We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 San Jose accommodations

Costa Rica Backpackers

Avenida 6, Calle 21/25 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Costa Rica Backpackers to your Saves list
Costa Rica Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
57%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Or T
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    67
    47
    19
    10
See reviews for
3
48
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (173)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff is really great - nice and helpful, but the hostel himself is totally regular - I stayed in 4 beds dorms, and there was only one electrical outlet for the whole room. Bathroom is fine, nothing specail, wifi is working fine but not everywhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is a great find in the Jan Jose, its brilliant the minute you walk in. The place is massive; a huge kitchen, a great chill area with Tv and Dvd's, a friendly bar to hangout at, a pool to chill by with these great beds, and hammocks in a spacious garden. We stayed in a private room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with a group in June. We arrived by air in San Jose, and were moving on early the next morning. A hostel seemed like an affordable option, and this one had good reviews. It was MUCH nicer than I expected! Clean. Nice pool (although I didn't swim, being tired, but others did). Good dinner from the on site... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our experience in hostel backpackers was overall pretty good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms where pretty basic but you don't really need more unless you're planing on staying in San Jose for a bit longer. The kitchen is fully equipped but has it's rush hours so avoid peaktime. If you want to stay in a quiet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great service, great and helpful staff, reliable (airport) shuttle, comfy beds, clean and really cool hostel with pool and hammocks, chilled atmosphere, playing good music all day, fair prices, ... highly recommendable hostel!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I stayed in this hostel a few days ago. I slept in a dormitory which includes a locker for everyone. The lock and the key was provided by the hostel. Unfortunately i used the locker to secure my things. In the Night somebody stole nearlly all of my money from the closed locker! So somebody must have used a second... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CRBackpackers, Propietario at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello! We provide people lockers and locks for you to put your stuff, but those are not safe boxes. We have a storage room and a safe box at the main office that people can use to place their valuables and you never asked for it. You said you put $700 in your locker. You were sleeping in the bed... More

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We only stayed for one night but in the end we rather should have skipped the stop in San José. First the area seemed to be ok and the pool and common area looked nice BUT the shower/toilets and the kitchen were kind of dirty. There was one toilet/shower for at least 2 dorms and some privates. We stayed at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRBackpackers, Propietario at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello! The day you checked out, the room was sold for more days. The day we received your email about it we talked to the guests inside the room and they said that they had no problems with bed bugs. We switch them into a different room for precaution and we hire a person to fumigate the room. The specialist... More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Amazing from booking to departure, we managed to accidentally book an extra night and we're offered a free night another time if we needed it. Perfect mix of chilled out, lively and full of awesome people - staff and patrons alike. A++++ Would book again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRBackpackers, Director de Recepción at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments! We hope your trip to Costa Rica was amazing and full of adventure! Hope to see you again! Pura vida! More

Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Small room no breakfast private room expensive next to the train. Wifi realy slow 34 dollars for private its not good. Only one toilet for 40 people and you have to chare the shower. Its easyer to find abother and chraper one in front

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRBackpackers, Director General at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your comments. We have over 22 bathrooms in the hostel. There are maps of the hostel in the rooms and in the common areas. The rooms are big and comfortables. $34 per night is the standard price for a private room. If you are looking for something cheaper you can find them right in the middle... More

İstanbul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great times at this very relaxing place. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Great people and good times. Their airport shuttle service was fairly priced and the driver was waiting for me as I exited the terminal. Super friendly (Francisco) and drive with him set the tone for a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRBackpackers, Director General at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice comments! Francisco and the rest of the team are really glad people like you value our hard work. Thank you so much and we hope your visit to Costa Rica was filled with adventures and excitement. Best regards, Costa Rica Backpackers Team More

Do you own or manage Costa Rica Backpackers?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Costa Rica Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Backpackers

Address: Avenida 6, Calle 21/25 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Costa Rica Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Backpackers Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Backpackers San Jose

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
4:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay