We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aldea Hostel

Avenida 2, Calle 28 100m sur Pizza Hut Paseo Colon | Frente a la Sala Garbo, San Jose 10001, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aldea Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Aldea Hostel
Aldea Hostel
Aldea Hostel
Rate this Hotel

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    26
    14
    13
    6
See reviews for
1
23
40
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (113)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

There has been some improvements since my last visit. Not only have they renovated some of the rooms now they even have a bar and a delicious pizza. Great value for the price. Great location also. The only negative is that it can get laud sometimes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I returned to San Jose during my trip simply bc I knew that I could stay here. This establishment attracts guests who are eco conscious, warm, and open, yet the hostel still allows for privacy and comfort. All of the employees are sincere and helpful. One evening a guy was playing guitar outside and I joined him with a big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Hostel is one of the best I've ever been in my trip. The people who work there are Always nice and open to help you anytime ! One big thank you to Kevin, the guy at the desk, who make your day better playing songs with his guitar ! The rooms are very clean and they have a beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a sweet little midway spot for your travels. My mate fell through the bed so be careful getting into the bunks. Cool looking place with sweet kitchen area. Wifi slow as less than 1mb download get a sim card for $3 from down the road Oh.. and i recommend not going out at night. IG @world_nate

Was this review helpful? Yes
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My experience at Aldea Hostel was amazing, Amir, Andrea, Kevin & the rest of the volunteer staff were amazing. At the end of the day, if you are expecting a 4 or 5 star experience in another country, you should stay at a hotel. If you are seeking exceptional value, and friendly & hospitable service at a hostel, this place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hola! Thank you for leaving such amazing feedback about Aldea! We are very pleased that your experience at Aldea was fantastic and we are happy to know that you enjoyed our outdoor kitchen, the service from our stafff and your overall stay with us. We are constantly improving our facility and we will be upgrading our kitchen appliances We look... More 

Chilbolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

The negative reviews on this place seem strange, as it's a charming little place, friendly staff, really useful spot to walk into town. The best place to stay if you're looking to hire a car. Acoustics are standard for a hostel. Cool kitchen, fridge space, and it's secure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Public Relations Manager at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hola! Thank you for rating and leaving feedback about Aldea! We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to have you again at Aldea. More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

I stayed in Aldea hostel for only one night after I landed and stayed in the private room to which I payed more than $30. The staff was nice but I didn't like it because the acoustic is horrible. I could hear everything that happened around in the other rooms. People came in the middle of the night and sat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aldea_Hostel_Team, General Manager at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you, we appreciate your feedback! We're sorry that your stay with us was less than exceptional and your feedback has helped us to plan our next phase of improvements. We apologize for the noise, lack of working electtrical plugs and hot water. We are a 100 year old mansion and still have more upgrades to complete and we... More 

Nicaragua
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Very cold at night. Bathroom stank. WiFi drops in and out. Noisy in the morning if you sleep in the dorm off the common area. Only 2 power points in the room for 4 guests. Hot water only a few hours a day (the afternoon or very early in the morning). Reception staff were unfriendly and rude. I emailed the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director General at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Amanda, Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate your feedback. We apreciate that you have liked our location, the interior of our hostel and the restaurant next door. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations and we would like to apologize for this. Your feedback is very useful as it will help us to improve the quality of... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We stayed for two nights and were disappointed with this hostel. The worst hostel we stayed in during our time in Costa Rica especially for the price. The customer service was terrible, the staff on the front desk were unfriendly and not interested in helping at all. They also were unable to provide maps or suggest what to see in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, General Manager at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Donna, Thank you for choosing Aldea hostel and providing feedback on our service. We would like to apologize for the poor customer service at the time of your stay. Due to having many guests and demands, our staff can be over-burdened and not provide the best customer service that all of our guests deserve. To solve this issue, we... More 

Medellin, Colombia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

This was a perfect hostel for what we were looking for. It was fairly noisy but it's in a great area, and a super convenient walk to supermarkets and the bus station, scotia bank etc. I would recommend this hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Aldea Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Clay! Thank you for providing feedback! Unfortunately, due to our proximity to the main street of San Jose and being in a popular location, we do have to contend with traffic and pedestrian noises at times. Sorry to hear that this affected the quality of your stay. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question