We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Quepos B&Bs / inns

Blue Banyan Inn

2000 m NE Finca Azul | Finca Azul, Quepos, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Blue Banyan Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Banyan Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 11 Quepos B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014
Cri061 Miami Beach, Florida
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    9
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (108)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Quepos is where we wanted to be for surfing, but the idea was to spend time just surrounded by the peacefulness and beauty of nature, spectacular mountain views, only 15 minutes away from the beach. The road to get to BBI is unpaved, but in great condition, in an agricoltural area with fields and fields of palm oil trees: very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scandia, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We recently stayed here several nights while visiting Manual Antonio park and nearby attractions. Our cabin was attractive. The grounds are lovely. The rural location, blessedly, is away from the noise and commotion of Quepos and Manual Antonio. It is not on the ocean but has a large swimming pool and view of the mountains. A good reason for staying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BBIHostess, Manager at Blue Banyan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Ruth and Dan! Glad you enjoyed it here and we hope you come back to visit! Vernita More

Williston, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is owned by a retired American who clearly has no interest in customer service. The owner DOUBLE BOOKED our romm. So when we arrived at this remote location, after dark, we were informed they did not have a bed for us. Our taxi had already left and we were stranded. To top it off, we talked with the owner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BBIHostess, BBi Hostess at Blue Banyan Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, Wow..it's Vernita and I remember you and your husband very clearly and yes my boss overbooked and yes I was just as upset as you were but man.. I guess you forgot that we didn't charge for your night stay in the horrible bunk room , we gave you a ride to town and we gave you a... More

Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very beautiful place. However, it is far! For those who enjoy the tranquility and peace, this is the place. The rooms are nice and clean. There is no mobile network and wifi does not work. There is air conditioning and very little hot water in the shower. The pool is very large and clean. The breakfasts are excellent, banana pancakes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
canuk_66, Manager at Blue Banyan Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, Our Wifi does work! You might of just been here when we were going through our transition because we now have our own tower. They only time it may not work is if the electric company is working on lines and they turn off the signals throughout the town of Quepos/Manuel Antonio. Depending on which cottage you stay... More

Calabasas, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Blue Banyan is one of the holistically nice places we've ever stayed. You just feel good about it, about what the owners are doing, and we were sad to leave. My family stayed at the Blue Banyan for for 4 days. We have a precocious 8-year-old, who loved the chance to volunteer and feed the monkeys with Barb. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
canuk_66, Manager at Blue Banyan Inn, responded to this review

"Keep in mind, the place is in the jungle in Costa Rica. It's not a Hyatt or anything. Humidity takes its effect on everything after awhile. Things won't be perfect, but they will be great." You summed it up perfectly!! Thank You! Vernita Gundy BBI Hostess/Manager More

Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at blue banyan inn for two nights in July. We made our reservations well in advance (January, with confirmation) for a suite in what is now primarily lodging for the animal sanctuary volunteers. We were told that there had been a recent switch in the lodging in that the cabins were now the main place for travelers and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
canuk_66, Manager at Blue Banyan Inn, responded to this review

Due to the fact of increasing volunteers to help care for the animal at our onsite sanctuary, we had to covert 2 of the rooms that were used for guest into volunteer housing instead but still accommodating guest only in our 3 cottages. I'm glad we worked everything out for you! Thanks, Vernita Gundy BBI Hostess/Manager More

Lancaster, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We just came back from a stay here with our 3 chldren, ages 5,7 and 9. Here are the positives and negatives of staying here: Positives 1) It was off the beaten path and away from the crowds in town. It was about a 15 min drive down a bumpy unpaved road (which was doable for our mid-size Hyundi Elantra).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
canuk_66, Manager at Blue Banyan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for all of the positives!! Although Barb and Jim still live on the property, they no longer run Blue Banyan Inn, so that's why you didn't see them at all. As far as the menu, we are always working on doing different things but we do not have a full time chef to come up with different breakfast... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Our four nights were spent in the generous Hibiscus cottage. We were greeted each morning by the friendly owner Jim at breakfast...our heartiest meal of the day. Get ready...the pancakes are fantastic. Jim's conversation was genuine and just the right dose of hospitality at the start of our day. The grounds and views were beautiful, the pool refreshing, and cottage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Calgary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had read the positive revues in TripAdvisor but as we drove the 4km road off the highway began to wonder what I'd gotten us into. It's narrow and very rocky. Once there however we were very pleased we'd booked it. The three cottages are all very comfortable and clean. The pool area was beautiful. We were there five days... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Banyan Inn for three nights in March 2013 and had a wonderful experience. If you're looking for a standard hotel room next to town, this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for a unique experience, an inn "off the beaten path" (literally), a warm and friendly staff and wonderful accommodations---then definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Blue Banyan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Banyan Inn

Address: 2000 m NE Finca Azul | Finca Azul, Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Blue Banyan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Banyan Hotel Quepos
Blue Banyan Inn Costa Rica/Quepos

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (46)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Near Blue Banyan Inn

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby