We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 51 San Jose accommodations

Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel

Ave. 5, Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636 | near Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, San Jose, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Kara K Esterillos Oeste, Costa Rica
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    26
    18
    12
    5
See reviews for
1
29
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (90)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Esterillos Oeste, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you must stay in San Jose and are on a budget consider Gaudy's. The staff are friendly, kind and helpful and the facilities are clean and comfortable. Good location near a park and walking distance to museums and shopping plaza. Various room options from dorm to private room and bath. Bring a bath towel and a lock to keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Numansdorp, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Real Gaudy's style and atmosphere. Friendly personnel. Reasonable pricing. Cleanliness under furniture disputable. Bedlinnen ok. Good arrangements for airport shuttle. Nice nabourhood. Park within walking distance. Museum and sportfacilities in the park

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014 via mobile

Thanks to the staff for a perfect stay, we had a wonderful time at Gaudys, very clean, well located, spacious just good vibes! Andres and Fernando gave us all the information we needed to keep going on our costarican trip, thank you guys!!! We will definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We came to Costa Rica and had a bad experience with the taxi drivers, who fooled us. Then we came to gaudy's hostel and we finally got a good and kind experience. The guy there, Andres, helped us with everything! He was so kind. Helped us with flights, activities in the city, transportation and just wanted us to have fun... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

The hostel facilities are good, nice lounge and chill areas, computers to use and small kitchen. However, the staff were rude and unfriendly and the dorms were noisy and dirty. When we checked in the man at the desk tried to over charge us as we had already paid a deposit on hostel world and it was only when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andres G, Gerente at Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Rude? it is all that because you and your girlfriend wanted to stay hanging out in the hostel until midnight without paying? you seemed to be very happy with the staff, breakfast and your stay in general until we asked you to pay for staying here as you were leaving at midnight, we think it is more than obvious that... More 

San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We decided to stay once again at gaudys as our previous stay had been rather enjoyable due to Johnny's character. However on arrival we were greeted by a rude man who seemed only interested in our money. We had a bus departing at 3 am the filling morning therefore wanted to hang around the hostel during the day/evening but were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andres G, Gerente at Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hey, first of all, i wasn't her at your arrival i saw you at 8:00 AM in the morning when you desperate woke up to check if there was breakfast left, so you say that all what we wanted was your money, come on! you wanted to stay here in the hostel with 2 more girls until 3:00 am in... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Gaudy's has pretty much the best location for a hostel, it's much closer to many of the bus terminals and also closer to the airport. The hostel itself is nice, there are a lot of rooms, lots of space, multiple areas to hang out if you want to be around people or more secluded. Three computers, which is nice. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

CONS -BIGGEST NEGATIVE IS A STAFFER NAMED ANDRES (or ANDREAS, I've heard both). He is COLD, NOT PERSONABLE, NEVER SMILES, AND IMPATIENT with me when I first checked in and asked about a cheaper room than initially offered. He is NEITHER FRIENDLY NOR HELPFUL. He pestered me for a favorable review on Tripadvisor over and over, as if I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Andres G, Gerente at Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

It is a shame that after sending to tripadvisor all that proves that this review is fake they decided to keep it online. The person (john shen) who wrote this review was kicked out of our hostel because of alcohol problems and misbehavior, he stayed here for a couple of days and seemed to be a nice person but as... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hostel was quiet but traffic outside our window was VERY loud. Didn't get much sleep because of the noise. A leak in our bathroom left a big puddle in the middle of the floor at all times. Lots of common areas, good breakfast, close to several bus stations. Grocery store and several fast food places nearby but not much else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I stayed here for one night. It's a little hard to find if you're walking there, but it's in a good location. You can go eat dinner at night fairly easily. I stayed in the dormitory upstairs, which have a bunch of bunkbeds. The only downside is there's 1 bathroom for 9 people on the top floor. It wasn't a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel

Address: Ave. 5, Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636 | near Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaudy`s Backpacker Hotel San Jose
Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel Costa Rica/San Jose

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay