We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shana Hotel & Spa

Hotel website
Road to Quepos Point, Manuel Antonio National Park 5000, Costa Rica
Special Price
40% off room rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shana Hotel & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shana Hotel & Spa
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    222
    76
    39
    18
    13
See reviews for
48
174
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (368)
  • Mar-May only
    (119)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I don't like to write bad reviews, usually i'd just rather have the universe sort things out, but felt my friend and i's experience was worth mentioning, since the reviews on this place don't accurately represent our experience. Honestly, this place is fine, but for what we paid, we expected more and would have paid more for better service. For... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chaska, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a nice hotel in Manuel Antonio. HOWEVER, for Costa Rica I was disappointed. It is the little things about service in Costa Rica that make a difference and they just did not have it. There is a concierge to help plan things to do, which was great. We went on a guided tour of the park which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana-Management, Leiter Front Office at Shana Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear MCaughron, thanks for leaving a comment on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you were staying at Shana, but also want to apologize for the negative aspects during your vacation. We are taking your review very serious to work harder on the satisfaction of all our guests. Thank you again for the review Greetings from Shana Hotel & Spa More 

Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Being in such beautiful area of the country we were lucky to find this fabulous hotel, located very close to the Bisans beach. The bed was so comfortable and very spacious, beautiful and clean room. The restaurant offer the best food and Pizza. The swimming pool area has a great view and all the staf are very friendly. Thank you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Asiia_Valentiine, thanks for your review on TripAdvisor about Shana. We are happy that you had a good time staying in our hotel and liked the pool and the food in our El Gusto Restaurant. If you are planning on coming again, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next stay. Greetings from... More 

New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spend my last weekend on Shana and it was just wonderful, I stayed in the presidential suite. Has its own pool, 3 bedrooms, huge living room and wonderful design and furniture. The Pizza is just amazing, you should definitely try it! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana-Management, Leiter Front Office at Shana Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jeffrey11693, thanks a lot for your review on TripAdvisor about Shana. We are very happy that you had a wonderful time staying in the presidential suite and enjoyed the pizza from our El Gusto Restaurant. If you are planning on coming back to Shana, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next... More 

Escazu, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing experience since my arrival! I was welcome by a great crew a refreshing drink and a helpful tour that showed me how beautiful this location is! Simply breathtaking... My experience at the restaurant was incredible since they serve the best pizza in town and have a great variety in their menu for other things, everything clean -well presented with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana-Management, Leiter Front Office at Shana Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear MaryvanG, thanks a lot for your great review on TripAdvisor about Shana. We are glad that you had a good time staying in our hotel and enjoyed the food in our restaurant and the massage. If you are planning on staying again in Shana, we would like to offer you a 20% discount for your next stay with us.... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lady front desk employee is not good for the job. Not enthousiastic and can not think for herself. We paid way too much for the room that we got, the rooms and total hotel is not very well mentained, the beds are very hard and uncomfortabl, pool is small and the Wi-Fi is poor. They said because of the rain,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shana-Management, Gerente at Shana Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jenna. Thank you for your review. We highly appreciate your feedback. As for miss Susan, our receptionist, we need to clarify that she did the job the way she was trained to do, in this particular case and I want to explain you why. The hotel policy as you read in booking.com as you booked over an external website... More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed 2 nights at this hotel, They have welcomed me with a refreshing drink as i arrived. Since it was off season i have asked the front desk manager Marco if they will be willing to upgrade my room and they did, for no extra charge.(Love Upgrades)..... The hotel was clean and the staff was very nice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana-Management, Propriétaire at Shana Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tomer, we thank you very much for your nice and positive review on Trip Advisor and we are very happy that you liked and enjoyed Shana Hotel. we will be happy to see again in Shana and we want to offer you a 20% discount for your next visit to you or to any member of your family. Thank... More 

Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Our stay was simply amazing! From the first moment we have arrived, the crew was super nice and helpful. We were upgraded to the Junior-Suite since we were on our honeymoon and the room was absolutely gorgeous, with a balcony and a view-point to the ocean. By far one of the best hotels I've been to.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Hadarba, thank you for the review. We are happy that you had a nice honeymoon at Shana and that you enjoyed staying in the Junior Suite. If you are planning on coming back again, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount on your next stay. Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence More 

Krimpen aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Shana hotel is situated close to playa Besanz (walking distance). A small little nice beach without huge waves (perfect for swimming).... I was really satisfied about the service of Shana hotel. The swimmingpool is nice and also the restaurant with great ocean views. The rooms are white and spacious. Because of the white decoration of the rooms you feel peace... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Unico Travel, thanks a lot for the review. We are glad that you had a great time staying at Shana and felt comfortable in our rooms. If you are planning on coming back again, please let us so we can offer you a 20% discount on your next stay. Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence More 

San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Super Friendly Staff. Famous Pizza. Amazing beds and bathrooms! And its super close to Playa Biesanz! Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel for families, friends or solo people! Thank you very much!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shana-Management, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Shana Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear dfonck, thanks for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed being at Shana and liked all the amenities around. If you are planning on coming again, please let us know so we can offer you a 20% discount for your next stay. Greetings from Shana Hotel & Residence More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

492 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (142)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (308)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (27)
Viewed
Junior Suite (33)
Viewed
Pool (36)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (85)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (22)
Viewed
Superior Room (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay