We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Ketchikan hotels

Cape Fox Lodge

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Venetia Way, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6561
Hotel amenities
Cape Fox Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Fox Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ketchikan
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Ohhhhyea Ketchikan, Alaska, United States
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    59
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
45
9
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (150)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Ketchikan, Alaska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When I stayed at Cape Fox Lodge for the first time, I really enjoyed the friendly staff I am glad they motioned the elevator is being repaired. I can't believe the how great the food tasted the night I had dinner. It had been a long time since I had been in Ketchikan and when I mentioned that to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ketchikan, Alaska
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The bathroom had mold everywhere in shower, no hot water just luke warm. I accidently left a few items and they somehow disappeared. The carpet dirty and the bed spread was very wrinkled. Ceiling had nasty orange stuff splattered on it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
James M, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anontoo2015 I am in receipt of your review, I am sorry you were not able to let anyone know about your concerns prior to your departure so we might have know what room you were in. I am very proud of how proactive my staff is at immediately handling these types of concerns and I assure you had they... More 

Machias, Washington, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I totally love this place. The Cape Fox Lodge sits on top of a hill, and has a beautiful panoramic view of Ketchikan Bay. The lobby is gorgeous and spectacular - -with wonderful plush leather seating, a fireplace, and wonderful native american art. It has that warm, cozy look that one might see in hotel lobbies at the turn of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James M, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anna F, Thank you for your gracious review of our Hotel. We get many people that love to sit in the lobby by the fireplace and watch the sunset. Our complimentary one of a kind “Funicular” is also a hit for guests that just want to run a fast errand and don’t want to have to drive all the... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

My wife and I were having some work done on our house and decided to stay the night at Cape Fox we checked in on Monday at 4pm and our room had amazing views of the water. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We dined in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast the next morning and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James M, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ketchifoodie, Thank you for your kind words about your stay at our Hotel. My staff is very proud of their property and go out of their way to accommodate our guests. We are equally pleased that you enjoyed the Restaurant; we get many great comments about the view and the food which sometimes compete for first place. We hope... More 

Petersburg, Alaska, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

For the "nicest" hotel in Ketchikan I was not impressed. The rooms were somewhat clean but needed some minor detailing and could have been cleaner. Housekeeping didn't arrive till after 3pm which was somewhat inconvenient since we had been gone all day hoping to return to a clean room and end up just having to pass on service. Upon check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Donna F, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AlaskaChik Please accept my apology for the confusion regarding your stay. As you noted “being hugely involved in the industry” we do indeed have several new staff members at the hotel that are still in training. I am sorry you were not able to meet me as I personally could have fixed the problem but I did not arrive... More 

Kasaan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I usually stay at the Cape Fox in early November for a business meeting, but this time, the ele- vator was not working, the bar was closed for renovation, and there was no breakfast service this time of year! Luckily, there are restaurants close by, but it looks like the lodge didn't want the breakfast crowd, or maybe they couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Donna F, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Hedy E Thank you for your kind words and recognition of the great service from my staff, specifically the van driver, housekeeper and desk staff. I will be sure to recognize them at our next staff meeting. Looking at your reservation it looks like you passed the elevator repairman at the airport as he arrived to finish the repairs... More 

Anchorage, Alaska, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Elevator broken, rooms deteriorating - windows old and moldy, no screens, they don't open, no shelves in the bathroom, no bathroom fans, furniture is beat up, the rooms are too hot and there is no way to adjust temperature. The restaurant has stopped serving breakfast during weekdays. Instead you get a meal in a box delivered to your room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Donna F, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Hedy E Thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention, I apologize for you seem to have caught us at a rather tenuous moment. You are correct the windows that do not open do not have screens and the exhaust fans in the bathrooms are built into the central air circulating system so they are virtually invisible. The... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014 via mobile

Would stay here again. Price is competitive and is in a much more appealing area than competitor hotels. Roughly a 10 minute walk from the cruise ship piers. Beautiful view of the river and mountains.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Donna F, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Brendan Thank you for your gracious comments, we agree as do most of our guests; our rooms are more appealing than our competitors and we are always competitively priced. Additionally, my staff will always go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We look forward to your next visit. JWM-GM More 

Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We decided to pamper ourselves after extremely long flights to Ketchikan and stayed at the Cape Fox. The building is beautiful with a comfortable lobby, views of the water, interesting historical artifacts and great totem poles. The transfers from the airport and to the Maritime Highway ferry Terminal were efficient. However there were problems that spoiled our stay and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Donna F, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Brendan Thank you for your detailed review and your kind words about our beautiful hotel and my attentive staff. I will be sure to recognize Kriska at our next staff meeting. Additionally, I appreciate your letting me know about your concerns as I cannot fix issues without knowing about them. The Cape Fox Lodge is located at the highest... More 

Eagle River, Alaska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We spent last Saturday night at the Cape Fox after a week McFarlands Floatel in Thorne Bay. Cape Fox sits on a hill high above Ketchican and has breathtaking views in the town docks, Tongass Narrows and the mountains beyond. Our room was large and clean. The hotel provided free shuttle service from the float plane dock when we arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Donna F, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jsk60 Thank you for your review of our Hotel, I could not have said it better myself. Your words paint just the sort of picture we hope all of our guests see when they visit us. We hope to see you again when next your travels bring you this way. We would be happy to hold a room for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Cape Fox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Fox Lodge

Address: 800 Venetia Way, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6561
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Fox Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cape Fox Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Fox Hotel Ketchikan
Cape Fox Lodge Ketchikan, Alaska

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay