We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Sirena Hotel

Hotel website
100m West of the entrance to town, Quepos, Costa Rica
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Sirena Hotel
Professional photos View all
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
Rate this Hotel

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    78
    27
    15
    9
See reviews for
28
100
29
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here on a day trip from San Jose. This is not a luxury hotel by any means, but it is located in the heart of Quepos which was fun for a day. It's a short bus or taxi ride to Manuel Antonio park, without paying the high prices of the various hotels located in Manuel Antonio. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review about our hotel on Trip Advisor. We were glad to hear that our staff was friendly and you liked our location. We are constantly trying to make our rooms as comfortable as can be for our guests and will take your comments into account.. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Costa... More 

Caledon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel had over-the-top reviews, which was why we chose it for a night on our way to the Osa Peninsula. We were quite disappointed. This is an old, very basic hotel which has been cleaned up with a lot of paint, but nothing much else. Unsecured parking on the slightly 'edgy' street was our first apprehension. We were greeted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

We were disappointed that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Even though we are not a luxury hotel, we try to make up for this by not charging a high price and by including things like our made to order breakfast, excellent service etc.. We really want our guests to feel as if the La Sirena is... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we booked a superior room via booking. once got in, the hotel told us there's no room. Instead, they offered a Standart room. we also had to take care for the cancelation with booking, which took us an hour. the place itself if rather clean, but too modest. the breakfast is poor and the room is low standart. in addition,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review however we are very disappointed that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. We apologize for the mix up with the rooms and although we tried to make amends by giving you a substantial discount on your night with us, we know this does not make up for not having the room available.... More 

Benicia, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We were very pleased with our 4 night stay at La Sirena. The room was clean, well appointed and quiet. Wifi was good, the pool clean and breakfast excellent. It is an excellent value and the best hotel right in Quepos. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is no reserved parking, but they help you place your car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review and for the detailed comments regarding our small hotel. Its always good to keep getting positive comments about how friendly and helpful are staff is. Since we are not the fanciest hotel in Costa Rica we try to make for that with customer service and value. Thanks again. More 

Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Stayed for 4 nights on my Costa Rica Odyssee. The place is located in a slightly run Down street in Quepos - which is a good choice for cheap and decent sleeping when visiting Manuel Antonio. Staying here gives you the the chance for choosing between restaurants in the area - shopping at the local supermarket etc - instead of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we were glad you were able to stay so many nights with us. We have gone through the entire hotel and checked and rechecked all the outlets and lamps so that no one will have any issues. Glad to hear enjoyed the breakfast and that are staff was both friendly and helpful to you.... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

This place is very reasonably priced and we stayed here for 3 nights. It's a very clean hotel, near the bus station, with a lovely (but smallish) pool, comfy beds and welcome air-con! The staff are really helpful and friendly and there's a decent breakfast included. Quepos is a mixture of 'gateway tourist town' and 'real Tico town' and we'd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for putting such a eye catching title for your review.. It was also nice to read that you found our small hotel to be a good value and good location. As I have mentioned in previous responses, we are pride ourselves on our customer service and great to continue to hear how helpful and friendly we are. Thanks again... More 

Canton of Bern, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Very nice and small hotel, very clean rooms and calm situation. The car is save outiside on the street of the hotel, because a security guy is watching over during the whole night. The breakfast, which is served at the swimming pool area is simple, but very nice and included in the price. It is a great hotel for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. It was good to hear that you found it to a be good value and that you would recommend it for people staying in Quepos. Everyone likes that we include breakfast in our rates and that its not just a continental breakfast. Thank you again and we look forward to your... More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

My wife, our 10 year old and I traveled all over Costa Rica and we chose this Hotel in Quepos for the great reviews. We arrived at the end of our trip, and spent a night on Dec 28 2014. We were charged $118, which was paid in advance, 3 months prior to the trip. Upon arrival at the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Centrally located in Quepos ,the bus station a block away and banks similarly.A. quiet hotel though with a swimming pool which you can put to use after a hard day's activities.Breakfast is simple ,eggs and fruit with ample tea or coffee.Rooms are clean and air conditioned.Great hotel for the price and easy access to the national park.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

It was nice to read your review of our hotel. We are glad that you found our hotel a good value and that our central location in Quepos was helpful. We look forward to seeing you next time you come to Quepos and thanks for letting others know about your time with us. More 

Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

This hotel is nice, clean, great location and priced very reasonably. We stayed here 2 days and had a hard time deciding to move on to other areas in CR. Staff is great (the cook needs to learn how to make the eggs less greasy...). If we ever come back to Quepos we are very likely to stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of our place and for letting everyone on Trip Advisor know about your experience with us. Although the eggs were a little too greasy for you (we will talk to the chef :) ) , we were glad to read you like our location and cleanliness.. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

166 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (111)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (13)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (21)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question