We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 San Jose accommodations

Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel

Ave. 5, Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636 | near Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, San Jose, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel to your Saves list
Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
60%
A recent review
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    25
    18
    12
    5
See reviews for
1
28
24
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel facilities are good, nice lounge and chill areas, computers to use and small kitchen. However, the staff were rude and unfriendly and the dorms were noisy and dirty. When we checked in the man at the desk tried to over charge us as we had already paid a deposit on hostel world and it was only when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andres G, Gerente at Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Rude? it is all that because you and your girlfriend wanted to stay hanging out in the hostel until midnight without paying? you seemed to be very happy with the staff, breakfast and your stay in general until we asked you to pay for staying here as you were leaving at midnight, we think it is more than obvious that... More

San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided to stay once again at gaudys as our previous stay had been rather enjoyable due to Johnny's character. However on arrival we were greeted by a rude man who seemed only interested in our money. We had a bus departing at 3 am the filling morning therefore wanted to hang around the hostel during the day/evening but were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Gaudy's has pretty much the best location for a hostel, it's much closer to many of the bus terminals and also closer to the airport. The hostel itself is nice, there are a lot of rooms, lots of space, multiple areas to hang out if you want to be around people or more secluded. Three computers, which is nice. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

CONS -BIGGEST NEGATIVE IS A STAFFER NAMED ANDRES (or ANDREAS, I've heard both). He is COLD, NOT PERSONABLE, NEVER SMILES, AND IMPATIENT with me when I first checked in and asked about a cheaper room than initially offered. He is NEITHER FRIENDLY NOR HELPFUL. He pestered me for a favorable review on Tripadvisor over and over, as if I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Andres G, Gerente at Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

It is a shame that after sending to tripadvisor all that proves that this review is fake they decided to keep it online. The person (john shen) who wrote this review was kicked out of our hostel because of alcohol problems and misbehavior, he stayed here for a couple of days and seemed to be a nice person but as... More

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hostel was quiet but traffic outside our window was VERY loud. Didn't get much sleep because of the noise. A leak in our bathroom left a big puddle in the middle of the floor at all times. Lots of common areas, good breakfast, close to several bus stations. Grocery store and several fast food places nearby but not much else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I stayed here for one night. It's a little hard to find if you're walking there, but it's in a good location. You can go eat dinner at night fairly easily. I stayed in the dormitory upstairs, which have a bunch of bunkbeds. The only downside is there's 1 bathroom for 9 people on the top floor. It wasn't a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

If you want a place with a great atmosphere, wonderful staff who go above and beyond to help meet your needs and to be located in a great spot of San Jose - then look no further than Gaudy's Backpackers Hostel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The staff at Gaudys were very friendly and helpful. Hot breakfast, excellent coffee, close to supermarket, quiet at night, secure parking, and good internet. A great place to stop when passing through San Jose.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fairfax
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Gaudy's is located close to the Main Street in San Jose. The staff works hard and prepares a nice breakfast in the morning of pancakes, pineapple, and bananas. Their prices are good, but not exceptionally greater than other locations. I would come back to Gaudy's if Ever returned to San Jose.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Great location, really quiet but close to the centre. The staff were brilliant - they helped us to organise a trip to corcovado and when we had to leave at 6am to get a bus, they got up at 5am to make us breakfast. Very friendly and professional all round. A great place to relax with lots of seating areas,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel

Address: Ave. 5, Calle 36 y 38, Casa 3636 | near Banco de Costa Rica de Paseo Colon, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaudy`s Backpacker Hotel San Jose
Gaudy's Backpacker Hostel Costa Rica/San Jose

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in San Jose with
any amenities