We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Hotel website
Hotel deals
5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Add Photo Write a Review

478 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    144
    166
    114
    35
    19
See reviews for
51
154
55
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (478)
  • Mar-May only
    (137)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (145)
All months
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our first night was spent in downtown San Jose at the Holiday Inn. An interesting city in the daytime, but, we were advised not to venture forth at night. We were also warned to look both ways at cross streets, because nobody stops for the stop signs! A point to see is the businesses in Downtown San Jose - most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
89 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a good one night stay at this hotel. From the attentive and helpful staff to the excellent rooms with all facilities expected the whole place delivered good quality. Good top floor restaurant with great city skyline views and good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denton, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Although this hotel is not especially upscale, I rated it as such because of the courteous staff, the amazing breakfast buffet, and the convenient central location. One can walk to the major museums, great restaurants, and mercados. I felt very safe at night. The rooms were very clean and quiet. We stayed for four nights and had no problems whatsoever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Terri1129; Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, loved our breakfast buffet and had some time to discover the heart of the city walking through the museums and the central market. We hope to welcome you back next time you visit San Jose Downtown. Sincerely,... More 

Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed here 5 times this year no complaints.. nice folks work there as well. very quiet and good breakfast.no complaints and would definetely recommend .. It is very safe , clean and includes all the amenities you would need.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear ap1000; Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us; we appreciate your loyalty and preference. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope to welcome you back for your next trip to San Jose Downtown. Sincerely, Ginnette Fernandez More 

Missouri City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel and liked it was so close to Jade and Gold Museums and the National Theater. The breakfast buffet had a lot of choices. We had good drinks and snacks in the bar .The staff was friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the hotel with 3 friends may 15 and 16. This hotel is in bad shape and needs a remodel. I'm sure it was very nice in 1960 the last time any money was put into it. I will comment on the two previous reviews as I too was disrespected by security and front desk. On the last... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Galaxy2016; Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your last stay at our hotel. We do apologize for the inconveniences you may experience due to Hotel Non Smoking Policy. For smoking at the room or emergency stairwell, a fee of $150 must be charged to your account. We do have enough evidence about your friends... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Disclaimer: I will gladly go backpacking and sleep in the woods without a bathroom or running water for a fun weekend excursion. Keep that in mind for the context of the review below. Walking into the musty halls of this hotel was stifling. Had I not already paid for the night with IHG club points, I would have found another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Matthew R; Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. Please contact me directly at gfernandez@aurolahotels.com in order to review more details regaring your stay. We do hope to have the... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited this property May of 15 and upon check in I noted(written down on ck in papers) that I had one guests staying with me. The res. was for 2 adults no problems thus far. After walking around the terrible scummy city of San Jose we returned to the hotel with a friend who wanted to come to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Tony M; Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, you were not agreeing to hotel policies and the Hotel did not charge you for the room, even when you stayed for two hours after check in. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First I must start by saying I am appalled and disgusted with the level of service and professionalism I experienced. I went to visit a friend who was staying in the hotel and as soon as we returned from dinner I was escorted to the registration desk. Once there they told my friend that he must pay them $70 so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Drealtalk; Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We do apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. However, your reservation was confirmed for two adults instead of three, and you were not agreeing to pay an additional $25.00 for the third person that came later. The Hotel accepted not to charge you... More 

Tienen Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Friendly Welcome at reception. Quick check-in. Clean en comfortable rooms, a little bit aged but OK ! Good and large beds. Silent rooms, good sleep guaranteed. Good working airco but not complete silent. Excellent breakfast buffet. Good location near centre of San José. Exchange rate in hotel is nearly the official rate. Do not exchange at the airport !! Do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear JohnTienenBelgium; Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, our Staff make you felt welcome and your room was comfy. We value your feedback and appreciate the time you took to share your opinion at TripAdvisor. We hope you welcome back next time you plan to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

225 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (177)
Viewed
View from room (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (56)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay