We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pension de la Cuesta B&B

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Avenida Primera Calle 11 Y 15 | 50 Metros Oeste Parque Nacional, San Jose, Costa Rica
Pension de la Cuesta B&B
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #24 of 60 San Jose B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015
Cynthia B
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    26
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
5
18
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We only stayed here one night on our way to the Caribbean coast and I'm glad it was only one night. Our room was in the main hall pretty close to reception and also really close to the kitchen/shared space. We could hear everything at all hours of the night. Nobody seemed to have respect for other travellers, which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buchs St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We booked a deluxe double room with private bathroom for our last night of our vacation. Sadly, we were not satisfied at all. The bathroom turned out to be a very small room where you had to cross the shower to reach the toilet. No sink (we wonder how they expect people to brush their theeth - under the shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Our room was full of mosquitos. Whilst our daytime host was knowlegeable he told us that the night porter would call us a cab as he would definitely be there at 5 am. Unfortuantly this wasnt true we nearly missed our bus. Not pleased.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Nice location just next to the park. Very friendly and helpful guy at the reception. Our room was very clean with enough space to put your stuff. The bathrooms and showers are clean but scarce (the staff takes showers in them as well). And don't expect a hot shower: when someone else starts using water the shower almost stops (i.e.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

I stayed at this B+B for two days last week and had a really nice experience. The rooms are pretty sparse, but the prices can't be beat and it's in a good location. Very easy walking distance to all the sights. There are three bathrooms for the hotel, and there was always at least one available when I needed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Roy S, Manager at Pension de la Cuesta B&B, responded to this review

Thank you so much Heiner, it was our pleasure to have you as our guest! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

The location is great - close to everything (you can reach any bus terminal for about 2000 colones). Walking distance from the market. A lot of places to eat in the area. It is safe, although we didn't go out late at night. Very well equipped kitchen and a nice living room to relax. The place was quiet and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We stayed in this hostel, which is in a dangerous area in San Jose, and had one of the worst stays we've had in 8 months of travelling around the world. We were attacked by bedbugs and had to fight to try and get our money back! As if we should pay anything at all after something like that! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Roy S, Manager at Pension de la Cuesta B&B, responded to this review

Wwe would like to offer explanation about this complain 1. The guests arrived one day before their reservation check in date , therefore we were unable to notify them about the water issue in the area. 2. Our receptionist did not give them bottle water however they were given a big tankard full of clean water. 3. We did refund... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here a couple of nights before heading to the Caribbean coast. Very pleasant. Our room was comfortable and reasonably clean. The hotel was quiet but friendly. Shared bathrooms were fine. Helpful staff. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carrieres-sous-Poissy, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Very nice place near the center of San Jose. The people working there are available to help (thanks Daniel and Luis). Not enough bathrooms though (only 2), but the breakfast is included. Good hotel with good prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlotte, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Two years ago we made a reservation here for the return portion of our trip. When we arrived at the hotel, they said they had no rooms available. No explanation, just "it was a mistake". They sent us to another place whicht was a dive. Forgiving this mistake, this time we made reservations about a week ahead. Again for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay