We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whalesong Bed and Breakfast

4002 Kachemack Way, Homer, AK 99603
Hotel amenities
Whalesong Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #30 of 44 Homer B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015
Danielle055 Garmisch
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (9)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Garmisch
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

The ads do not do this place justice. They promise a cozy little B&B, however, my room was cold, the flannel sheets with covered with nubs, and the simple cotton curtains could not block out the light, Breakfast was a muffin fresh from the freezer, granola and yogurt. Booking that room was an expensive mistake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

The website is so lovely, and months ago, my sister booked the whole guest area for our party of three. We confirmed mid-summer. On the day of reservation, we could not reach the owner by phone to advise we would arrive early evening, so left two messages. When we arrived , we roused the owner upstairs who greeted us by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CaroleAxeHamik, Owner at Whalesong Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I am so sorry to have overbooked the rooms! It was an extremely busy summer for the bed and breakfast, the likes of which I haven't seen in almost twenty years of doing business, and I feel terrible that I made that mistake with the booking. Luckily I have since created a streamlined, organized system that will help prevent that... More 

Wasilla, AK
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights, and were quite comfortable. Our hostess was charming and knowledgeable, assisting with all our needs. Her husband, was gone commercially fishing, but left his mark throughout the B&B with artistic and well made woodwork. The rate, at the height of Halibut season, was better than the name brand motels/hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Hostess charms by phone and does not deliver. Once in her heyday place was probably great in the 70's she hasn't changed the decor bedding or carpet since. A nightmare for those allergic to dust, mold or drapes. Never use a Murphy bed that hadn't been cleaned or pulled out for god knows how long. No home cooked eggs or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CaroleAxeHamik, Owner at Whalesong Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay was not to your expectations. I thought that you would be a no-show as you had not phoned regarding your late arrival and did not show up until 11:30pm. Once you arrived I followed you to your accommodations to verify that you would be comfortable. The murphy bed that you mentioned in your review... More 

Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Whalesong Bed and Breakfast. It's located just off Pioneer Ave., a main throughfare; shops and restaurants are within walking distance, though the Spit would be a bit far. The owner, Carole, is an excellent hostess. She had recommendations for restaurants (for lunch and dinner), things to do, places to visit, and scenic spots.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We traveled to Homer at the suggestion of our adult daughter, who joined us at the Whalesong B&B, which I had found - online. This was her 3rd visit to Homer, our 1st. During her previous 2 visits - she & friends had camped out on the "Spit." The town is first rate - well worth the trip - off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Seward, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We are always looking for comfortable homey lodging in Homer for a reasonable price...we travel here often for birding. The Whalesong checks the boxes for us. The owner and hostess, Carole, is fun and friendly. The location is great...quiet, easy to find and close to the Homer amenities. The Whalesong has lots of charater with hand crafted woodwork adding a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Whalesong B&B is a spectacular gem hidden smack dab in the middle of downtown, which made everything we wanted to see and do accessible with a quick walk...not that we had any reason to leave! Carole and Jack are gracious, knowledgeable and witty, and the thirty-five years they've called Homer home has made them resident experts on the area. Jack... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Perry, Georgia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our experience at Whalesong B & B was wonderful! From the intial greeting by Carole, our gracious hostess, to the attention to detail provided for our comfort in the wonderfully appointed bedroom, very comfortable bed, and wonderful breakfasts, we couldn't have asked for a more pleasant stay. Each restaurant Carole recommended was excellent, as were her recommendations for what to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities