We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pension de la Cuesta B&B

Avenida Primera Calle 11 Y 15 | 50 Metros Oeste Parque Nacional, San Jose, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pension de la Cuesta B&B
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you want a clean hostel with big rooms in a good location then I would recommend this hostel! It is situated less than a five minute walk from the city centre (national theatre, shops & restaurants). There is not much of an atmosphere and is more hotel like than a hostel but this was fine for us as we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Billie P
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. The place is in a great location, the rooms very clean and the shared bathrooms clean and fine. Staff were friendly, especially David. There is some noise at night (from the road or people getting up to use the bathrooms) but that's true of all places in the city. We found it decent and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Peden13
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015 via mobile

My friend and I went to SJ for the first time and needed a place to stay when other plans fell through so we checked around and found this B&B. I called beforehand (Spanish helpful here) and they were very nice and told us the price for 2 people and it was the most reasonable. If you are looking for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CevicheLover
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

We only stayed here one night on our way to the Caribbean coast and I'm glad it was only one night. Our room was in the main hall pretty close to reception and also really close to the kitchen/shared space. We could hear everything at all hours of the night. Nobody seemed to have respect for other travellers, which is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia B
Buchs St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015 via mobile

We booked a deluxe double room with private bathroom for our last night of our vacation. Sadly, we were not satisfied at all. The bathroom turned out to be a very small room where you had to cross the shower to reach the toilet. No sink (we wonder how they expect people to brush their theeth - under the shower... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mabetravelling

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015 via mobile

Our room was full of mosquitos. Whilst our daytime host was knowlegeable he told us that the night porter would call us a cab as he would definitely be there at 5 am. Unfortuantly this wasnt true we nearly missed our bus. Not pleased.

Helpful?
Thank KatieDonne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014 via mobile

Nice location just next to the park. Very friendly and helpful guy at the reception. Our room was very clean with enough space to put your stuff. The bathrooms and showers are clean but scarce (the staff takes showers in them as well). And don't expect a hot shower: when someone else starts using water the shower almost stops (i.e.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reinoudoor
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

I stayed at this B+B for two days last week and had a really nice experience. The rooms are pretty sparse, but the prices can't be beat and it's in a good location. Very easy walking distance to all the sights. There are three bathrooms for the hotel, and there was always at least one available when I needed to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Heiner S
Roy S, Manager at Pension de la Cuesta B&B, responded to this review

Thank you so much Heiner, it was our pleasure to have you as our guest! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

The location is great - close to everything (you can reach any bus terminal for about 2000 colones). Walking distance from the market. A lot of places to eat in the area. It is safe, although we didn't go out late at night. Very well equipped kitchen and a nice living room to relax. The place was quiet and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason C
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We stayed in this hostel, which is in a dangerous area in San Jose, and had one of the worst stays we've had in 8 months of travelling around the world. We were attacked by bedbugs and had to fight to try and get our money back! As if we should pay anything at all after something like that! The... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank meeky82
Roy S, Manager at Pension de la Cuesta B&B, responded to this review

Wwe would like to offer explanation about this complain 1. The guests arrived one day before their reservation check in date , therefore we were unable to notify them about the water issue in the area. 2. Our receptionist did not give them bottle water however they were given a big tankard full of clean water. 3. We did refund... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
1.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#29 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#10 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#18 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#15 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 964 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa las Orquideas
0.4 mi away
Costa Rica Guesthouse
Costa Rica Guesthouse
#19 of 66 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay