We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola

Hotel website
Hotel deals
5th Avenue and 5th Street | PO Box 7802-1000, San Jose, Costa Rica
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    164
    114
    35
    19
See reviews for
51
152
55
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (474)
  • Mar-May only
    (133)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (145)
All months
Missouri City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely hotel and liked it was so close to Jade and Gold Museums and the National Theater. The breakfast buffet had a lot of choices. We had good drinks and snacks in the bar .The staff was friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at the hotel with 3 friends may 15 and 16. This hotel is in bad shape and needs a remodel. I'm sure it was very nice in 1960 the last time any money was put into it. I will comment on the two previous reviews as I too was disrespected by security and front desk. On the last... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Galaxy2016; Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your last stay at our hotel. We do apologize for the inconveniences you may experience due to Hotel Non Smoking Policy. For smoking at the room or emergency stairwell, a fee of $150 must be charged to your account. We do have enough evidence about your friends... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Disclaimer: I will gladly go backpacking and sleep in the woods without a bathroom or running water for a fun weekend excursion. Keep that in mind for the context of the review below. Walking into the musty halls of this hotel was stifling. Had I not already paid for the night with IHG club points, I would have found another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Matthew R; Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. Please contact me directly at gfernandez@aurolahotels.com in order to review more details regaring your stay. We do hope to have the... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited this property May of 15 and upon check in I noted(written down on ck in papers) that I had one guests staying with me. The res. was for 2 adults no problems thus far. After walking around the terrible scummy city of San Jose we returned to the hotel with a friend who wanted to come to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Tony M; Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, you were not agreeing to hotel policies and the Hotel did not charge you for the room, even when you stayed for two hours after check in. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First I must start by saying I am appalled and disgusted with the level of service and professionalism I experienced. I went to visit a friend who was staying in the hotel and as soon as we returned from dinner I was escorted to the registration desk. Once there they told my friend that he must pay them $70 so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Drealtalk; Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We do apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. However, your reservation was confirmed for two adults instead of three, and you were not agreeing to pay an additional $25.00 for the third person that came later. The Hotel accepted not to charge you... More 

Tienen Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly Welcome at reception. Quick check-in. Clean en comfortable rooms, a little bit aged but OK ! Good and large beds. Silent rooms, good sleep guaranteed. Good working airco but not complete silent. Excellent breakfast buffet. Good location near centre of San José. Exchange rate in hotel is nearly the official rate. Do not exchange at the airport !! Do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear JohnTienenBelgium; Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, our Staff make you felt welcome and your room was comfy. We value your feedback and appreciate the time you took to share your opinion at TripAdvisor. We hope you welcome back next time you plan to... More 

San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for 3 out of my 8 nights in Costa Rica. The hotel is a bit older but very well maintained. The beds are extremely comfortable and the staff is very friendly. There is a pretty decent breakfast buffet in the morning ($14US) but I would've liked to see scrambled eggs available in the line rather than just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear M_Tucker28; Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Aurola. We do appreciate your feedback about television and outlets availability in the rooms. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back next time you visit San... More 

Southlake, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Second time to this Holiday Inn. Love the location. The staff is friendly and helpful. You won't find a better breakfast buffet. Omelette station is fantastic. Rooms are nice and clean. AC worked great. Will come again. Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Ginnette Fernandez More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and enjoyed ourselves! In the midst of shopping central and parks, we were never bored. The staff was very accommodating and kind. The hotel has two restaurants, a casino next door, a bar on the second level and a pool on the third. We were on the fifth floor overlooking the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Yuko A, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Ginnette Fernandez More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Room on 6th floor, very quiet! Room was clean everyday, stayed 5 nights. Staff was friendly and helpful! The water was hot, very hot! There was no cold water! The sink drain was not working properly and the sink drained slowly, not that big of a deal! Make sure you have something to drink in the room at night unless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ginn2902, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola, responded to this review

Dear Jwthorne; Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay due to the hot water and the drain system. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Please contact me directly at gfernandez@aurolahotels.com next time you consider to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

224 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (176)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (56)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities