We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 San Jose accommodations

Costa Rica Backpackers

Avenida 6, calle 21/23 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Costa Rica Backpackers to your Saves list
Costa Rica Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
57%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
JTolo
  • Overview
  • Reviews (171)
  • Photos (95)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    66
    46
    19
    10
See reviews for
4
47
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Our experience in hostel backpackers was overall pretty good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms where pretty basic but you don't really need more unless you're planing on staying in San Jose for a bit longer. The kitchen is fully equipped but has it's rush hours so avoid peaktime. If you want to stay in a quiet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great service, great and helpful staff, reliable (airport) shuttle, comfy beds, clean and really cool hostel with pool and hammocks, chilled atmosphere, playing good music all day, fair prices, ... highly recommendable hostel!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hostel a few days ago. I slept in a dormitory which includes a locker for everyone. The lock and the key was provided by the hostel. Unfortunately i used the locker to secure my things. In the Night somebody stole nearlly all of my money from the closed locker! So somebody must have used a second... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRBackpackers, Propietario at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello! We provide people lockers and locks for you to put your stuff, but those are not safe boxes. We have a storage room and a safe box at the main office that people can use to place their valuables and you never asked for it. You said you put $700 in your locker. You were sleeping in the bed... More

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only stayed for one night but in the end we rather should have skipped the stop in San José. First the area seemed to be ok and the pool and common area looked nice BUT the shower/toilets and the kitchen were kind of dirty. There was one toilet/shower for at least 2 dorms and some privates. We stayed at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRBackpackers, Propietario at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello! The day you checked out, the room was sold for more days. The day we received your email about it we talked to the guests inside the room and they said that they had no problems with bed bugs. We switch them into a different room for precaution and we hire a person to fumigate the room. The specialist... More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing from booking to departure, we managed to accidentally book an extra night and we're offered a free night another time if we needed it. Perfect mix of chilled out, lively and full of awesome people - staff and patrons alike. A++++ Would book again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRBackpackers, Director de Recepción at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments! We hope your trip to Costa Rica was amazing and full of adventure! Hope to see you again! Pura vida! More

Guadalajara Metropolitan Area, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Small room no breakfast private room expensive next to the train. Wifi realy slow 34 dollars for private its not good. Only one toilet for 40 people and you have to chare the shower. Its easyer to find abother and chraper one in front

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRBackpackers, Director General at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your comments. We have over 22 bathrooms in the hostel. There are maps of the hostel in the rooms and in the common areas. The rooms are big and comfortables. $34 per night is the standard price for a private room. If you are looking for something cheaper you can find them right in the middle... More

Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed one night and it was relaxing. The room has one of the best views in Costa Rica and it was economic. I would love to go back and stay for a long time. The breakfast was good, and the fruits were great. Pura Vida.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRBackpackers, Director General at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you! Hope your visit to Costa Rica was awesome! More

İstanbul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great times at this very relaxing place. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Great people and good times. Their airport shuttle service was fairly priced and the driver was waiting for me as I exited the terminal. Super friendly (Francisco) and drive with him set the tone for a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRBackpackers, Director General at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice comments! Francisco and the rest of the team are really glad people like you value our hard work. Thank you so much and we hope your visit to Costa Rica was filled with adventures and excitement. Best regards, Costa Rica Backpackers Team More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Nice hostel, the staff were very friendly and always happy to help. The common areas were good for relaxing. I stayed for one night after flying in and it was a good first stop in Costa Rica. There is a nice bar/restaurant where you can buy a packed breakfast if you're leaving early in the morning

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRBackpackers, Director General at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your comments, we appreciate you taking time to show us what you liked. We are really glad to hear those great things. We work hard to make our guests feel comfortable. Thank you! More

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Excellent workers..very friendly..nice to talk to and very helpful..good shuttle service to airport..kitchen is disgustingly dirty though...sinks plugged...many dishes dirty all the time...cockroachesbin kitchen...very fun atmosphere...would be excellent hostel if kitchen was kept clean by staff...my impression was that the staff members stay out of kitchen area and let guests handle it but they dont even provide enough scrub pads...its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRBackpackers, Gerente at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about the things we need to improve. We have 4 cleaning ladies + a supervisor all day long in charge of the cleanness of the hostel. They are 24/7 checking all things out of place. The kitchen is the place they spend more time, the guests are constantly using it,... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Costa Rica Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Costa Rica Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Backpackers

Address: Avenida 6, calle 21/23 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Costa Rica Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Backpackers Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Backpackers San Jose

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
4:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in San Jose with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The #1 budget hostel and meeting spot for travelers in San Jose, Costa Rica and Lonely Planet readers’ favorite since 2001. We have excellent reviews from guide books and on internet. Come and meet people from all around the world in our little slice of paradise, swap stories, catch the sun in our tropical garden, swim in the pool and don`t miss the happy hour at the "BAR-PACKERS" at 5pm!ALL FREE - internet (7 computers), wifi, coffee & tea; kitchen facilities (save money cook for yourself), parking, storage.TOP FACILITIES - Biggest pool & garden in San Jose, sunbathing, cable tv, international phone calls, hot showers, laundry service, tour desk, 24-hr security. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
4

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Costa Rica Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer