We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Escazu hotels

Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Prospero Fernandez Highway | in front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com IHG
and 8 more sites!
79%
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Escazu
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
JoAnn J Fountain Valley, California
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    149
    45
    24
    23
See reviews for
56
117
31
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Restaurant service was abominable. I e-mailed Intercontinental and old them I had booked Yokohama and Tokyo for September and October and the response I got was they would chastise the restaurant in Tokyo and give me 5000 points. Not only was customer service stupid, but they didn't read my compliant. I tried to get my complaint on their web site,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Lester M, your comments really concerns me specially as your experience is not echo of our high service standards. Please contact our Director of Rooms, Ernesto Carrero (ernesto.carrero@r-hr.com) in order to share more details about the challenges you faced in our facilities. Sincerely, Ricardo Menendez More

Fountain Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at this hotel in San Jose as a starting point for our vacation in Costa Rica. They allowed early check in which gave us a place to take a nap after flying all night. It was comfortable and the room was clean. We enjoyed our meals at the hotel restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Joann J, I am glad we made your first impression of Costa Rica as great as possible, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Thank you, Ricardo M. More

West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
4 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Caravan Tour, and loved the hotel. Gorgeous property. Had a nice view of the pool (though never had time to use it, or the hot tub!). The beds were comfortable. The only disappointment was the Margaritas! Very expensive, and tasted awful! Bartender needs a new recipe!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Pat B., we appreciate your honesty in regards to the quality and value of our Margaritas, we will review this item along with our Bar Staff. Thank you for perfect review, Ricardo M. More

Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel with a big infrastructure and nice places to have a meal around... Fair gym with new equipaments!! hotel with good accomodations, large bathroom and good breakfast station! the negative point is the distance from downtown and the daily traffic that we have to face to get to the city!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Eduardo284, we are glad you had time to enjoy and experience all our facilities and services. You are absolutely right, we are located in the suburbs of San Jose which requires a taxi ride however this is also one of our selling points due to the quieteness and safety of our location. Best regards, Ricardo M. More

South Colton, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights here. Beautiful hotel near a major mall. The food was very good especially breakfast. Have them make you an omelet with ingredients that you can choose to add. The pool was very nice but late afternoon you don't get much sun - just a section of the pool area will still be in the sun to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Higgins66, we thank you for such great review, you are correct the use of room keys in the elevators is for the safety of our guests. Sincerely, Ricardo M. More

Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights and found it to be very clean, quiet and comfortable. Our front facing 3rd floor room gave us an amazing view of the parrots which come every evening around dusk. It was a real treat to watch them! The pool area is beautiful and well maintained but there were no towels the first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Irina111, you have no idea how much we appreciate those beatiful parrotts you saw outside your window it remind us every day about the beauty of Costa Rica. Thank you for your comments, Ricardo M. More

Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Once again at this hotel, this time for almost 1 month. I can repeat that the hotel is great in following areas: - all restaurants, great food and good variety and selection - service level - clean in all areas - staff attention and friendliness, simply great however, 2 things I should say which I didn't find good (and were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Philipp_J1968, we appreciate your loyalty and constructive feedback, prior to your next visit please contact our Director of Rooms, Ernesto Carrero (ernesto.carrero@r-hr.com) and we will be delighted to arrange alternative accomodations in your guestroom to improve the comfort within it. Thank you, Ricardo M. More

boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed one night with the wife. very nice hotel with great staff. took an early shuttle to the airport and they even gave us a beautiful box lunch because we missed breakfast. beautiful pool and across walkway to the mall. wish we had stayed longer. no wifi in the rooms. room large with wonderful beds and pillows and very quiet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear grandpaBoston, we love you more after reading your review, it is great to know our staff made little actions that meant a lot to you. We look forward to welcome you back on a longer stay, Ricardo M. More

Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed one week for Business. Amazing breakfast but very expensive (buffet for 30usd). Several restaurants inside with Excellent quality but pricy. Gym was very good. Internet, room Wifi was very poor. It got disconnected all the time and It was Impossible to use Facetime or see videos. Parking was free but one night birds pooped all over my car.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Pato_River, be advised that during the second semester of this year we will changing the entire Hotel internet system in order to fix these opportunities you mentioned. Thank you for your comments, Ricardo M. More

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel, not cheap. We were booked here for two nights with Caravan tours but came a day early and selected this hotel for convenience. It's a $20 cab ride into San Jose and about $29 to or from the airport. Across from the major (but most expensive) shopping center in the country. But, there is a major grocery store... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ricardo M, General Manager at Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica, responded to this review

Dear Tim W, your calification is taken with honors. I am glad we created such impression during your short stay. Regards, Ricardo M. More

Been to Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica

Also Known As:
Real Intercontinental Hotel And Club Tower Costa Rica
Intercontinental Hotel Escazu
Real Costa Rica Intercontinental
Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica Escazu
Address: Prospero Fernandez Highway | in front of Multiplaza Shopping Center, Escazu 11856-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Escazu
#4 Business Hotel in Escazu
#6 Family Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally placed for business or leisure, discover an urban retreat in the heart of Escazú. Adjacent to the city’s most prestigious shopping mall with 365 stores, bars and restaurants and to Escazú Corporate Center. This San José, Costa Rica hotel features the hottest concepts in entertainment and dining, including 2 outdoor pools in landscaped gardens, the largest urban spa in Central America and 4 unique concept restaurants, The Market, Factory Steak & Lobster, NAU Lounge and Alfredo Trattoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Real InterContinental San Jose - Costa Rica to your Saves list