We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Villas Gaia

Costanera Sur, Playa Tortuga, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villas Gaia
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Villas Gaia
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    43
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
36
67
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (140)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villas Gaia
See the most recent reviews
Rideau Lakes, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 via mobile

Three of us, with somewhat jaded tastes, were delighted by the excellent meals, the ambience, and the service. The coffee, in a country noted for great coffee, was the best I've had anywhere. A visit and a chat with the owner, Anna Scheepsma, capped off a memorable meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Only superlatives here, with one exception: Beautiful rooms, clean, nicely appointed, and in a gorgeous, tropical setting. Beds are very comfortable. Staff are friendly and speak both English and Spanish. For us, an added attraction is that the hotel management and staff are truly committed to "green" practices. There is some street noise, which quiets down at night. To be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Stayed here Sept. 8 & 9 to go whale watching in Uvita. While the hotel is clean and the staff are very accommodating it is unfortunately quite close to the highway and C.R. truckers have a very bad habit of using their jake brakes. The newly paved highway causes these morons in their trucks to travel a little fast and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

After two horrible days for us we arrived at Villas Gaia which was just a paradise for us. Everyone was so nice to us and anything we asked for could be arranged. Also they had a lot of information about trips you could go on and would help you arrange them. If you are looking for a very luxurious hotel,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillasGaia, Propietario at Hotel Villas Gaia, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice comment. We are happy to hear that we made your stay a nice one and that you could leave your previous 2 horrible days behind enjoying Villas Gaia and its surroundings More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Though it has been a while since we visited Villas Gaia, I still would like to leave a recommendation for travellors who are seeking some tranquility and who love the Pacific but find Manuel Antonio too crowded.. We spend our honeymoon in Costa Rica travelling the country by 4W drive and when we arrived at Villas Gaia and Tortuga Beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillasGaia, Propietario at Hotel Villas Gaia, responded to this review

We are glad that you remember us after almost a year and took the time to write a nice comment. We hope that with your next anniversary you will come to Costa Rica and visit us again!! The Villas Gaia team More 

Costa Rica
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We have had the good fortune of staying at Villas Gaia several times before and was happy to do so again for six nights. Our villa #5 was visited every day by lots of White Face monkeys. They came by for early breakfast and lunch. The monkeys and iguanas like to show up around the pool late afternoon. You will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roeselare, Belgium
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Easy to reach, as it is next to the main road along the Pacific. Quite charming as well and most of the staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant is good, but the breakfast is a bit disappointing (except for the home made marmalade) and not very well organized. Just hope not too many people want to have breakfast at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillasGaia, Propietario at Hotel Villas Gaia, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Lamote, Thank you very much for your comment. Since a couple of weeks we decided to offer breakfast for our guests in our hilltop rancho bar overlooking the Pacific ocean. Before this we offered breakfast in our restaurant. We are adjusting to this new situation with new furniture and space. Except for the homemade marmalade we offer the... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Villas Gaia is beautifully situated on a hilltop above a forest filled with life. We saw Scarlet Macaws, Toucans, and countless hummingbirds from the pool deck. Howler monkeys climbed in the trees above and around our charming bungalow (#12, very private) as we watched post-card sunsets from the porch. Unfortunately, the path to the beach was not open so we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VillasGaia, Owner at Hotel Villas Gaia, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your beautiful comment. We are pleased to announce that we have a private trail going to the beach from the pool area since last week. We hope we can welcome you again some day so you can enjoy this beautiful hike to Playa Tortuga. The Villas Gaia team More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This place was amazing! Landscape, pool, Staff, rooms and hot water! Awesome homemade bread and coconut jam marmalade for breakfast was the piece De resistance. However, it is in a preserved part of the coast and jungle like setting gives way for many, many critters! Still, I loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VillasGaia, Owner at Hotel Villas Gaia, responded to this review

Dear Isabel, thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our homemade bread and and marmalade. We will be happy to share recipes if you would like so. The critters come and go, but we will be there to welcome you again any time! Villas Gaia staff!! More 

Dominical, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Went there for a Sunday lunch and had delicious Tilapia with Shrimp dish & my husband had the Thai Chicken. The ambience is nice and location is easy to find, right off the Costanera highway. Service was great as well, with the World Cup playing in a cozy living-room style area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

110 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question