We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa Girasol

Sabana Sur, San Jose, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Casa Girasol
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #44 of 57 San Jose B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009
gemmasnook Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (9)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Perth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Pierre and Georgina are great people and very knowledgeable about both the tourist sites and Costa Rica as a whole. Georgina is fantastic and Pierre is good as well, as long as things are going well. Unfortunately our stay didn't go well and so we discovered a side to Pierre that I feel compelled to share. I had a friend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
v b, Owner at Casa Girasol, responded to this review

Jason we don't understand your problem, we just tried to help your boyfriend to get his luggage back from the airline, which under normal circumstances is a matter of hours. Your boyfriend went into an inexplicable panic after I proposed you denounce the airline for loss of luggage after more than 24 hours for both your security as Costa Rica... More 

Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I planed to stay here for a week but I ran away after one night , there wasn't hot water, the owner treated the guests arbitrarily and he was most of the time drunk and impatient!. The installation is neglected and very poor. The location is reasonable but there are 3-4 other hostels in the area (Sabana, Paseo Colon) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tripcostarica, Owner at Casa Girasol, responded to this review

We checked our records about this supposedly would be guest and no one under the name of Antoni A. stayed during the time mentioned, we suspect as per the format of this review that probably competition posted this one, just disregard. More 

Arcata, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

If you love the strong smell of Bleach and Pall Malls, then this may be the place for you. I stayed for 2 hours and had to leave, the bathroom, the smallest i've ever seen, and quite moldy, despite the reeking smell of bleach everywhere, no cross ventilation in the room except to have the door open which wafted the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

We were slightly apprehensive arriving in San Jose and we could not arrange an airport transfer through the guest house. We decided to book a transfer through a desk inside the airport and although the driver did not know where Casa Girasol was, the directions given to us when we booked we excellent and we had no trouble finding the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Oakland, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

The host wrote his own description on the website that we used, and it gives bad directions. It states to turn left at the Italian Restaurant, but it's a Mexican Restaurant. We drove around for more than an hour looking for the hostel by the Italian restaurant. None of the Taxi Drivers knew where it was, and we went to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tripcostarica, Owner at Casa Girasol, responded to this review

Guests came in from the beach seemed to have consumed alcohol, checked in and said they would go for some drinks returned at 2 in the morning, we were extremely worried because they said they would check out at 4 am to go to the airport and return their rented car. Must have been bad interpretation, we do not scorn... More 

zone
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

This place is a wonderful little diamond in San Jose. It is a home away from home. I have stayed there several times and prefer it to some of the finer hotels in San Jose. By way of comparison, it is easier to locate, and certainly more comfortable. and it is cleaner than the Hotel Cristina that I had stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2006

This is a wonderfull place, my daughter and I stayed there. This was our first trip to Costa Rica. Pierre, who owns the place is a great host. we arranged with him to be picked up at the airport and taken to the hotel, which was nice ($12) and worth it, arriving late. We were walcomed with wine and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2006

The place is small, only 4 rooms. It is the atmosphere that makes it wonderfull the owner that makes it great. He is a fount of information and will help you in anyway he can. It is like staying with a frind rather than staying at a hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question