creek Street and New York Hotel
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel
3.6 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 9 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ketchikan
3.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
1.3 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#1 of 18 in Ketchikan
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
3.5 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 9 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay