We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Montezuma hotels

Hotel El Tajalin

Frente al parque infantil, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
Hotel El Tajalin

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
60%
Ranked #16 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014
bouile Dublin, Ireland
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    11
    1
    7
See reviews for
5
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Booked in for 4 days at this place they call a hotel should be a hostel and for the money you pay you can get a cleaner and nicer room and a swimming pool just round the corner.! We spent the evening out having a meal and when we got back to the hotel there safe number had been changed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We booked here for 4 nights and paid upfront! As soon as we saw the room we immediately changed our minds, it was expensive, dirty and the room stunk really bad! We demanded a refund which didn't go down well! Eventually we agreed on staying 1 nite and had the rest refunded! We decided 2 go out 4 dinner and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel_El_Tajalin, Manager at Hotel El Tajalin, responded to this review

Dear Karen, I appreciate your review because if nothing else, it helps us evaluate how to deal with adverse situations and I feel I handled this badly when we spoke on your way out. I apologize for not just listening and understanding your point of view but to be honest, I felt insulted. You eventually said you did not like... More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Central location. We arrived late after 12 hours of traveling. It was cheap but the room we stayed in was very poor so we left again the next day and moved to a different hotel. Get what you pay for I guess !

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The cleaners were lovely and so welcoming. They were so good at their job and had a wonderful way with towels!(the elephant sculpture out of the towel was the best!) the reception staff were lovely as well! Overall a very nice place to stay :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel helped make the trip to Montezuma and was the favorite one I stayed in during our trip to Costa Rica. Centrally located and quiet, it had a/c, private baths and very reliable hot water. During the few moments we weren't hiking, surfing, or sitting on the beach - we enjoyed reading and napping in the hammocks on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

People at the reception were very nice and helpful. Rooms are big, clean and very comfortable. Hotel overall feels like home. Breakfast is not offered but you have some options nearby. They offer yoga class but only if bought as a package for an entire week. No noise, locatef near the beach. Maybe it was also the great and exceptional... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We recently stayed four nights at the El Tajalin. Our "superior room" was spacious and everything was in good order: a/c, fly screens, hot water, safety deposit box. Sadly the internet was a little slow, was OK to do e-mail, but too slow for e.g. YouTube. The staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't use the communal areas much, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed here a few days during Easter 2012. Very quiet place, hardly no other guests, staff is withdrawn and not very cheerful or helpful. The place does not offer breakfast and not even a cup of coffee. Ok place if you just need a clean bed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel_Tajalin, Manager at Hotel El Tajalin, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review. We used it as a wake up call and held several training sessions with our receptionists. One receptionist was able to take customer service to another level and is now active in making sure our guests are comfortable. Another was hired and trained to do the same. I'm sure you'll find that our receptionists... More

dorset, vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I recently spent three nights at the Tajalin. The location is ideal, as it is off the main street up a driveway, located next to the public park. The park is very quiet and shields the hotel from the bustle of the village. Everything is within a one minute walk. I felt very safe, as there are security people at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Facing a park near beach. Quiet, but 1/2 block to town. Clean, well kept, roomy, with hot water and AC. Great, accomodating, helpful staff and management. Lovely, large open air room with hammocks and a kitchen to hang out or cook which is closed at 10 PM so people can sleep. Some large steps, so if visually impaired would request... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Hotel El Tajalin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tajalin

Address: Frente al parque infantil, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly hotel just a few steps from the beach with a/c, WiFi, wood floors, free coffee and a big common area with Tv/Dvd. All major cards accepted. A good choice if you want to stay amid the hustle and bustle of Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Tajalin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Tajalin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel El Tajalin to your Saves list