We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 San Jose accommodations

Aldea Hostel

Avenida 2, Calle 28 100m sur Pizza Hut Paseo Colon | Frente a la Sala Garbo, San Jose 10001, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Aldea Hostel to your Saves list
Aldea Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
68%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014
Saltchunk Missoula, Montana
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    21
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
1
18
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We got this hostel recommended by lonely planet but it's not a clean place to stay. We were just in the room behind reception that it was noise and staff wasn't friendly neither helpful. Nothing special about pool or other hosted people. Just a place to sleep if you have a quite room and you don't care about cleanness

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have travelled for 16 years and stayed in hundreds of hostels and I think this may be the worst. I haven't marked it "terrible" though, as I only stayed one night so I may have well been unlucky. 1. Room was FILTHY when I got in there. Bins overflowing with used toilet paper, filthy floor. Had to get a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Missoula, Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hostel is in a neat old Victorian house with awesome decorations and paintings. It has a large pool table and outdoor kitchen and patio area. Downsides...I thought the dorm room was realllllly dirty and each dorm room has a private bath which I doubt gets cleaned regularly because it was grimy foresure. It's also a bad layout having a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Saltchunk, Thanks for the compliments given to our hostel! The style of the house is unique, beautiful and original paintings, good taste in the color combinations of the house, and the common areas, ideal for meeting and sharing with the other backpackers. “The Corner Pizzeria” is a great option for having lunch or dinner and we are happy to... More

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The bathrooms were dirty, the showers were moldy, there was hair build up in the corners. The water trickled down the walls in the shower closet. and I got spider bites during the one night that I stayed (this is after staying on a farm for two weeks with no bites and at the beach for a week with no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Rosie, We are glad to know that you were charmed about the beautiful deco of our house! This colonial-like house attracts the looks of all our travelers for its unique style. At Aldea, we make huge efforts to maintain the dorms, private rooms and common areas clean and tide, providing daily deep cleaning to the house. Also, we have... More

Montpellier, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Very nice and welcoming staff, clean dorms, pretty calm, nice kitchen full equiped, small courtyard snooker and good pizzeria! Ideally located close to the center and 3 minutes from the TICABUS station. Godd prices for the service! Disfrute amigos! Jean-Arthur.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hola Jean! We feel really flattered for all these good comments you have made about Aldea! It is really important to know that you had a pleasant stay with us during your time in San Jose! Every day our goal is to make our guests feeling like at home, by having a comfortable sleep, nice relaxing time playing some pool... More

Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I spent 2 nights at Aldea, and was amazed at how laid back everyone was there! The staff was particularly cool and helfpul. I loved the pool table and the overall style of this place. My room was a bit noisy (front street window), but it was ok. Location was great (10 minute walk to downtown, and 2 minute walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hey OBM97, It is awesome to know that you have really liked and enjoyed our hostel in the heart of San Jose. The location of the place is privileged since we are close to all the bus terminals, 5 minute walk to downtown and all the interesting places to visit in the area. Our staff members are always with the... More

San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

nice music when you enter, friendly staff. some even speak english. only 4 people per room, bathrooms and showers with hot water for each room.also comes with breakfast. and a really nice backyard area =)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hola Bumblebeelea, Thanks for all the positive feedback! This motivates us to keep on doing a great job in our hostel. The staff is one of the best aspects of the place, all of them speak good English and have a great attitude towards the clients. We try to have a really nice ambience, so that’s why we play a... More

Colville, Washington
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The place is filthy and a good place to have all your stuff stolen. I got bed bugs there. And a case of impetigo too. The loud music played till to the wee hours. The mean spirited desk clerks don't care about the guests at all. Good luck trying to use the dirty ill equipped kitchen the workers dominate it.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, General Manager at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Gary. Due to the previous problems we had, in which you caused an scandal with some guests and even a staff member, to avoid further problems we kindly asked you to leave the hostel to search for another hostel rather than to stay with us.. Even though whatever you have mentioned here are not true, we feel responsible to... More

Key West, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

A cab driver pretty much scooped us into his cab and took us here. I was exhausted and confused I knew as soon as we walked in we were in the right place! They have fun music playing and you walk into the main lounge play area with a pool table we were greeted with a smile and it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, General Manager at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words about both our staff. We at Aldea are always happy to hear that we´ve excelled to meet our customers needs and standards, as we come think of you all as family. Aldea Hostel´s prime central location is one of the biggest assets to the city and its guests and are happy its... More

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
32 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I spent six nights at the Aldea Hostel in December of 2013. I rented a private room for 30USD/night. I was given room 104, which is accessed from the lobby. It consisted of a very comfortable full size bed (with a real spring mattress), a set of bunk beds, plenty of pillows, a nightstand on each side of the double... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AldeaStaff, Director General at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

We would all like to thank you very much for your indepth review of our hostel. To receive a top notch comment such as this makes us proud of the work we do and happy that our customers view us to such standards. We are happy that you found everything to your liking, from: the facilities and the ammenities to... More

Been to Aldea Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldea Hostel

Also Known As:
Aldea Hostel Costa Rica/San Jose
Address: Avenida 2, Calle 28 100m sur Pizza Hut Paseo Colon | Frente a la Sala Garbo, San Jose 10001, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Specialty lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to enjoy the untapped excitement of San Jose, Aldea Hostel is sure to lead you in the right direction. Like Aldea in Cordoba, Argentina we are the meeting point for travelers from all over the world who are looking to get the best out of these great cities. Right in the sweet spot where all the best happenings of San Jose take place. Standing in front of the famous Sala Garbo theater, known for its showings of intellectual foreign films. You will be no more than 100 meters from Paseo Colon, the street where most national celebrations take place such as “Festival de la Luz” and “El Desfile de Carrozas” which start off the New Year’s party! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Aldea Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aldea Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.