We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Puntarenas B&Bs / inns

Michael's Surfside Hotel

Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Michael's Surfside Hotel to your Saves list
Michael's Surfside Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
87%
Ranked #3 of 13 Puntarenas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014
Helene B Vancouver Island, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (70)
  • Photos (51)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (11)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Traveler rating
    44
    17
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
14
23
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at Michael's surf side in the family room. Yes the rooms seems like they are coming from the 60's but we saw no mosquitos or cockroaches :-) we did not use the "kitchen", it was not very clean. Puntarenas is not a nice city anymore. You only go there if you need to take the ferry, that's it.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our trip to Puntarenas and Michael's Surfside Hotel were disappointing at best. The police escorted us to our hotel room while walking there from the bus stop (which was more than a mile away). The room was outdated and smelled of mildew. The TV was broken and the "free wifi" was only available around the pool. Although it was located... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Michael's Surfside is a great place to upgrade if you're used to hostels --clean, secure, private, with lots of amenities--for a fair price. There is a funky charm about the place, with colorful murals that set it apart from the ordinary. Located right across from the beach. The staff is friendly and helpful; they will go out of their way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stopped at Michael's Surfside for a night ahead of zip lining. Room was clean, well equipped and everything worked. Did not go wrong as a last minute AirBnB booking and Michael is really accommodating. Felt very safe leaving our rental in his locked yard. Would return if ever in the area. Thanks Michael!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chugiak, Alaska
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

the perfect location and more than reasonably prices, Michael's Surfside Hotel is the perfect place to stay in Puntarenas! There are looong stretches of beach right across the street, gambling casinos and good restaurants all around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ohio City, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

As a traveling company we have been using Michael's Surfside Hotel for several years and we have not complaints at all about the hotel, service and Michael's kindness. We have taken groups of teenagers to this hotel during the summer and everything has been always a good experience. If you are traveling to Puntarenas or taking groups to the Central... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This oceanfront hotel exceeded my expectations, and the owner/employees went above and beyond during my 9 day stay in Puntarenas last month. Michael is super pleasant and extremely accommodating! He assisted us with arranging for a guided tour of the area, and was always available to answer all the stupid questions that we tourists have. The room we stayed in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

It is right up the street from the Ferry, (I assume that is why you are in Puntarenas). Great stop over. Great pool, easy in and out. Mike is very accommodating to all your needs. Great place for the room rate. It is too bad that TripAdviser will let bad reviews stand, Where there is no evidence of the reviewer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Michael's Surfside Hotel for 10 days in October and absolutely agree with the vast majority of the reviewers that it was nothing but a positive experience. Michael and his staff are wonderful people and would ensure that your stay is enjoyable and pleasant. In response to another review and after having toured all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Micheal the owner was nice however the room we stayed in was awful. Mold smell, we had thin sheets on the bed with no mattress cover ....gross!! Dead bugs all behind the bed. The bed skirt on the single bed was filthy. The swimming pool and area was nice. I chose this hotel because of reviews and pictures but not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hammerheadswamp, Owner at Michael's Surfside Hotel, responded to this review

Sometimes you have to wonder. Who were these people? I and my employees always ask our guests to let us know if anything is needed or out of order when they check in. We also inquire about their room and stay when they are checking out. That is standard policy. This is a small hotel and it would be nearly... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Michael's Surfside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Michael's Surfside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's Surfside Hotel

Address: Paseo de los Turistas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Puntarenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Michael's Surfside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A quiet hotel on the beach, overlooking the Pacific Ocean, Gulf of Nicoya, Mountains and islands of Nicoya. All rooms include A/C, cable TV, WiFi Internet service, Kitchenettes, private bathrooms with hot water and some with jacuzzi. Swimming pool and secured covered parking on location included. Lowest comparable prices. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Michael's Surfside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer