We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa

4.5 of 5
Hotel website
| Akitua Private Island, Cook Islands
Special Price
Super Flash Sale 40% Off!
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

590 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Beautiful island setting with comfortable bungalows. Breakfast was included and dinner was expensive. Food offering and service was just okay. The water is stunning but the snorkelling isn't very good off the beach. **Would recommend visiting the Yasawa Islands in Fiji if you are looking for a similar experience. Better value, very hospitable service and great snorkelling.

Helpful?
Thank Balance_bound
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The location is perfect on its own private island and facing the famous Aitutaki lagoon. We spent our first day around the resort and taking photos; that was how beautiful its location is! I was a little bit wary at first when booking the resort due to the negative reviews here in Trip Advisor but I booked anyways just for... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank xiaotianshi
Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I spent our 30th Anniversary at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort and Spa. This place was all we could have wished for and more. It was truly heaven on earth. We were greeted at Aitutaki airport by a lovely staff member and presented with beautiful flower lei’s and fresh coconut drinks in coconut shells. It only took minutes from... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Tania I
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for about a week during our honey moon. It's probably the closest we've ever been to paradise! So relaxing, beautiful and just amazing! At the time we were there the place was almost empty. It was just us and another couple. So we were the only ones doing all the activities the hotell offered each day. :)... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mikrut
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

friendly polynesian people welcome you to show you your room overlooking the lagoon changing colours every hour from blue to green to turqois from sunrise up to your sunset dinner sitting right at the white sand beach listening to the polynesian ukulele and the singing.

Helpful?
Thank wolfgang l
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently travelled here for a special holiday, and while we had been looking forward to staying here based on recommendations of work colleagues and Getaway presenters, the place would have been just ok if they charged half the price. It's just not close to a 5 star resort anymore. I got the impression that in its heyday it was... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank Tenterfield_123
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

Came here to relax for a few days. The beach bungalow was spacious, clean with the great feature of an outside shower. The view of the beach and lagoon is absolutely breathtaking and makes for fantastic memories. Being located on an island just 10mins off the airport the hotel offers all sorts of beach activities (e.g. kayaks, paddle boards, snorkelling... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 111citizen111
cookieabroad, Owner at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana - thank you for your review. The combination of a being a small isolated country in a very large ocean and there is only one monopoly telecommunications company in the Cook Islands means that WIFI and all telecommunications costs (indeed just about all costs) are significantly higher than in a larger country. However, we do offer the best,... More 

Mallacoota, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

Having stayed at the Pacific Resort several years ago we decided to stay here for the beautiful lagoon view. The lagoon was beautiful but the rest of it was pretty disappointing. Our room was good but the quality of the bed linen was terrible sheets very thin and with pilling on them. The breakfast was disappointing and when we asked... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank luvtoski60
cookieabroad, Owner at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana - thank you for your review. I am concerned that you may be confusing us with another resort as we offer a five course degustation breakfast that highlights the fresh bounty of the island. We do not offer a buffet for breakfast. Further, we have a duty manager from 7am to 10pm at night who would have been... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

We stayed for a week in mid November. We were greeted at the airport and given fresh coconuts and leis and then driven directly to the resort - via a quick ferry trip. The reception area did look a bit grubby but the staff were fantastic. We were greeted by name almost everywhere we went, we never had a problem... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Conscot63
cookieabroad, Owner at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana - thank you for your wonderful review. We were surprised by your comment about the reception area and so have given the area a spring clean so we hope that you will like it when you return. We look forward to welcoming you back to Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa! More 

San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

The hotel provided fresh coconut for each of us on arrival and promptly transported us to the hotel. We checked into a premium beach bungalow (#22) and were not happy to find ants/bugs all over the bed. They upgraded us to a deluxe beach bungalow a few doors down (#27), but we had to wait a few hours for housekeeping... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank queenieduong
cookieabroad, Owner at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Kia Orana - thank you for your comprehensive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your fresh coconut on arrival, spacious bungalow, wide range of activities and the amazing view! We have undertaken some refresher training with staff to improve the speed of service. As a tropical private island resort we undertake a wide range of measures to keep insects... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

697 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (645)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (98)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (79)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from room (68)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (260)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aitutaki
2.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#6 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradise Cove Lodges
Paradise Cove Lodges
#1 of 6 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay