We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Sirena Hotel

Hotel website
100m West of the entrance to town, Quepos, Costa Rica
Special Price
Save 25% - Book Now!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Sirena Hotel
Professional photos View all
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    94
    82
    30
    18
    9
See reviews for
30
108
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (233)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The price is very good. Rooms clean and quiet. Staff friendly and helpful. In centre of town but no noise pollution. Room was not completely dark at night but didn't bother me. Breakfast would benefit from a better quality of bread (I'm just being picky really). Very good facilities on offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and for making a list of all the things you liked about your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for sharing the highlights of your stay with others. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in La Sirena Hotel before going to Manuel Antonio, and had a great stay! The hotel is very clean, the staff is extremely nice and helpful, and the breakfast was delicious! I highly recommend a stay at La Sirena.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you letting everyone on Trip Advisor know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We, of course, were very happy to read about it as well. In addition keeping the hotel in order, we always try to give the best customer service and therefore its great to read that you found our staff nice and helpful. We hope... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

This hotel is so bare-bones that the bathroom of a superior room doesn't have any rods on which to hang towels! The rooms are poorly appointed--I've lived in budget hotels before (and this one is not cheap) but here no one seems to have thought about ways in which to make the rooms welcoming or comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review although we are disapointed that we were not able to get a 5 star review. Although we are budget hotel we do try to make up for the lack of amenities that other more expensive hotels might offer with, among other details, a helpful and friendly staff. Therefore, we were happy to read that you... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

This hotel was quite basic and was in general a reflection of quepos.. It is not the most happening town and the choices for dining and entertainment are quite limited.. The only advantage of staying in quepos is that you save on hotel rates and it is only a short drive away.. I would only recommend staying in quepos if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel however we are disapointed that we did not get a 5 star review although it seems that part of your grade may have been about the town. Since we are a budget hotel (our hotel slogan is "budget in price not in quality or service", we try to make up for what we may... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

My wife and I read the TripAdvisor reviews and forums in-depth before our trip, planned several days here at La Sirena hotel in Quepos and were instantly disappointed. The hotel isn't very clean, the front desk is not necessarily friendly, and the location (Quepos in general) is nothing to be proud of. The only advantage to staying in Quepos is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

We were disapointed to read your review of our hotel and are always concerned when we read reviews such as yours. Although we are a budget hotel, we certainly try to do all that we can to make our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay and we kindly ask our guests that if they are unhappy at any... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I stayed here on a day trip from San Jose. This is not a luxury hotel by any means, but it is located in the heart of Quepos which was fun for a day. It's a short bus or taxi ride to Manuel Antonio park, without paying the high prices of the various hotels located in Manuel Antonio. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review about our hotel on Trip Advisor. We were glad to hear that our staff was friendly and you liked our location. We are constantly trying to make our rooms as comfortable as can be for our guests and will take your comments into account.. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Costa... More 

Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

This hotel had over-the-top reviews, which was why we chose it for a night on our way to the Osa Peninsula. We were quite disappointed. This is an old, very basic hotel which has been cleaned up with a lot of paint, but nothing much else. Unsecured parking on the slightly 'edgy' street was our first apprehension. We were greeted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

We were disappointed that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Even though we are not a luxury hotel, we try to make up for this by not charging a high price and by including things like our made to order breakfast, excellent service etc.. We really want our guests to feel as if the La Sirena is... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

we booked a superior room via booking. once got in, the hotel told us there's no room. Instead, they offered a Standart room. we also had to take care for the cancelation with booking, which took us an hour. the place itself if rather clean, but too modest. the breakfast is poor and the room is low standart. in addition,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review however we are very disappointed that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. We apologize for the mix up with the rooms and although we tried to make amends by giving you a substantial discount on your night with us, we know this does not make up for not having the room available.... More 

Benicia, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We were very pleased with our 4 night stay at La Sirena. The room was clean, well appointed and quiet. Wifi was good, the pool clean and breakfast excellent. It is an excellent value and the best hotel right in Quepos. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is no reserved parking, but they help you place your car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review and for the detailed comments regarding our small hotel. Its always good to keep getting positive comments about how friendly and helpful are staff is. Since we are not the fanciest hotel in Costa Rica we try to make for that with customer service and value. Thanks again. More 

Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Stayed for 4 nights on my Costa Rica Odyssee. The place is located in a slightly run Down street in Quepos - which is a good choice for cheap and decent sleeping when visiting Manuel Antonio. Staying here gives you the the chance for choosing between restaurants in the area - shopping at the local supermarket etc - instead of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we were glad you were able to stay so many nights with us. We have gone through the entire hotel and checked and rechecked all the outlets and lamps so that no one will have any issues. Glad to hear enjoyed the breakfast and that are staff was both friendly and helpful to you.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

166 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (111)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (13)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (21)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay