We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

3.5 of 5 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    145
    104
    34
    16
See reviews for
49
135
50
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (434)
  • Mar-May only
    (105)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (133)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel was very nice. Beds were really comfy and the rooms were clean. Hospitality was great. The food was just ok in the lobby restaurant. If you want to be down town this would be a good choice. If you get overwhelmed by city driving don't try to drive here during rush hour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for four nights, overall I felt that I got more than my money's worth. The price of the room is very reasonable for what you get. Check in: One person ahead of us in line. It was efficient and the woman who checked us in was very nice and hospitable. Staff throughout the hotel treated us as very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
brussels
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel has a perfect location - right in the centre of town and walking distance to both the Jade museum and the Pre-columbian Gold Museum. The rooms are comfortable enough and the service is reasonable, but I could hear extremely loud music till quite late into the night. At first I thought there must have been noisy bars in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Gordon799; Thank you for share your comments on TridAdvisor. We do appreciate your feedback regarding the noise that came from 17th floor. We apologized for the inconvenience you had during your stay. We are going to review this issue with the management team in order to take actions to ensure future events do not disturb guest comfort during their... More 

Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time in Costa Rica and drove from Airport to San Jose at night. Streets and roads not well marked so watch and ask. Hotel is in the heart of San Jose and beautiful inside with good service and beautiful pool and amenities. We walked to many of the museums, landmarks, shops and restaurants. Very busy city and narrow streets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Jerry A; Thank your for share your comments on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear you had time to discover the heart of San Jose walking through to the museums and cultural attractions and enjoyed hotel location. We hope to welcome you back during your next trip to San Jose Downtown. Sincerely, Ginnette Fernandez More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As San Jose is not one of my favorite spots in Costa Rica, luckily this Holiday Inn helped make it bearable. The hotel is located in a convenient location, the hotel and staff are very nice, and the breakfast was very good. On our return two weeks later, we also stayed there and ate at the 17th floor restaurant. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear SandyB; Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We do appreciate your feedback and are so happy to heart you enjoyed hotel location and dinning with the gorgeous view of the city at El Mirador Restaurant. We hope to welcome you back next time you visit San Jose Downtown. Sincerely, Ginnette Fernandez More 

Pocatello
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We generally do not stay at any Holiday Inn, this was booked for us, and we were glad. After ten days in rain forest lodges with the bugs, little or no hot water, and buffet blah food, this was a welcome respite. I hasten to add, this is of much better quality than the Holiday Inns I have been to,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great value hotel with pool and gym.Good breakfast and comfy beds. Free wi fi to to keep in touch with friendsCourteous and helpful staff always at hand.Close to Central San Jose and museums etc. Tea and coffee making facilities in room but no fridge.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you go to Costa Rica, chances are you will stay at San Jose at one point. If so, this hotel is an excellent choice because its high quality, low room rate, and its location. The quality of this hotel far exceeds any Holiday Inn I have been. Beds are comfy, rooms are large, clean, plush, and clearly well-maintained, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
League City, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

If you like a hot shower, don't stay here. Everything else is clean, nice and the front desk has someone who speaks English. The restaurant on the 17th floor is very good and the service is great. The hot tub water is not hot and the jets don't work but the inside pool is Olympic size.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear vacaciones8282; Thank you for share your comments regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Aurola. We do apologize for the inconvenience with hot water and appreciate your feedback as an opportunity to improve our services and facilities. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Stayed there for one night only... It was okay, very central and kind service... But the breakfast was horrible! Usually I would think that a nice hotel like this would have no problem making a great breakfast which is why we included it... But juice tasted so bad, omelet were poorly made, selection was bad, only thing that they knew... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear coolio_chris; Thank you for writing your comments regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Aurola. We apologize for the inconvenience you had with breakfast service. The feedback we received from our value guest, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar instances do not happen in the future. Again, thank you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola Costa Rica
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
#23 Business Hotel in San Jose

214 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (166)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (54)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay