We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 56 San Jose accommodations

Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel

Ave. 5, Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636 | near Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, San Jose, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel to your Saves list
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Terence M
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    28
    23
    13
    5
See reviews for
1
33
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (99)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here overnight on a layover in San Jose. It's exactly what you would expect, good staff and location is ok. The rooms could do with being a bit cleaner, but the help from the staff (including airport transfer) was excellent. They also helped us locate a police station as my wife's phone had been stolen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wasn't so thrilled with Gaudy's. The location of the hostel is good - supermarkets, banks and the street with fast food chains are all within walking distance. The hostel is OK, but I was dissappointed with the room. No soap, it wasn't clean and the staff wasn't that friendly. All in all, compared to other places, this is an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

The good side is really that the hostel is perfectly clean. However, we didn't feel welcome at all when we arrived as the owner directly ask us to pay without saying anything else and without showing us the room before. During our stay, we felt that the communication wasn't so easy with the tenant couple. Unless you want to reserve... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Girlfriend and I stayed in the Balcony Private Room. The latch on the balcony door was a bent over nail, not super secure. The Wi-Fi only reached the room sporadically. There are 2 single beds and a futon in what appears to be an open area where we sat to get reception on wifi because the other common space was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

A group of us came here for a world challenge expedition and loved it. In such a convenient location. Very very helpful staff, made phone calls in Spanish for us and have recommendations and tips, safe rooms, Would 100% recommend this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Esterillos Oeste, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

If you must stay in San Jose and are on a budget consider Gaudy's. The staff are friendly, kind and helpful and the facilities are clean and comfortable. Good location near a park and walking distance to museums and shopping plaza. Various room options from dorm to private room and bath. Bring a bath towel and a lock to keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Numansdorp, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Real Gaudy's style and atmosphere. Friendly personnel. Reasonable pricing. Cleanliness under furniture disputable. Bedlinnen ok. Good arrangements for airport shuttle. Nice nabourhood. Park within walking distance. Museum and sportfacilities in the park

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Thanks to the staff for a perfect stay, we had a wonderful time at Gaudys, very clean, well located, spacious just good vibes! Andres and Fernando gave us all the information we needed to keep going on our costarican trip, thank you guys!!! We will definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We came to Costa Rica and had a bad experience with the taxi drivers, who fooled us. Then we came to gaudy's hostel and we finally got a good and kind experience. The guy there, Andres, helped us with everything! He was so kind. Helped us with flights, activities in the city, transportation and just wanted us to have fun... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

The hostel facilities are good, nice lounge and chill areas, computers to use and small kitchen. However, the staff were rude and unfriendly and the dorms were noisy and dirty. When we checked in the man at the desk tried to over charge us as we had already paid a deposit on hostel world and it was only when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andres G, Gerente at Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Rude? it is all that because you and your girlfriend wanted to stay hanging out in the hostel until midnight without paying? you seemed to be very happy with the staff, breakfast and your stay in general until we asked you to pay for staying here as you were leaving at midnight, we think it is more than obvious that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel

Address: Ave. 5, Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636 | near Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaudy`s Backpacker Hotel San Jose
Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel Costa Rica/San Jose

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay