We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Costa Rica Backpackers

Hotel website
Avenida 6, Calle 21/25 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Costa Rica Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Samuel B
Share an Experience

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    78
    57
    24
    14
See reviews for
4
61
60
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (207)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friends and I stayed here last week. The staff member who checked us in was extremely rude. When we asked for blankets and sheets (which our rooms did not have) he argued and implied that we were trying to sneak people into the hostel. When we asked to speak to a manager, he repeatedly lied about her whereabouts. Wi-fi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRBackpackers, Owner at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Everything you say is a lie! We checked you in and give you the small dorm you asked for, we gave you bed sheets, blankets, key and lock. Later that night you came asking for more bed sheets, when our receptionist went to your room you had more people sleeping in the same room. We received complains of the other... More 

Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pool area is very Nice but somebody tried to rob me through the window (room 9) and the staff responded by saying this happends all the time?!? I could change beds But i think they should deal with the issue. Booked another hostel coming back to san jose

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRBackpackers, Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for your feedback! That does not happen all the time. We are very sorry for the excuses the staff gave you! We will make sure this won´t happen again! More 

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For a few nights in San Jose, this is a fine, well located hostel. And cheap if you choose the cheap dorm rooms.However some of the staff are rude and very unhelpful. You work in a hostel, in a transport town. Be nicer and helpful. We are already stressed out enough, chances are we have ripped off in San Jose,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRBackpackers, Owner at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for you comments, they help us grow. We apologize sincerely for the troubles this situation caused you. We will make things right with the staff and check what it´s causing the bad service. We always have great reviews about our staff so this really sets an alarm here. Thank you so much and we hope... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This wasn't bad at all, except for the 6 am train. The place looks great with the hammocks. The rooms are OK. People are fun out there, it's liberty. The highest price we paid in costa rica.. This is a place to stay for one night or two maximum

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRBackpackers, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments! We are really glad you liked the hostel and we are always looking to improve! Places outside San José are cheaper than the city, keep that in mind. Best regards! More 

New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Now this place is not a bad looking hostel the kitchen, swimming pool & common areas are quite nice. The problem with this hostel is that the train that is in town passes right past this hostel all hours of the day first train starts around 4:30am - 5:00am with the horns blaring and continues all day and into the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRBackpackers, Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for the feedback! We are glad to hear that you liked our areas! The train passes 5 times a day: 5:30 a.m. - 9 a.m. - 12 m.d. - 5 p.m. and 7 p.m. We are really sorry about the horn but that´s out of our control. Best regards, More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

The staff are friendly. Nice pool area and nice and affordable restaurant out back. Everything was clean in our room and restrooms but the place is worn out (lobby sofas have holes on the fabric etc small details). We had a private room, which in this hostel means a bunk bed. Showers were not the best but I guess that's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CRBackpackers, Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for the feedback! It´s really helpful for us! We have new sofas in the TV room and Internet area now. We also have private rooms with a double bed, you just have to check the difference when you are booking. There is the bunk bed or double option. Best regards, CRB Staff More 

San Jose Metro, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

I'm an older traveler who takes private rooms and had a great stay across the way at their companion location, Costa Rica Guesthouse but they were booked on the night I needed to so I took a private basement room in the Backpackers lodging. The room was in a dark hallway with no natural light or ventilation but it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRBackpackers, Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for taking time to review the hostel. Yes, we are full of... backpackers! We love them! We know how noisy they can get sometimes, we are always checking that they don´t get loud so people can sleep. We are glad you liked the common areas and the staff, we are trying to give our best... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

This place is ok. The outdoor area is nice, has a pool and bar. The dorm rooms are basic, bathrooms could do with an upgrade. The wifi cut out a lot when I was there. The hostel is right next to the train tracks so its very loud most of the time including when you are trying to sleep, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartland, VT
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

As promised the shuttle and driver were at the airport waiting for us even though our plane was 2 hours late. Check in was easy. Private room was basic with shared bathroom. No towels or soap so bring your own or pay for extra. Well-equipped kitchen, nice garden with small pool. Out of the center of town but close enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

If you need a place to stay just for one night in San Jose on your way to visit Costa Rica or to take your plane to leave, then this place will do. The website definitley makes it look better than it is. It's a bit dingy and the dorms are crowded, but it's cheap and a 10 minute walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
4:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question