We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cape Fox Lodge

800 Venetia Way, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6561
Hotel amenities
Cape Fox Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ketchikan
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
rjcgmill Wrangell
Share an Experience

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    61
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
47
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Wrangell
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I always have a nice stay here. The restaurant is convenient and food excellent. Lovely atmosphere! Rooms are clean and laid out well. Easy to get to location. The price is generally competitive with other local hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at Cape Fox this week on business for 1 night. Had a 2nd floor corner room with king bed and mountain views. Also happened to catch Ketchikan on a sunny day. View from restaurant was gorgeous. Room had comfortable bed and modern coffee maker and I enjoyed good food (I had the seared ahi salad = yum) and beer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James M, Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Amber M, Congratulations on your pick of the week. Ketchikan has already had 43” of rain this year and you got one of our truly appreciated beautiful Sunny Days. Additionally, we thank you for your review of our Hotel and look forward to your next visit. JWM-GM-CFLKA More 

Anacortes WA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is a nice hotel. The staff is excellent. But, the elevator does not work. I should have asked for a 1st floor room. I did read earlier response, elevator will be repaired Also maids need to check microwaves. There was large FULL container of something brown left behind. Front desk Lindsey, was very nice, when I told her. She... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James M, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review

Dear SandyAnacortesWA Great news the engineers say the elevator is almost completely built and we are on target for install. Additionally, thank you for the kind comment about Lindsey I will make sure to acknowledge her at the next staff meeting. As to the room attendants you may be assured that issue has been properly addressed. JWM-GM-CFLKA More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

we got there and was told our room was on the third floor, but there are no elevators. We were going to be picking up a cruise so had five big bags we had to lug up a staircase that kept turning. There was no AC and even though it's Alaska I was warm in the summer and am not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James M, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MrsReef, Thank you for your comments they are truly appreciated for they tell us we obviously need to work on our signage as we do indeed have ice & vending machines on the floors. More good news we are spending over $160,000 to replace the elevator so our guests will not run into that problem ever again. Thank you... More 

Ketchikan, Alaska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

When I stayed at Cape Fox Lodge for the first time, I really enjoyed the friendly staff I am glad they motioned the elevator is being repaired. I can't believe the how great the food tasted the night I had dinner. It had been a long time since I had been in Ketchikan and when I mentioned that to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James M, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ohhhyea, Thank you for your gracious review of our Hotel. We truly appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to your return. JWM-GM More 

Ketchikan, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

The bathroom had mold everywhere in shower, no hot water just luke warm. I accidently left a few items and they somehow disappeared. The carpet dirty and the bed spread was very wrinkled. Ceiling had nasty orange stuff splattered on it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
James M, Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anontoo2015 Thank you for your comments. Regretfully however, after diligent research we have been able to confirm that you have accidently confused the location of your accommodations. We have verified this with TripAdvisor whose reputation is above reproach. We invite you to come and stay at the Cape Fox Lodge anytime to experience our property. JWM-GM More 

Machias, Washington, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I totally love this place. The Cape Fox Lodge sits on top of a hill, and has a beautiful panoramic view of Ketchikan Bay. The lobby is gorgeous and spectacular - -with wonderful plush leather seating, a fireplace, and wonderful native american art. It has that warm, cozy look that one might see in hotel lobbies at the turn of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James M, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anna F, Thank you for your gracious review of our Hotel. We get many people that love to sit in the lobby by the fireplace and watch the sunset. Our complimentary one of a kind “Funicular” is also a hit for guests that just want to run a fast errand and don’t want to have to drive all the... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

My wife and I were having some work done on our house and decided to stay the night at Cape Fox we checked in on Monday at 4pm and our room had amazing views of the water. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We dined in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast the next morning and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James M, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ketchifoodie, Thank you for your kind words about your stay at our Hotel. My staff is very proud of their property and go out of their way to accommodate our guests. We are equally pleased that you enjoyed the Restaurant; we get many great comments about the view and the food which sometimes compete for first place. We hope... More 

Wrangell, Alaska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

For the "nicest" hotel in Ketchikan I was not impressed. The rooms were somewhat clean but needed some minor detailing and could have been cleaner. Housekeeping didn't arrive till after 3pm which was somewhat inconvenient since we had been gone all day hoping to return to a clean room and end up just having to pass on service. Upon check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Donna F, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AlaskaChik Please accept my apology for the confusion regarding your stay. As you noted “being hugely involved in the industry” we do indeed have several new staff members at the hotel that are still in training. I am sorry you were not able to meet me as I personally could have fixed the problem but I did not arrive... More 

Kasaan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I usually stay at the Cape Fox in early November for a business meeting, but this time, the ele- vator was not working, the bar was closed for renovation, and there was no breakfast service this time of year! Luckily, there are restaurants close by, but it looks like the lodge didn't want the breakfast crowd, or maybe they couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Donna F, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Hedy E Thank you for your kind words and recognition of the great service from my staff, specifically the van driver, housekeeper and desk staff. I will be sure to recognize them at our next staff meeting. Looking at your reservation it looks like you passed the elevator repairman at the airport as he arrived to finish the repairs... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question