We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

KC Hotel San Jose

Calle Morenos, Sabana Sur | 100m West 175m South From la Contraloria, Sabana Sur, San Jose, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
KC Hotel San Jose
KC Hotel San Jose
Panoramas (16)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

The KC Hotel is right next to the national stadium and the park. To walk into the main part of the city will take you around 30mins, but there is plenty to see on the way. The rooms are clean, and the shower was the best we had in Costa Rica. The TV also works, so that is an added... More 

Helpful?
Thank TonyHonan
Sergio F, Gerente de Mercadeo at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, regards More 

Bormio, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015

We stayed at the kc hotel for 3 nights 2 nights in a suit and 1 night in superior room. The first room was clean with good ac and a comfortable bed. The second room was a lot smaller and had a bad smell of sewage in the bathroom (only in the morning). The pool area was nice and clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank peterg860
Sergio F, Marketing Manager at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this review

Thanks for your coments More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is the best within its price range, the rooms are basic but clean. The breakfast was extremely good with no restrictions on quantity. The pool is ok for a small hotel. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay or for somewhere to rest a tired body after a rainforest trek.

Helpful?
Thank Chester1971
Sergio F, Gerente de Mercadeo at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

There is nothing fancy or charming here but it is a decent hotel with a nice pool area. The rooms are somewhat dull, with no view, but relatively large and clean. The staff at the reception was welcoming and friendly. There is wifi in the room but it is slow. No air conditioning in the room, but the fan was... More 

Helpful?
Thank PhPhPh_12
Sergio F, Gerente de Mercadeo at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, at our hotel will be glad to serve you your next visit. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

I booked a room with KC Hotel. It was honestly poorly cleaned! it was not what the website advertised! IT DIDNT HAVE AC IN THE ROOMS!!!! Honestly the worst. The pool wasn't well kept. The clerk had an awful attitude and the rooms TV didn't work.

Helpful?
Thank Mario S
Sergio F, Manager at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this review

We are very sorry about your experience, are not excuses, but the rooms with AC are the superior, not the standard, for the climate in San José that is very rainy yes could be no ver clean the pool, because we clean it 3 times a week, and the TV issue is weird because, we have them working well on... More 

Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

This hotel was good for the price. The staff was very helpful. Irene in front went above and beyond to help me out. She clearly cares about the customers. The internet cuts out from time to time so don't expect to be able to stream video, but it is fine for normal use and pure voice Skype. They may get... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kolob64
Sergio F, Gerente de Mercadeo at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, we will keep on working to improve your observations More 

Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015

We have stayed here before and returned for another nice experience. While the room and bathroom could use an update, they were clean. The beds are comfortable. Our room was in the front of the hotel and closest to the street, but it was pretty quiet as the hotel sits back from the street. We had some yummy pizza at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Seaturtlewoman
Sergio F, Gerente de Mercadeo at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, we will keep on working to improve your observations More 

Liberia, Costa Rica
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

The bathrooms and showers at this place need some serious redoing... For the price way below what you would expect. The shower tiles are moldy, the bathroom in general is dark and the smell of stale urine (I hope that's not what it was) overwhelmed the room. I stayed in room 327 and better believe I will never be staying... More 

Helpful?
Thank terraba
Sergio F, Gerente de Mercadeo at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this review

Good day, thanks for comment, we will take special care on your opinion, about the smell we are shure was only this, and we are reporting this issue immediately to take care of it. We are sorry for your experience, at any problem with a room we can change it under disponibility. Regards More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

This hotel is well located close to Sabana park and a business district. The rooms were clean but somewhat rundown. The bathroom was not in great condition and there were plumbing issues. The toilet sometimes flushed and sometimes didn't while their were weird noises coming from the pipes throughout the night. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kikunia M
Sergio F, Gerente de Mercadeo at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, seguimos esforzandonos para mejorar, y esperamos lo compruebe su próxima visita. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

We stayed here for several nights. The hotel is in a great central location in Sabana. The room was clean and the pool was decent. Free Breakfast was good but limited fruit selection. The computers available in the lobby were very useful as I'd forgotten my laptop charger at home. The staff were nice but not quite as attentive as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catty_Vega
Sergio F, Marketing Manager at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, we are working to improve our services. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

411 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (327)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Family Room (40)
Viewed
Junior Suite (Double Beds) (38)
Viewed
Junior Suite (King Bed) (44)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (23)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (15)
Viewed
Standard Room (Double Beds) (32)
Viewed
Superior Room (Double Beds) (31)
Viewed
Superior Room (King Bed) (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.4 mi away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#29 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#32 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#10 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#6 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay