We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Costa Rica Backpackers

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Avenida 6, Calle 21/25 | De la iglesia Sagrado Corazon, 100 metros norte, 50 oeste., San Jose, Costa Rica
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Costa Rica Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rimouski, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had problems with our booking and from what I heard at the overwhelmed reception desk, we were not the only ones. I had to share a double bed with my sleep-crawler-daughter because they could not give us a room with two single beds, as reserved. In some rooms located in the back of the hostel, you might feel as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Valerie M
Costa Rica B, Gerente at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi. We really sorry for the inconvenience that you had in that moment. For the booking that was something that was a little bit of our hands because the web page used to make reservations random and sometimes we need to figure out how to fix it to avoid over bookings. We hope keep working hard to fix those issues.... More 

Monterey, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights. It was clean, and the beds are comfortable. Had no trouble sleeping in the dorm. Staff is friendly and helpful. Met amazing people while I was there from all over. The only bad thing, was the food from the restaurant. It wasn't the best food. Everything else was amazing. I'll definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank CarolanneS
Costa Rica B, Gerente at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

We really appreciate your comment. We always are trying to give the best service and we will keep in mind your feedback to improve our restaurant and service. Best regards More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It . Sucks. LonelyPlanet will tell you to go here but it is just not a good time. The restaurant has angry and rude staff and the food was far below average. Wifi doesn't work well, only near the entrance. Never in the room or restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Kristian S
Costa Rica B, Gerente at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi. We really apologize that you had a bad experience in our hostel. We really try to do our best but sometimes are situations that is difficult to handle. We hope to improve the service provided by the restaurant and for the wifi, was an inconvenience for the provider that have been already fix it. Best regards More 

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Altogether our stay in this hostel was terrible. The staff was indifferent ti all requests and not willing to help with anything. Due to the cold temperatures at night many guests requested blankets and we're asked to pay an extra fee of 4$ per person/night for the blanket!!!! The bathrooms were dirty and in the mornings toilet paper was empty,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Costa Rica B, Gerente at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

We really apologized that you had a bad experience with us. In the past we had some inconveniences that the customers used to asked for extra blankets and those were stolen or took it by them. That's why the hostel charge the $4 extra as a deposit that you get back as soon as you return the blankets to the... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wall plugs are seriously hard to find around here. There was only one in the dorm and it was on the floor near the door, nowhere near the beds. The dorms are very large and clean. It seemed like it was going to be a quiet hostel, but I was up late into the night with people partying outside. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
Costa Rica B, Gerente at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comment. To be honest we never heard something like a yell. Sometimes that kind of noises came from the street because there are some bars near by. We are trying to put additional plugs on the dorms. More 

Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

A 5 star hostel, Vary big, very clean, very beautiful, good stuff members, close to the center, nice swimming pool and bar, the food is not that bad. It was a cheap stay in a good hostel. I recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank LaurentMK
Costa Rica B, Gerente at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback we work everyday to improve the hostel and that our guests get the best experience here! Hope to see you soon again! More 

Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here 2 nights in a dorm. Unfortunately I didn't really enjoy my stay and wouldn't go back. The dorm has lockers, there is shared bathroom in different parts of the hostel. Technically they even have a pool and a kitchen, but noone uses them. You need to pay a deposit for the room key and (once requested) a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Verena L
Costa Rica B, Gerente at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for your comments! We keep 24 hours cleaning service here and fumigate the hostel twice a year. There are no cockroaches here. We, like every other hostel/hotel charge key deposit ($4) for the key, lock, bed sheets and blanket and as you can see the deposit doesn´t even cover for everything. We give the deposit back as... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

The place is ok, was there for 3 nights in a private room. Sheets did not get changed once, the food that came out of their restaurant was sub par for the price you pay for it. Also we planned on staying elsewhere but the cabbie took us here, when we arrived and said this wasn't it the guy at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt R
CRBackpackers, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

When you check in, the receptionist tells you that you have a private room and for security reasons you are the only person with a key. He also lets people know that if they want us to clean the room while you are staying in it you have to come to the front desk and leave us the key(only for... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

I stayed here for one night when I landed in San Jose. The hostel has a great airport pick up service, which seems to be a little less than the standard taxi price and can be organised in advance. Rooms are clean and simple and outdoor area is nice. The pool is great and there is a bar and restaurant... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank aliceh424
CRBackpackers, Public Relations Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments! We are more than glad to hear you had a great time! Hope to see you soon again! More 

Province of Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

This was the first hostel in my Costa Ric trip. I get the shuttle who is a little pricey but not too much more than a regular cab from the airport (wich is not so close to San Jose town, actually). The driver was super cool and gave me info from places and general knowledge about San Jose. I've been... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hector Q
CRBackpackers, Manager at Costa Rica Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank's Hector for your Feed Back ! :) A pleasure for our team to met you here ! Costa Rica Backpackers hostel team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
4:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#29 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#10 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#14 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#3 of 61 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aldea Hostel San Jose
Aldea Hostel San Jose
#8 of 61 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Frog Hostel
Golden Frog Hostel
#7 of 61 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay