We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driftwood Hotel

Hotel website
435 Willougby Ave., Juneau, AK 99801
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Driftwood Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great restaurants on facility. Free WiFi. Rooms have been updated and ate comfortable. It's not high end by any means but it's clean and comfortable though the walls are a bit thin. Also apparently someone had stolen the picture that was above my bed ...lol

Helpful?
Thank 11Tracy
McKinley Park, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

I traveled here for business and stayed for four nights. It was overall a pleasant stay. The room was pretty clean, however a few stray hairs in the bathroom and the dishes in the kitchenette weren't all that clean. Eh, I just washed them before using. The bed was very comfortable and I didn't have trouble sleeping. The walls do... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
amymc167, Manager at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carrie, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. It always helps us to hear about the things we have missed. I'm happy to hear that you had an overall pleasant stay. Thank you for choosing us for you stay in Juneau. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

The hotel room we had is poor in design, the furniture antiquated & the area was not particularly pleasant. The shuttle bus driver on the way there was very pleasant although far too much banter for us all at 4.30am. The cleaner was delightful & very helpful. She has a difficult task to make the rooms look good as everything... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank trvlrs2_12
amymc167, Manager at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I would like to apologize for the disappointing stay you had at our hotel. We have recently updated the shuttle schedule to prevent problems like this from happening again. This is certainly not the quality of service we expect from our staff. I sincerely hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Alaska. More 

Travelers are raving about these Juneau hotels

Yakima, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

we had a great time. John our shuttle driver was a big hit. especially with our grandson. his robert service poetry was great. and he made our trip from ferry and to airport most enjoyable. Thanks John

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David F
amymc167, Manager at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David, I will be sure to let John know that you enjoyed his driving and poetry. I hope the rest of your anniversary was enjoyable as the shuttle rides. More 

Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

I appreciated the airport shuttle and staff were all kind and helpful. As we chatted, the manager described some of their history/challenges. Things are on the upswing. The new bedding was quite nice and new towels were acceptable but rough. All furniture is terrible and I hope they can replace it soon, and there's tons of delayed maintenance. Rates were... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gardengatebnb
amymc167, Manager at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. Everyone at the hotel is working hard to constantly improve the quality of every guest's stay. We're all excited about the improvements we have made and those we plan to make in the future. More 

Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

The Driftwood Hotel was a pleasant place to stay albeit a bit spartan. It was not noisy when we were there and the beds were comfortable. It is located right next to a cafe--The Sandpiper--which serves great breakfasts and lunches. It is an easy walk to downtown locations. While we were there we walked all around the downtown and up... More 

Helpful?
Thank bewdjw
amymc167, Manager at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We always appreciate hearing about a guest's experience. I am happy to hear that it was an overall pleasant stay for you. We will have to look at our bathrooms to see if there is anything we can do about creating a place to hang towels. More 

Redlands, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

Easy access to town and everything you would need while on vacation. Bus transportation to the glacier was across the street. Tram was easy to get to and one could ride the trams more than once on the same day. Food was excellent at the restaurant at the top. Hotel shuttle picked us up at the ferry terminal and took... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mae41
amymc167, Manager at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mae41, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and will use your feedback to continue to improve the service we offer. More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

We changed our travel dates several times and this hotel did not charge change fees, which was much appreciated. I originally booked another hotel through a website that indicated no change fees, but when I received my confirmation there was a notice that there would be a fee for cancellations or changes. Luckily, the website did not charge us but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kokicmp
Driftwood H, Manager at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us. We try to be as flexible as possible when our guests change their travel schedules as this is a common occurrence when traveling in Southeast Alaska. I'm very happy to hear we were able to meet your needs. More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

We chose the Driftwood Hotel because it stands apart from the noisy seaplane docks and the other bustle of the downtown area which accompanies days when cruise ship passengers throng the streets. Juneau is small enough, however, that we could easily walk wherever we needed to go for food and shopping and sightseeing. And although the Driftwood is styled as... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael K
Driftwood H, Manager at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael, We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you were able to see the aurora on one of it's more amazing days. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Juneau as well. More 

Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015

Motel set up for long stay. Had stove, fridge, microwave & coffee pot. Free coffee & tea bags. Plates, silverware & cooking utensils in cabinet. Large rooms. Had 2 qn beds in separate rooms.Don't know about other rooms but our room had handicap bathroom. No place in bathroom to hang towels or clothes. The closets had racks that could hang... More 

Helpful?
Thank dragon428
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Juneau hotels
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed
0.3 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#9 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#5 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#8 of 16 in Juneau
3.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
#10 of 16 in Juneau
3.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay