We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Ketchikan hotels

Gilmore Hotel

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   326 Front Street, Ketchikan, AK 99901
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gilmore Hotel to your Saves list
Gilmore Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
48%
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Ketchikan
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
avi4 River Falls, Wisconsin
  • Overview
  • Reviews (83)
  • Photos (30)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    12
    22
    13
See reviews for
8
27
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kasaan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Since I love the downtown location, and the food at Annabelle's, I was a a long time customer of the Gilmore Hotel, up till the point I found the Super 8 to be a better deal, for the price. The cheapest rooms at the Gilmore have tiny shower / toilets, and are cramped, with a view of the neighboring buildings'... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
River Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Old hotel with lots of charm. Very friendly staff. It is right downtown so you have the convenience of walking anywhere. As expected, nthe rooms are on the small side but have everything needed. We had windows overlooking the main street adn harbor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Gilmore Hotel for 4 nites and it was great. Being an old hotel, it is not as perfect as the newer chain hotels but it's age gives it it's charm. The front desk bent over backwards for our needs and it is conveniently located in town. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. We also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the hotel for six days whilst I was going to the hospital and found the rooms to be comfortable and the service excellent. The staff were very understanding of my situation went out of there way to help me. I would recommend the hotel to anyone and will certainly be staying there again when I am in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calumet, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Where do I start? One double bed, which we knew going in, but just two tiny pillows and no room for suitcases. Useless bathroom. Nowhere to hang towels, bathroom fixtures that turn off as soon as you let go of them. One small glass shelf for accessories, no other place in bathroom for toiletries. Shelf mounted very closely over self-turning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheCottage
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Make no mistake this is not a chain hotel and there are pluses and minuses to that. We found it refreshingly different. It was clean, our room had a great view across the front and breakfast was OK. Only drawback was virtually non existent WiFi. Location and staff all good. Would stay again for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This isn't a bland, cookie cutter chain hotel, so people used to that type of place will probably be disappointed. We enjoyed the historic feel and fantastic location. Being an old hotel, some details are a little worn, but the helpful staff and reasonable rates offset that for us. You simply can't beat the location downtown, and it was great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Godfrey, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Pictures online made it look "charming" from the street, but this hotel is very worn out. Kind of stuffy, smelly, dirty and rough. Thought I could deal with one night but I checked out after 30 minutes. Not sure if they refunded the money or not but I did not care...I called the Best Western and was able to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The rooms are old but clean, front desk service is slow and not very friendly. The room was hot with no air conditioning. The hotel is attached to Annabelle's rstrnt, they provided a continental breakfast that was below average. If you need a place to sleep it's better than being outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Juneau, Alaska
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My Alaska Airlines flight to Juneau from Ketchikan / Seattle ended up going back to Ketchikan (the 630PM seattle flight) -- so I went on GoGo wireless to book a hotel for the night - the Super 8 and the Gilmore came up. I just briefly scrolled through the reviews thinking it would be OK, considering I'll be saving about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ketchikandeb2013, General Manager at Gilmore Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry for the troubles you had with the reservation you booked thru bookings.com, we were unaware of your reservation as all bookings.com reservations are sent to us by fax and the fax we received from bookings.com did not arrive until 8:35 am the day after your reservation. We have notified bookings.com of this matter and are working... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gilmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gilmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmore Hotel

Address: 326 Front Street, Ketchikan, AK 99901
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gilmore Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Gilmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmore Hotel Ketchikan, Alaska

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A deluxe property with Alaskan charm. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer