We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aldea Hostel

Avenida 2, Calle 28 100m sur Pizza Hut Paseo Colon | Frente a la Sala Garbo, San Jose 10001, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aldea Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Aldea Hostel
Aldea Hostel
Aldea Hostel
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    25
    14
    13
    6
See reviews for
1
22
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Chilbolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The negative reviews on this place seem strange, as it's a charming little place, friendly staff, really useful spot to walk into town. The best place to stay if you're looking to hire a car. Acoustics are standard for a hostel. Cool kitchen, fridge space, and it's secure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Public Relations Manager at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hola! Thank you for rating and leaving feedback about Aldea! We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to have you again at Aldea. More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

I stayed in Aldea hostel for only one night after I landed and stayed in the private room to which I payed more than $30. The staff was nice but I didn't like it because the acoustic is horrible. I could hear everything that happened around in the other rooms. People came in the middle of the night and sat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aldea_Hostel_Team, General Manager at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you, we appreciate your feedback! We're sorry that your stay with us was less than exceptional and your feedback has helped us to plan our next phase of improvements. We apologize for the noise, lack of working electtrical plugs and hot water. We are a 100 year old mansion and still have more upgrades to complete and we... More 

Nicaragua
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Very cold at night. Bathroom stank. WiFi drops in and out. Noisy in the morning if you sleep in the dorm off the common area. Only 2 power points in the room for 4 guests. Hot water only a few hours a day (the afternoon or very early in the morning). Reception staff were unfriendly and rude. I emailed the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director General at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Amanda, Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate your feedback. We apreciate that you have liked our location, the interior of our hostel and the restaurant next door. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations and we would like to apologize for this. Your feedback is very useful as it will help us to improve the quality of... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We stayed for two nights and were disappointed with this hostel. The worst hostel we stayed in during our time in Costa Rica especially for the price. The customer service was terrible, the staff on the front desk were unfriendly and not interested in helping at all. They also were unable to provide maps or suggest what to see in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, General Manager at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Donna, Thank you for choosing Aldea hostel and providing feedback on our service. We would like to apologize for the poor customer service at the time of your stay. Due to having many guests and demands, our staff can be over-burdened and not provide the best customer service that all of our guests deserve. To solve this issue, we... More 

Medellin, Colombia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

This was a perfect hostel for what we were looking for. It was fairly noisy but it's in a great area, and a super convenient walk to supermarkets and the bus station, scotia bank etc. I would recommend this hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Clay! Thank you for providing feedback! Unfortunately, due to our proximity to the main street of San Jose and being in a popular location, we do have to contend with traffic and pedestrian noises at times. Sorry to hear that this affected the quality of your stay. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

I love this place. The staff is always welcoming and awesome and make you feel like part of the family.Can't say enough good things about the owner Amir. Ever since my second visit here 3 years ago he calls me by my first name. Atmosphere is always kick back and relaxing with lots other travelers. Place is old and to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Vito! We are so grateful for your wonderful feedback! We do our best for our guests, making you feel welcome and a part of our family. So many of our guests visit us and leave with new friends, business partners and an overall wonderful experience. We are extremely glad that we were able to do this for you. It... More 

Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

What can I say?- by far one of my favourite hostels! ! stayed here a couple of times when passing through San Jose and each time did not disappoint. I think it was the hospitality that I appreciated the most (although the decor is pretty sweet too!). The staff are super friendly and Emir is really attentive towards his guests-... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Koreen! We are glad to know once again that you were pleased with your stay at Aldea! As always, we strive to provide the best experience for our guests and are always improving our service and facility to keep our guests happy. We look forward to having you with us again and to show our appreciation, we would like... More 

Cairns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

I stayed here three nights as it's well located being not even one block from the main Ave Central, close to where the buses leave from, and 10-15 minutes walk from downtown San Jose. It's a charming building with a lot of potential but needs updating to make it liveable and likeable. The lighting is poor and one staircase almost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, General Manager at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Zim! Thank you so much for your feedback! We are glad to know that our hostels location was of benefit to you. We are proud in being in one of the most saught after locations in San Jose. Our Mansion is over 100 years old and has needed many upgrades. We have recently updated our plumbing and water heating... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I stumbled across this little boutique style place while doing business in San Jose and decided to kick back and relax with the other travelers and had a great experience., The owner is from Turkey and the staff from all over the planet but the front desk staff seem to know everything about the region and to my knowledge they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Public Relations Manager at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Curtis! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment about your experience at Aldea. We are always pleased to read the amazing comments left by our guests as this motivates us to keep up the great work. We are constantly making adjustments and improvements to our hostel and customer service to provide an even better experience... More 

San Josecito, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Greeted kindly upon arrival. The hostel is in an awesome old house decorated with great art work, a pool table and good vibes and music. Dorm rooms are super spacious, clean and comfortable. Close enough to walk to the enter of town & perfectly far enough away to get a solid, quiet night of sleep. The restaurant adjoining the hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Front Office Manager at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hola Floreina! It’s so amazing to know that we have met with your expectations during your stay in our hostel. It is an honor to receive such a beautiful review! The Staff always welcome our guests with a smile in their face, sharing the Pura Vida and the good vibes that are so characteristic of the costarican people. The convenient... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Aldea Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldea Hostel

Address: Avenida 2, Calle 28 100m sur Pizza Hut Paseo Colon | Frente a la Sala Garbo, San Jose 10001, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Aldea Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldea Hostel Costa Rica/San Jose

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay