We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Manuel Antonio National Park B&Bs / inns

National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio

Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park | 300 Mts del Restaurante Marlen hacia el Parque Nacional de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 11111, Costa Rica
Hotel amenities
National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014
Desirete Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    11
    20
    12
See reviews for
1
28
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
There are newer reviews for National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio
See the most recent reviews
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good value for price! Close to the park and the beach. Very nice atmosphere in the communal areas of the hostel. The swimming pool was very clean and with plenty of sun beds around. Bathrooms were pretty ok. Sizeable shared kitchen with the basics, although people's food in the fridge was stolen all the time and somehow I doubt about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I decided to "book" this place because the other recommended hostels were already booked for private rooms; I say "book" because by the time I arrived we had no reservation in the suite I called twice to confirm. They only had a private room with shared bathrooms, as a courtesy the front desk lady gave me a $5 discount... my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Piscataway, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This was our least favorite hostel of our trip. We don't require much and thought that we could skip the AC and just have a fan, but since the room was on the second floor it was like a sauna. It was impossible to stay in the room while the sun was up. Maybe if we were on the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I like simple, cheap hostels, but even we had a horrible experience at this hostel. I received email confirmation from someone about my booking, and when we arrived they had "no space for us on the second night". The receptionists are sweet but very unprofessional, and unable to problem solve. The beds are VERY uncomfortable, and more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diego E, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

Dear Gillian, First off, thanks so much for staying with us. Second, I want to apologize with you about the service you received from the front desk (where by the way, we´ve made some staff changes already)... We have to apologize for the misunderstanding presented during your check in due to an human mistake we were overbooked for the next... More 

Palmares, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed two nights in the dormitory for women, and we loved it! Of course it is an hostel so our expectations were not high. They had a lot of bathrooms and showers that they cleaned all the time so that made us feel so much more comfertable! The atmosphere were great with an open and well equilped kitchen and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Diego E, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

We truly appreciate your comments about the hostel. It means a lot to us that you noticed how kind our staff is, our facilities, our closeness to the main beach ( walking distance) and of course to Manuel Antonio National Park, the cleanliness (housekeeping service), the free communal kitchen... There is nothing more motivating for us than receiving feedback like... More 

Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hostel had the dirtiest beds we have ever seen. The sheets were covered with stains. Because it was after 10 pm, we had to get the guard to come and have a look. He brought us new bedsheets, which had holes in them and were too small (for one person only). The mattress itself was disgusting. After complaining again,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Diego E, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

We apologize that we were not able to satisfy your demands! We are now taking actions to buy new sheets. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your vacations at this incredible and wonderful country!! We want to tell all our Tripadvisor readers that if there is a way we can make your stay better, we kindly ask that... More 

Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This place has one thing going for it and that is it: location. It is only 50 meters from the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park. Other than that, yikes! My wife and I have stayed in many hostels all around the world. This had to be one of the dirtiest I have ever seen. As stated by other customers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diego E, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

The management and staff here at National Park Backpackers are extremely sorry that this guest was not happy with his stay at our Hostel. It is forums like Tripadvisor that assist us to see our way clear to improve our overall service to our valued guests. Overall, we will make any necessary changes and/or corrections based upon the observations indicated... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time in a hostel and I have to say it was good. I felt as if I had access to everything.. beach, park, restaurants, excursions, shopping and even my return ticket to San Jose. They literally can arrange it all. The facilities included some very nice amenities pool, movies, kitchen, air conditioning. The staff was warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diego E, Manager at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

Dear LNJordan, Thank you very much for your kind review! The fact that you enjoyed yourselves immensely gives credit to our staff which makes this all possible. Thank you for choosing us and please come back soon! More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great location, literally right next to the national park and a really scenic 3 minute stroll from the main strip helps reduce noise at night. Friendly, kind and helpful staff. Great grounds, big kitchen and nice pool. This hostel plays a movie on the big screen ( which is the neighbouring house ) which you can watch from the pool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diego E, Gerente at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

Mr Russell, I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our property and that all of your interactions with our staff were pleasant and memorable, our guests should always feel that they are our main concern. We are now taking actions to buy new pillows and fix the mold problem. Looking forward to seeing you again! More 

Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Paid but went to find another place and paid there, as well. They actually do not really seems to care about this hostel, as they build a new one up the hill and neglect this older one. Sheets were either dirty or with stains, very old. The "rooms" are actually narrow, long and dark corridor-like spaces. Just don't.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diego E, Gerente at National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio, responded to this review

Dear Amir, We use all comments both positive and negative as constructive criticism, but your title for this review is extremely disturbing to us as we strive to be clean always. All the best!! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio

Address: Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park | 300 Mts del Restaurante Marlen hacia el Parque Nacional de Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 11111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Park Backpackers Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay