We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Michael's Surfside Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
2.0 of 5
Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Michael's Surfside Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Michael's Surfside Hotel
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    18
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
26
35
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (109)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
There are newer reviews for Michael's Surfside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Micheal the owner was nice however the room we stayed in was awful. Mold smell, we had thin sheets on the bed with no mattress cover ....gross!! Dead bugs all behind the bed. The bed skirt on the single bed was filthy. The swimming pool and area was nice. I chose this hotel because of reviews and pictures but not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hammerheadswamp, Owner at Michael's Surfside Hotel, responded to this review

Sometimes you have to wonder. Who were these people? I and my employees always ask our guests to let us know if anything is needed or out of order when they check in. We also inquire about their room and stay when they are checking out. That is standard policy. This is a small hotel and it would be nearly... More 

Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I needed a night on our way to Nicoya, & didn't need anything special. Michael took my reservation over the phone & until we arrived - too early - I'd not had previous contact with him. He let us have the room at 1:30, let us use the hotel's clothesline & put our things in the dryer when that wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Vito, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I am usually a really cheap traveler, preferring to stay in hostels rather than hotels but I'd definitely go again! Like other reviewers said: Michael is incredibly honest! Incredibly helpful! Learning I wasn't there as a mere tourist but to hook up with a friend (stopping for the day on a cruise ship) whom I hadn't seen in 12 years,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I recently went to costa rica for the first time, and we are hoping to come back after the good experince we had there. we spent 4 fabulous nights at Michael's surfside. we had a woderful time there; the service is perfect, the staff is very attentive and the prices are reasonable. it is a very quiet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Michael is one of the honest guys in the country. We were planning to stay there just one day, but ended with four. It is good place for a hub to visit Paquera, Tortuga island, Jaco and zip lines. If needed he can help to organise the day trips. He was really opened, cheerful and helpful. The hotel had small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dillon, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Michael's surfside hotel is a great place to stay. The people are great and the beach is like 50 feet from the front of the hotel. It's well worth the price that you pay.The hotel has Air conditioning, WiFi and a swimming pool. Michael can also get discounts on many different adventure trips throughout Costa Rica.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The decision to stay at Michael's was an easy one - The reasonable rates and the location! When my girlfriend and I checked in, we were a little disappointed that the pool was under construction (it should be finished now), but the beach was literally right across the street. The water temperature in May was absolutely amazing! Michael recommended taking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hungry Horse, Montana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very clean hotel with relaxing pool area and great location. We had a car but really did not need it once we arrived. Michael and his staff are very kind and helpful. The ocean is just across the street and the ferry is only a couple of blocks over. Great Value!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Michael welcomed us enthusiastically to his hotel. Its a 8 min walk from the ferry, which is the main reason tourists come to this town. The room was clean, with cable TV, A/C, fridge and hot plates. There is a pool with a pleasant open area around it to relax. The hotel is opposite a boardwalk that overlooks the ocean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

So difficult to review this hotel because it's not luxurious (if you are looking for that), BUT ....overall WHO CARES! This is a great place to stay because the owner - Michael - makes your stay pleasant. He doesn't "eat out" much so don't expect restaurant reviews - DO EXPECT excellent service and kindness (including good advice about any little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question