We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

#34 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    160
    111
    34
    16
See reviews for
51
145
55
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (462)
  • Mar-May only
    (121)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (145)
All months
Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Second time to this Holiday Inn. Love the location. The staff is friendly and helpful. You won't find a better breakfast buffet. Omelette station is fantastic. Rooms are nice and clean. AC worked great. Will come again. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Ginnette Fernandez More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and enjoyed ourselves! In the midst of shopping central and parks, we were never bored. The staff was very accommodating and kind. The hotel has two restaurants, a casino next door, a bar on the second level and a pool on the third. We were on the fifth floor overlooking the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Yuko A, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Ginnette Fernandez More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room on 6th floor, very quiet! Room was clean everyday, stayed 5 nights. Staff was friendly and helpful! The water was hot, very hot! There was no cold water! The sink drain was not working properly and the sink drained slowly, not that big of a deal! Make sure you have something to drink in the room at night unless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Jwthorne; Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay due to the hot water and the drain system. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Please contact me directly at gfernandez@aurolahotels.com next time you consider to... More 

Republic, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is in an excellent location. The staff is very accommodating.. The beds are comfortable. Breakfast was very good. TVs need to be updated. SAP was not available. Few rooms with flat screens or good reception. Not all rooms have refrigerators. Carpets need cleaning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Republic1; Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Aurola. We loved to hear our staff made you felt welcome and enjoyed our location on the heart of downtown. Our Management is working on the TVs project and we appreciate your candid feedback regarding carpets and refrigerators at rooms. We... More 

Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Aurola Holiday Inn as part of a business trip in San José. The hotel is well located in the city centre and close to the National Theater and shopping area. Therefore, location wise is good. The hotel is quite comfortable and I had a good rest. Just a couple of "improvements" it was impossible to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear dbdk; Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that we were not able to help you with the adapter and appreciate your comments regarding breakfast service. We are always looking for and opportunity to improve our services and your comments are so valued for us! We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the... More 

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

I visited San Jose for 2 weeks with my first nights at the Radisson which was so disgusting I had to check out after 2 nights. I opted for the Holiday Inn Aurola in downtown which is a 2-5 minutes walk to everything. The hotel advertises online that they are San Jose's only 5 star hotel, well if anyone has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Dave A; We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We appreciate you comments as an opportunity to improve hotel services and we will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show... More 

Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

We are traveling with GCT. Rooms are good sized, clean, and comfortable. We had a wonderful view of San Jose. Easy walk to the pedestrian mall/walk. Close to China Town and the National Theater. Multiple parks to take early morning and late afternoon walks. Super market about two blocks away. So, nice location. The breakfasts were very good. Fruits, cheese,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Eugene S; Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Ginnette Fernandez More 

Fort Lauderdale
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Always spend a night or two returning to States.Exremenly friendly associates.Always willing to help.Love staying here.Switched to here a few years ago.the other place close by.Beds like plywood. Breakfast okay.Would like to see pancakes or French Toast offered.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

I stayed here for 4 days on a solo trip. The hotel a few blocks from a grocery store and a about 5 blocks from the National Theater and a quaint little plaza area. As a lone female traveler, I felt safe in this neighborhood going out at night for coffee and dinner. The hotel is your average Holiday Inn.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Melissa C; We do appreciate the time to share your comments about our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Ginnette Fernandez More 

Dayton, OH
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Stayed at the Holiday Inn two nights sandwiched around a tour. Nothing special about the facilities of the hotel. Rooms are standard Holiday Inn fare, not large but well maintained. But what impressed me was the level of service we received. Everyone we interfaced with impressed me with their commitment to customer service. We really felt welcome at the hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

218 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (170)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (54)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question