We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa 69

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
69 calle 25bis | Barrio California, San Jose, Costa Rica
Casa 69
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 56 San Jose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
grace4865 Wausau, Wisconsin
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    106
    29
    14
    14
See reviews for
45
224
84
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (467)
  • Mar-May only
    (146)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
Wausau, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Casa 69 was a very nice hotel, the staff were VERY nice and attentive and Donna was a gracious host. The room was nicely decorated and comfortable. The one thing I would recommend is that you DON'T stay in room 1 or I would imagine room 2 also. The noise from the bar next door was CRAZY. Ask for one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 4 days at Casa 69 and enjoyed it very much. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated, the staff very helpful, but the best part was the rooftop patio. We had a coffee each afternoon on the patio and took in the views of the mountains. Alma and Memo spoke very good English, and one of them were always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived at Casa 69 in the evening, and unfortunately, our reservation could not be found. As we were not familiar with the surrounding area, this left both my wife and I quite uncomfortable. It took a bit of time and negotiating before we were able to secure a room at a respectable hotel nearby. While Casa 69 did pay for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Casa69, Owner at Casa 69, responded to this review

What negotiations? We owned up to our error. One of the two reservations was cancelled by your party & we mistakenly thought it was both. We sent you by taxi five minutes away to another luxury hotel which is a considerable upgrade & twice the price. Everything was paid by us. I am not aware of ANY negotiations taking place... More 

Esterillos Este, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

I'll preface this review by emphasizing that the majority of reviews I write on tripadvisor, Amazon, Facebook... are positive reviews. Casa 69, unfortunately, does not qualify for such a review. Cats cats cats where everywhere. While we tried to sleep, cats in the hotel fought and performed other various acts at high decibel levels. My wife, unfortunately, left her toiletry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Casa69, Owner at Casa 69, responded to this review

I do not understand why you returned to Casa 69 if you had such a terrible experience. We have had people misplace things and blame it us on a number of occasions. Once we had someone forget their GPS on the dining room table and put a review on Trip Advisor stating we went into their luggage while they went... More 

stuje1
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Pros: -Reasonably priced for Costa Rica -Very nice view of city from roof -Pretty good location about a 10-15 minute walk from main part of town -Room is pretty nice, with cable TV (with english channels) Cons: -They did not have our reservation, despite booking and paying on hotels.com. Had to use their computer and print our confirmation. Not huge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015 via mobile

Incompetent individuals, lack of customer services, failure to met guest demands. We booked and paid for our stay. We're in communications before booking about our early arrival and need for shuttle pick up. Of course no room or bus pick up. And even though they had our flight info and email. There is much to be said about these two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Casa69, Owner at Casa 69, responded to this review

It is a sad day when someone blames everyone else for their mistakes. Your booking came in very clear - check in Feb 11 and check out Feb 12. Check in is after 12 noon so we were expecting you after noon on Feb 11. You continued to correspond with us always mentioning your arrival on the 11th. You did... More 

Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

This small out of the way Boutique type Bed and Breakfast Hotel is tucked away on a quite side Street and it was the very las room available at a very reasonable price due to my Partner knowing the ex-owner so it was not only a reasonably priced Hotel but right outside the wall to wall sliding door was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We stayed here in January 2015. It was a delight. Easy walking distance to the heart of the city. I was surprised that I enjoyed San Jose so much. Great museums, galleries, theaters, and food. We stayed in Room 2 on the ground floor, which was very quiet. Walking around the hotel was a series of delightful surprises: cozy fireplace,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

My friend and I arrived to Costa Rica with no real plan for what we were going to do. When we got to Calle 69, we were made aware that all of the beaches were far from the capital and if we wanted we could book something closer to our destination. Problem was we didn't know what we wanted to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We stayed at Casa 69 for three days on a Dec 2014 trip to San Jose. It is located at the east end of downtown San Jose and is walking distance to the main areas on Avenida Central. While we didn't like the city much, this was a lovely place to stay. The staff was helpful in offering suggestions about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

195 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (165)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question