We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 85 San Jose hotels

Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola to your Saves list
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
65%
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Gisabrille Miami, Florida
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    123
    97
    31
    12
See reviews for
42
123
51
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a few days of nature adventures it was wonderful to arrive to a property that will bring us back to the reality of every day comforts. The location of the hotel is perfect, close to museums, restaurants, parks, etc. The room we got had an amazing view of the city and the mountains in the background which provided a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Gisabrille; Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent experience at Holiday Inn Aurola. We appreciate your positive feedback and will past your kind words to Orlando and Tony. I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed the sunset amazing view from your room, felt at home and welcome by our staff and had some... More

San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed two nights. I was warmly greeted upon check-in and was surprised by a very generous room upgrade. Service was excellent, the suite was spotless, the view was stunningly beautiful. I ordered room service dinner twice and it was delivered promptly. I'll definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Tony W, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Aurola on Tripadvisor. We are so happy to hear your stay was comfy and our staff make you felt welcome given you a nice upgrade and making your stay memorable. I will past your positive words to our Team. We... More

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is showing its age. Our room had a broken fridge. It took an hour for the front desk to take our request for help in finding a functioning ice machine. Ask for a room on the northern side on an upper floor for a great view of the mountains. We were given a corner suite so we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear RichardR, Thanks for share your comments about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Aurola. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the tremendous view of the north of Central Valley from the room and apologize for the issue you had with the fridge. I hope you can give us the opportunity to welcome you back next time you... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

too expensive for this hotel - $ 3.50 1 qt. of water, $70 to invite a friend, poor and expensive menu in bar and restaurant, etc. a ice maker is noisy, a room is small, no English TV. It's not a 4 stars hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear SergeyM; We want to thank you for your review. We value your comments as an opportunity to improve service quality and guest satisfaction. We are working to improve our services and will past your comments to our Management Team in order to improve menu options at Restaurant, Bar and Hotel facilities. We hope to welcome you back sometime in... More

gulf shores
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
83 hotel reviews
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I viasited in August 2014. We had a suite $174.00/night w/o tax. The suite was a nice size. It had two full bathrooms with a shower in each one. Plenty of towels and toiletries. A large closet with plenty of space to hang cloths and store things. There was a safe in the closet. The bedroom was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear nohassle1956; Thanks for share your comments regarding your recent experience at Holiday Inn Aurola. We are really glad to hear your mission trip was great and enjoy hotels facilities and location in San José Downtown. We hope to welcome you next time! Once again, thanks for your review. Ginnette Fernandez. More

Chicago
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hotel if you need to stay in Downtown San Jose area. Close to parts, several casinos, and night life spots. Lots of shopping and a few restaurants within walking distance. Despite being in the downtown of a major city I felt very safe walking around during the day and at night. The decor is a little outdated but I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Brian D, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent experience at Holiday Inn Aurola. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our location; and our staff were helpful by crediting your IHG Rewards Club points after your call. We do appreciate your loyalty and preference. We hope to welcome you next time... More

San Salvador, El Salvador
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel looks dirty in general, old furniture and wallpapers, dirty carpets, old tv, bed wasn't very comfortable. Some staff members are not very friendly. There's not much to do or see around, nowhere to eat. Breakfast and bar are ok, pool is ok too. I found some toys under my bed, I guess the previous guests left them, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear MeyM651: Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your recent experience at Holiday Inn Aurola. We truly apologize for hotel overall appearance, minibar and airport transportation service. We welcome your candid feedback as an opportunity to improve our services. Please contact me directly at gfernandez@aurolahotels.com next time you plan to visit San Jose. I will ensure... More

Jaco beach
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel for several times. The first time we were amazed for the great service in every aspect thats why we came back, it was so nice when the staff welcome us and recognize us from the bellman to the front desk, maids, restaurants staff, every one! We returned for a third time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear NancyLeiton; Thanks for your kind Works regarding your recent experience at Holiday Inn San José Aurola. I’m so happy that our staff took care of you and your husband and made you feel like you were at home, providing you a great service. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again next time you visit San Jose Downtown.... More

Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

All in all it's a very nice facility. The staff were very helpful and had no problem with English. Clean and well kept. May have been a five star hotel a few years ago but is beginning to show some signs of wear and tear. Carpets are a bit frayed and thin. I had the Presidential Suite and it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear btwatsvc; Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent experience at Holiday Inn Aurola. We do appreciate your comments and feedback since it gives us the chance to improve our services. We do apologize for the issues you had with hot water and breakfast. I will follow up these items to the engineering and... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I can't say enough about our stay at this hotel. The Valet staff, particularly Toni was amazing during our two week stay he went above and beyond to ensure our family had everything we needed, he heated up my sons left over pizza at 10:00 at night after being in the pool and on our last night I was in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AurolaHolidayInn, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Eyleen C; We do appreciate your kind comments about your recent experience at Holiday Inn Aurola. I’m so happy to hear our staff took care of your family and they loved the experience during your two week stay. We’ll definitely look forward to welcome you again next time you visit San José. Thanks for your review and pura vida!!!!... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Address: 5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Jose Aurola Hotel San Jose
San Jose Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola Costa Rica

209 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (161)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (48)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in San Jose with
any amenities