We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Irazu

3.5 of 5 Km 3 Autopista General Canas, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Irazu
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Irazu
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    173
    66
    33
    18
See reviews for
69
124
38
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (390)
  • Mar-May only
    (95)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (129)
All months
Ancaster, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 5 nights and explored Costa Rica's central valley from here. This is an exceptionally clean hotel. The windows in our room were so clean it was hard to tell there was glass. The staff are very friendly and helpful, Denny's breakfast is great. The Sangria bar on site has a great atmosphere. I would recommend this hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review

Dear neon8rn, thank you for posting such delightful comments about your stay with us. The most important goal we have is to make our guests feel right at home, surrounded by a warm and cozy atmosphere with very comfortable and clean accommodations, a terrific staff that is always willing to help and the best and most convenient services (such as... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great rooms and beds for a good night sleep after a long travel. They have shuttle directly from the airport, just be on the watchhout for it, I missed the first one passing by because he Did not see me and I had to wait another 25 min.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review

Dear fabian l, thank you for posting your very nice comments. It makes us very happy to know how much you were able to rest and sleep in our comfortable accommodations after such a long and tiresome trip. We are very sorry about you having missed the shuttle at the airport and for having to wait for the next one... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Everything about this place was average except for the US$150 price tag. That was too much. Sure breakfast is included but the menu is restricted to just a few items. I guess the dead cockroach was an added feature? This place was a last minute decision for us because there are better hotels for half that price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review

Dear Snarley, we really appreciate your comments because they help us as feedback for improving on a daily basis. We are very sorry that you feel that way about our price since we really do strive in providing anything our guests might need for them to have a pleasant and comfortable stay. For the breakfast at Denny´s if the guests... More 

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Exhausted, travel weary, sore bodied, worn out from trying to communicate...we dragged into this beautiful hotel on December 23rd. From the moment the Front Desk Associate (Peter) saw me, to the moment the bellman loaded our bags onto the shuttle bus to leave, my husband & I were completely impressed by the courtesy and gracious customer service afforded us by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl B, thank you for writing such amazing comments. First of all, we are very happy to learn how much you enjoyed not only our hotel but also our country. This is a hotel that takes our guests well being and satisfaction very seriously because we really do thrive on our guests´ happiness. We want them to see them... More 

Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

this is perhaps the most boring hotel ever. It's close to the airport, reasonably priced, and the rooms are old, but clean. The included breakfast is a very limited subset of the normal menu at the attached Denny's. It's like being in any small-town motel in the US. Good for a night before/after a flight, but I wouldn't recommend it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review

Dear tnjgotts, we appreciate your comments about our hotel. We are happy to inform you that eventhough the hotel not new, our premises and rooms are constantly being remodeled and renovated. Our last room renovations was just a couple of years ago and we really thought that they look very nice, with very comfortable furniture and ammenities to make our... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

We stayed in this hotel one 2 separate occasions as a stop over into and out of Costa Rica. The hotel is located about 15-20 mins away from the airport and just out of the city centre area. The hotel room we got was a bit old and the room a bit run down with very basic amenities. However, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review

Dear Stapatt, thank you for sharing such a thorough review about your stay in our hotel. It makes us very happy to know that you liked our services so much (the free wifi and the free shuttle service to and from the airport) and that you found our location so convenient (we are about 15 minutes away from the airport... More 

Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

The hotel is very well located in the business district of Costa Rica. Breakfast at the denny´s is well worth it. It has a nice pool and gym area with spa. The rooms are clean, but a little old and run down on the bathroom installation. The TV is an old style with not much channels to enjoy. When I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review

Dear MaxAres, thank you for posting your comments about our hotel. It is terrific that you found our hotel so convenient for you, like our location, since we are not only near the airport (about 15 minutes away from it) but also about 10 minutes from downtown and right in the business district. Also our premises have everything our guests... More 

Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

This hotel was included in our Groupon vacation. Very clean, has air-conditioning, the provide free breakfast at the adjoining Denny's. Nice pool and hot-tub area. Ask for a room overlooking the pool. Each room has a small balcony. I'd recommend it. They also have free shuttle service to/from the San Jose Airport. Very friendly people working there !! They have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review

Dear tinaw2010, thank you for posting your awesome review. It is wonderful to learn how comfortable and clean you found our accommodations, how nice you found our entire premises and how convenient and nice you found our services (especially our complimentary breakfast at Denny´s, and our staff who are always one step ahead, complying with our guests´ needs and requests... More 

Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We stayed at this hotel 1 night prior to checking into our timeshare for a week. The hotel was nice...clean & staff very helpful. The casino was a little dirty & run down. The hotel bar & restaurant were O.K., but the food wasn't to our liking, but our friends with us liked it. Overall a good stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review

Dear David10159, thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay in our hotel. It is wonderful to know that eventhough your stay with us was such a short one, you were able to enjoy very much the night you and your friends stayed with us. It is extremely important for us to ensure that every one of... More 

West Jordan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel because I was working nearby and my customer recommended it. I'm glad they did. It was a very nice hotel and convenient. The hotel offers free transportation to/from the airport. It operates on a schedule - and it was easy to find the blue/white-Best Western van outside of the international arrivals area. When I checked-in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Irazu, responded to this review

Dear LAR801, thank you for writing such a terrific and thorough review. It makes us very proud when we are able to happily surprise our guests with services and accommodations that go beyond their expectations and we are very happy to learn that that was the case with you. We are delighted to know that everything in our hotel was... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Irazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Irazu

Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Irazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Irazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western
BEST WESTERN Irazu Costa Rica/San Jose
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#18 Business Hotel in San Jose

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay